We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #545 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Brighton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Gig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Chose this hotel to stay in for one night as I had a gig to go to at Brixton Academy. Hotel is located about 4 minutes walk from Edgeware Road tube station. It's very close to the shops also and main high street. Was upgraded to a club room by the lovely woman on reception. The room had a single and a double bed. Decent bathroom and TV. I didn't spend much time in the hotel but what time I did spend was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location appropriate according to your requirement. .

Please do write to me in advance about your future stay as I will be more than pleased to allocate a nice room for you. We hope to make your future stay a pleasant one.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    252
    126
    76
    110
See reviews for
60
285
108
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed twice in this hotel, the last time was during this month in february, and it was good as the first time, i stayed in the deluxe double room, it is not big but comfortable enough, with clean and modern bathrooms, the staff is helpful, and the best thing is the location which is right off edgware road,and almost 10 min walk from oxford street/marble arch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city.

We are pleased to know that you found the location of this property well suited to your plans. Your valuable feedback has been shared among our team . We all enjoyed serving you . Thanks indeed for your excellent feedback.

Please do write to me in advance about your future visit as I will be more than happy to allocate a spacious room for your comfort.

Looking forward to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very convenient location for central London. Rooms compact but clean. Friendly informative staff and the hotel serves an excellent English breakfast. One minor issue is that I couldn't get wireless unternet in my bedroom

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback which has been shared among our team and they feel good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that the location of this property was well suited to your plans and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are all the more happy to read that you found the staff very friendly . However , we apologise to you since you were not able to use wifi in your room. We do have free wifi in the entire property and it is quite possible that in this particular room there could be a connection problem. Kindly write to me the room number you stayed in so that I can get this error rectified.

Please do let me know in advance about your future visit so that I can allocate a very nice room for you . We will ensure that the wifi works perfectly fine in the room you stay . I will be very pleased to welcome you again as this will give me another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Metropolis hotel and would recommend this hotel. We had seen some negative reviews about the hotel but did not experience any difficulties. The hotel is excellent for people that usually stay in 3 star or basic 4 star accomodation and want something for a special occasion as the rooms are more luxurious than these and the quality of the bed linen and towels are better than basic hotels. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice available.
We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was excellent and you enjoyed the breakfast. Your feedback is of great importance to us . We shared this among our team and feel good that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Please do write to me prior to your future visit as I will ensure a nice room is allocated for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Marcos da Serra, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Couldn't fault from check in to check out. Spotlessly clean, friendly,helpful staff,room very well equipped despite being quite small,breakfast tasty,well presented and lots of choice. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.
Gurpreet Singh, front office manager, was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Upon arriving to check in at 2:50p.m. we were informed that owing to maintenance issues with our room, we were being transferred to a sister hotel and a taxi would be called. When we queried why we had not been notified beforehand since we could have checked in any time from 2pm, we were told that Reservations had tried to call us. My husband had no missed call or message on his mobile. 5 minutes later and whilst we were still standing at the hotel reception, Reservations called! In our opinion it is unacceptable to inform a guest that they are being transferred 50 minutes after check in time!
When we queried whether or not there were any other rooms available in the hotel, the Receptionist had to call Reservations to find out and told them that we were 'refusing' to leave. Another room was then found for us.
The room itself was cold and you could not fully open the bathroom door before it hit the bed! There seemed to be a problem with the bed in that it sloped into the middle so that it was impossible to stay on your own side!
We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of food available for breakfast but unfortunately it was quite cold.
The gym was out of order.
We can cope with small rooms for a 1 night stay but first impressions count. We would not stay at this hotel again owing to the problem that we encountered when we tried to check in and the fact that no-one had the courtesy to contact us beforehand. There was no regard as to whether or not we had booked this hotel for its location which we had. It just seemed to be assumed that we would transfer elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on your arrival at our property. We are sorry to hear that you were not informed about the transfer situation prior to your check in. We did have few maintenance issues due to which we unfortunately had to take some rooms out of service.

We are all the more sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay with us as your room was cold & the bed was not comfortable enough. We can very well imagine the discomfort caused to you . Your feedback is of great importance to us as on the basis of it we will try our best to enhance our standard of service.

We certainly wish to make it up for the errors on our part and request you to kindly give us another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group. Please write to me prior to your future visit as I will ensure all goes smooth from the time you arrive to Check in.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have had many stays in London in a wide variety of hotels but feel very lucky to have stumbled upon this one. After a long journey, it was great to arrive at the hotel to a warm and friendly reception. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful - helping me to organise my itinerary and even going so far as to draw me a map! Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was lovely and the bed was super comfortable. The hotel is a very short walk (only 5 mins dragging a heavy suitcase) from Paddington Station and we were able to use this hotel as an excellent base from where to full explore London. Breakfast was excellent and terrific value for money. For the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of having a warm, clean bed to come back to after a long day and a great breakfast to look forward to ... I will certainly be making further bookings at this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay with us. It was such a great pleasure for us to welcome you . Your excellent feedback has been shared among our team and they all thank you for the same.

We are glad to hear that you will be choosing to stay with us in future. Please do write to me prior to visiting us again as I will be more than happy to make arrangements for your comfortable stay.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.