We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #556 of 1,073 hotels in London
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“Excellent hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

On the 6th of February i had the opportunity to stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis Hyde Park Hotel, that is a hotel situated in Sussex Gardens, a 5-10 minutes walk from Oxford street. We had booked 3 double deluxe rooms which i would of course highly recommend to anyone who is planning to visit London (without breakfast included in).we stayed there for 4 nights and i have to admit that our stay was more than satisfying. i could never imagine that hotels in central London would be so clean (i'm one of those who is addicted to clean places) and hospitable. our rooms had everyday clean tea sets, including nescafe and tea, a fridge and a microwave which gives you the opportunity to prepare your breakfast in your room, whenever you want. Congrats to you for all of the best services you offer to your customers!!i look forward booking again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to know , you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed by the cleanliness & facilities we provide. It was our pleasure to be your host as we strongly believe in hospitality.

Thank you for your compliments . We all look forward to welcoming you again.

Please do write to me prior to your future stay as I will ensure you are looked after and experience a satisfactory service.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    242
    118
    75
    110
See reviews for
55
281
102
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

To whom it may concern.

I should say that Shaftesbury Metropolitan hotel is located in a marvelous place and it was very easy for me to locate it after my arrival to Paddington. Moreover it is closely located to the city centre and it was simple to reach the venues of my business meetings. The rooms are clean and warm and indeed, here it is possible to feel how warm-hearted London is. I had a pleasant stay and enjoyed every second of being here.
The personnel is kind and diligent, and very patient, mindful and friendly, especially Aparna, Monica and Bil. No doubt their work made a profound impact on my desire to choose this hotel for the next time.

Withe kind regards,
Michael

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Thanks indeed for your lovely comments regarding the service you received while your stay with us. It was a great pleasure for us to serve you.

We have shared your excellent comments among our team & they all thank you for your compliments.

Please do write to me prior to your future visit as I will ensure you are looked after & have a pleasant stay with us.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is located 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2, two blocks off Edgeware Road. The location is wonderful as it is only a few minutes from both buses and Paddington Station. A taxi ride to or from Theatres in the West end is 10-15 pounds.
The rooms are big and are kept immaculate at all times. All of our room requirements have been met quickly and efficiently.
The staff is excellent. We are greeted each day at breakfast by the kitchen staff who are always pleasant and eager to accommodate. The room attendants do a terrific job cleaning each day.Our maintenance man is on top of anything that needs to be adjusted. The bell attendants are courteous and helpful for all of our requests. Finally, the desk managers are cordial and efficient. Each time we are in the lobby they make sure our every need is being met. Aparda and Monica have been especially helpful as they registered us a month ago and have since kept us under their wing!
The lobby is gleaming and very welcoming, and always has lovely fresh cut flowers.
Breakfast is provided with a choice of full English or a lighter Continental. Both are delicious.
Again, each and every staff member, too many to name, have been first class in their service to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest's . We all enjoyed serving you and feel happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay. Thank you for your excellent comments regarding breakfast which will be forwarded to our Chef & her team.

Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance in regards to your future booking . I will be more than pleased to assist you.

Looking forward to welcomimg you again.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Chose this hotel to stay in for one night as I had a gig to go to at Brixton Academy. Hotel is located about 4 minutes walk from Edgeware Road tube station. It's very close to the shops also and main high street. Was upgraded to a club room by the lovely woman on reception. The room had a single and a double bed. Decent bathroom and TV. I didn't spend much time in the hotel but what time I did spend was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location appropriate according to your requirement. .

Please do write to me in advance about your future stay as I will be more than pleased to allocate a nice room for you. We hope to make your future stay a pleasant one.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed twice in this hotel, the last time was during this month in february, and it was good as the first time, i stayed in the deluxe double room, it is not big but comfortable enough, with clean and modern bathrooms, the staff is helpful, and the best thing is the location which is right off edgware road,and almost 10 min walk from oxford street/marble arch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city.

We are pleased to know that you found the location of this property well suited to your plans. Your valuable feedback has been shared among our team . We all enjoyed serving you . Thanks indeed for your excellent feedback.

Please do write to me in advance about your future visit as I will be more than happy to allocate a spacious room for your comfort.

Looking forward to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very convenient location for central London. Rooms compact but clean. Friendly informative staff and the hotel serves an excellent English breakfast. One minor issue is that I couldn't get wireless unternet in my bedroom

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback which has been shared among our team and they feel good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that the location of this property was well suited to your plans and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are all the more happy to read that you found the staff very friendly . However , we apologise to you since you were not able to use wifi in your room. We do have free wifi in the entire property and it is quite possible that in this particular room there could be a connection problem. Kindly write to me the room number you stayed in so that I can get this error rectified.

Please do let me know in advance about your future visit so that I can allocate a very nice room for you . We will ensure that the wifi works perfectly fine in the room you stay . I will be very pleased to welcome you again as this will give me another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Metropolis hotel and would recommend this hotel. We had seen some negative reviews about the hotel but did not experience any difficulties. The hotel is excellent for people that usually stay in 3 star or basic 4 star accomodation and want something for a special occasion as the rooms are more luxurious than these and the quality of the bed linen and towels are better than basic hotels. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice available.
We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was excellent and you enjoyed the breakfast. Your feedback is of great importance to us . We shared this among our team and feel good that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Please do write to me prior to your future visit as I will ensure a nice room is allocated for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.