We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Hard to Find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #462 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but Hard to Find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

You know your in trouble when you ask a London taxi driver to take you from Paddington station to the hotel and he has never heard of it (5 minutes away). The hotel is in a road with a number of similar hotels all with fancy names and dubious star ratings. When we found the hotel the receptionist informed me that as I was staying for 3 nights I had been upgrade from a single to a double. I went down to my room in the basement which looked clean and tidy if a bit small, after 30 seconds I started to wonder what the humming noise was I opened the curtains to find a triple glazed window with all the hotels extractor fans just two feet away. As it would have been impossible to sleep in the room I went upstairs and asked to be down graded. In all fairness to the staff they upgraded me to a club room which was nice but very small with an even smaller shower room. The rest of my stay went smoothly and the staff were always very friendly and liked to help. Considering the price of the room at £144 a night I did not think it very good value.

Room Tip: Don't have a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel. Guest feedback is valuable to us as it help us to improve our services.

Your feedback has been forwarded to concern team to work on flaws. I'm also sorry that you didn't like basement room - which was changed & upgraded complimentary later. Moreover, on the street where we are based, its actually a row of Victorian Style hotels one-after-one so at times it can be missed especially in the dark.

But I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay here. Kindly contact me prior to your next booking with us and once again allow us to look after you.

Best Regards,
Gurpreet Singh
gurpreet@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel has very good and not so good attributes. The location is just around the corner from Paddington Station which offers great train connections to other sites. The staff were friendly and helpful and the Manager was quick to respond to our comments about an unfortunate experience with a taxi driver that was booked through their front desk. The room we were first offered upon check in was in the basement level of the building and had a very unpleasant musty odor. When we declined the room we were relocated to the second floor. This room was fine...nicely furnished and finished in a "boutique" style. Be aware that the room was very tiny.....we were unable to open the bathroom door without hitting the foot of the bed. The buffet breakfast provided was very good. All in all....a reasonable value for the price.

Room Tip: Would make sure a future reservation request excluded accepting a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel and sharing your thoughts with us in regards to your recent stay. We value our guest's feedback of paramount importance as they help us to improve.

Your kind feedback has been shared within whole team and everyone was really please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having said that please accept my sorry for providing basement room initially - which was moved later.

All of our rooms are delicately designed and decorated including basement rooms but I can completely understand that some people don't like basement rooms. Kindly contact me prior to your next arrival to us and give us another chance to take care of you.

Best Regards,
Gurpreet Singh (gurpreet@shaftesburymetropolitan.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NordNorge
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is nearby Paddington station, which is practical for getting around easily. Edgware road tubestation is also nearby (opposite direction from paddington). Several places to eat in the area, villa rosa restaurant has very good italian pizza. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms beautiful and the staff very helpful! Computer to surf on in the reception area.

Room Tip: Above groundfloor and facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelExplorePassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me start with thank you for choosing to stay at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel. We value our guest's feedback of paramount importance as they help us to improve.

Your kind feedback has been shared within whole team and everyone was really please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. You also liked the area and surroundings and glad that we were able to meet your expectations with us.

Kindly contact me prior to your next arrival to us and allow us to take care of you.

Best Regards,
Gurpreet Singh (gurpreet@shaftesburymetropolitan.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Quite simply excellent value for money.
A genuine 4* hotel. Room, fixtures and fittings all qualifying.

Rooms are slightly smaller than you would get anywhere other than central London.
However... for a good size 4* hotel room in central London (an actual 4*), you can expect to pay 3-4 times as much.

Really glad I found this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOtherJamesBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2015
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, thank you ever so much for having shared this fabulous review!
I am pleased to know that you received the value for you money and were also presented with the warm hospitality by the amicable staff.
We will look forward to welcome you back to provide you the superior service and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, The breakfast was very good and buffet style made it quick and efficient.Te hotel is very conveniently located close to paddington station. On checkout time we offer to leave our bags behind so we could enjoy the rest of our day in london.We will stay here again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Shaftesbury Metropolis.

I am writing to personally thank you for your stay with us & I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments to all staff.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at the Shaftesbury Metropolis for 3 nights chosen for it's location near to Hyde Park as we were going to the Radio 2 Festival in a Day on the Sunday evening. Arrived Friday afternoon - received courteously and everything was in order. We had booked a Deluxe Twin and our room was on the 3rd floor, with a view overlooking Sussex Gardens. While this is a main road it is not excessively busy and so the noise wasn't intolerable. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are not exactly oversized - getting clothes in and out of the wardrobe is a bit of an art - but then again, many hotels of this type (and not just in London) have the same issues. At least the room was clean and tidy and well appointed - ours was called a "Club Room" so it had that old world club kind of feel. We stayed B&B and while the breakfast is adequate, it's nothing to write home about. I only had the cooked breakfast on the 1st day and stuck to cereal and toast for the others. The bacon and the sausage was OK - scrambled eggs looked like they'd been there for days and there were no fried eggs at all, no kippers, porridge etc. The bread for the toast wasn't great either - very cheap mass produced rubbish with loads of preservative you could taste. As we had planned to be out and about most of each of the days, the hotel was fine for our needs so I'm happy to give it a thumbs up from us. The only service issue we had was on the 3rd day we hadn't been given any milk in our room, so we asked for some when we came back in from our evening meal. The man on reception apologised and said he'd get some sent up. Half an hour later nothing had appeared so I went back down. The same man apologised that his colleague had not done this - he went straight to the kitchen and brought me a handful of milk cartons. I was fine with this - at least he apologised and was helpful. All in all the hotel was what we needed for this particular stay and I would consider staying again if similar needs arose again and the price was right!

Room Tip: From what other travellers have said, I would ensure you request a room that has natural light/windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavetheDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Shaftesbury Metropolis.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By giving us your feedback especially about Breakfast & Room service Order; it gives us an opportunity to improve. I request you to give us another opening to serve you.
Please write to me with full information of your future booking so that I can necessary actions to overcome the unease you have pointed out on - dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. Look forward to have you back.
Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Delightful hotel, great location, pleasant walk with easy access to Paddington Station. A great variety of restaurants to choose from. Staff was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the bldg. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff; I will forward your comments to them.
For any assistance you may required please do not hesitate to write to me on dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Kind regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#297 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
#374 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing