We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smallest bathroom I've ever had in a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #530 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The smallest bathroom I've ever had in a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in the edgeware road area of London, I don't remember reading this in the details before booking, I really don't like the area, didn't feel safe, the street had foreigners(women) begging in the street at night, lots of Asian, Bangladesh type if establishments which did not feel welcoming. The hotel had staff that were not welcoming either, we were given our room 007 quite funny as we had just seen the new bond movie the previous night, room was very small, bed was small double, then we opened the bathroom door, no bath, mould all around the base creases in the shower cubicle, I'll fitting towel holders, total size was prob 6 * 4 ft no were to out toiletries, awful. On check out, staff were not at all appreciative of our business, not even a thank you, did you have a nice stay, nothing at all ! Overall hotel staff were cold and not welcoming, room very small, bathroom ridiculously minute, awful area. Won't stay again in this hotel or area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park team we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We extremely sorry to hear that the location of this property was not well suited to you as you found it to be unsafe. We agree that this area is quite populated with foreigners as we have people coming into london from different sheres of life. At the same time I would like to mention here that lot of guest's are quite regular just because of our prime location. We are so centrally located and it gets convenient for our guest's to travel to their destinations especially the main tourist attractions.

Please accept our sincere apologies as we were unable to meet upto your expectation in regards to the room you stayed in . Room 007 is a Club double room which is of a higher category, infact one of the best bigger room we have. Sorry to know this was not of your choice. Due to victorian architecture few of the rooms & bath tend to be compact.

Your comments have been noted and thank you for taking time to forward us your valuable feedback. We will ensure that the staff is brushed up for good customer care skills . Your comments have been shared among our team members , especially our housekeeper . She will take necessary steps in order to improve the claening standards.

We as a team request you to kindly give us another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group. Kindly write to me prior to staying with us again as I will personally ensure you are comfortable and experience a satisfactory service.

Hoping to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    271
    139
    79
    113
See reviews for
62
310
110
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

My partner (Damien Adamson, who made the initial booking) and I booked a night in the 4 star Shaftsbury Metropolitan in Hyde Park to stay the night of the 27th of October 2012. We had a function to change for and attend on that night and had a day out in London planned for the following day. We do not live near London, so this was a special occasion. Unfortunately it turned out to be a complete disaster. We were informed on our arrival that we do not have a room for the night, due to flooding or some other problem in the rooms that happened the previous night and that we will be re booked for a room in Hounslow, a 40 minute journey! We arrived at the hotel at 7:30pm, more than 5hours after our check in! Why were we not informed of this earlier?! The function we were attending was in Piccadilly, so we had the option to go to Hounslow and then go back to Piccadilly or change in the toilets, paying for a 4 star hotel in london to change in a hotel reception toilet! eventually this is what we had to do after trying to get some other option to no avail. We ended up being late for this function in the end. When we returned the next morning to get our bags and be taken to Hounslow we were met by a lovely manager at the hotel who tried his best to accommodate us and in the end managed to get us a room there. All be it a gentlemans room who checked out while we were talking at the front desk and all the room had was a change of sheets and towels, this was unfortunately only at 5 in the morning, which is not what we paid for. Gone was the lovely night we had planned. We were so stressed out and tired the next day that we abandoned our plans to go out to London and just went home.
This was the worst night we have ever had and the overall service from this hotel was horrendous, on return I have sent several emails to there customer service and had no replies, not even acknowledgement that they have received the complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park .

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on the day you arrived to check in at our property. We had some serious maintenance issues due to the flooding problem in many rooms & therefore keeping in mind our guest's comfort & safety we arranged an alternate accomodation at our sister property which is of a higher category.

We can very well imagine the discomfort caused to you and can understand that this must have been really time consuming . We are very sorry to know that all this delayed your programme.

Our endeavour is to meet & exceed our guest's expectation . Guest comfort is our priority. Having said that we would like to make it up for the errors on our part. Please give us another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group. It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back. Kindly write to me prior to visiting us again as I would ensure a nice & a comfortable room is allocated for your stay. We will make sure you stay with us at our property.

Looking forward to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a club room but when we arrived at the hotel I was informed we were booked in to a sister hotel a couple of blocks away. We went to this hotel. As we were early and our room was not ready we left our bags and came back later. The room was awful. It was tiny, not very clean and totally out of order for a 4 star hotel. They really have a cheek to think this is acceptable. I spoke to another guest who was there with her daughter and she complained about her room. Our supposed Club room was tiny so goodness knows what the basics are like!!!! The furniture is dated, tatty and unclean looking. There was and old grotty iron board leaning against the wall, heaven knows how they thought you could put it anywhere. I would never go back to this hotel. Nothing like the web site shows.

Room Tip: do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies as we were unable to accomodate you at our property which you chose to stay at. We are all the more sorry to hear that our sister property was not upto the standard what you expected it to be. Your comments have been taken into consideration and we will try our best not to repeat such errors which took place on the day you arrived to check in. We faced a serious problem in regards to few rooms which had to be taken out of service which was quite unfortunate .

The only way we can make it up for all the unpleasant experiences you had is by requesting you to give us another oppurtunity to make your future stay a pleasant one. We promise to provide you with an excellent service from the time you arrive to check in. Please feel free to write to me prior to your next visit as I would personally like to make arrangements for your comfortable stay.

Looking forward to serve you soon.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have travelled to 26 countires throughout the world and stayed in literally 100's of different hotels of various types and standards - I have never felt inclined to write a review before, but am so incensed about a recent experience with this hotel, that I believe it only fair to warn others against booking with them

I booked a room at this hotel for a birthday treat weekend for my elderly in laws aged 70 & 75 - it was selected based on its location close to the Royal Albert Hall where they had tickets for an evening performance. On arrival they were told the hotel had a leak (what a surprise when you read some of the other reviews) and that there was not a room available. They were told they would taken by taxi to another hotel - out at Heathrow Airport!! They felt they had no option but to accept this alternative and spent the weekend being ferried around by taxis, which in fairness the hotel paid for. However it totally spoilt what was meant to be a relaxing weekend in the capital. It would appear there were about 8 other couples they were aware of, who were in same situation.
It is clear now, looking at other reviews reporting non availability due to 'leaks' and other supposed problems, that this hotel is in the habit of regularly over booking their rooms and then ferrying them off to other hotels, without any consideration for the effect on peoples plans for their time in London.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from all our team at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to your in laws who chose to stay with us due to the location which suited their requirement. We would like to inform you that we have no intentions of transferring our guests however at times due to some unavoidable circumstances we are forced to do so. As mentioned by our staff we did have some problem with few rooms where the leakage took place and keeping in mind our guest's health & safety we had no other option than to arrange an alternate accomodation.

We truly understand your concern as this was really time consuming and dissapointing for your family. Our endeavour has always been to meet & exceed our guests expectation and we are very sorry that on this occasion we failed to do so . We as a team would definitely like to make it up for the errors on our part and therefore I request you to kindly write to me in advance prior to your's & your family's next stay as I will ensure you all are most comfortable . You might be hesitant to book with us again, however I assure you that you will see a difference in the service you receive and will have no complaints. You will be our guest at our hotel .

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your faith in the Shaftesbury Group.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A well kept hotel close to Hyde Park and a good base for tourists. Very well equipped rooms but rooms are small (The only vice I found here ) Service was good (A TV fault was fixed within 5 minutes.)

Public area comfortable and attractive.

Breakfast was first class with a very wide choice well presented. Evening meals are not available but there are many eating places in the area including a Pub opposite the hotel "the Monkey Tree",which serves good reasonably priced meals.
I did not use the fitness suite ,but it was there if required.

All round a pleasant place and not too exp[ensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing to stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park .

We are pleased to read nice comments about the hotel and the breakfast service. Your valuable comments will be shared among our team members.

Due to victorian architecture some of the rooms are compact, however if you write to me prior to visting us again I will ensure a spacious room is allocated for your comfortable stay.

It will be a great pleasure for us to serve you again .

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

All staff were extremely polite & friendly. They couldn't do enough. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The free upgrade to a Club Room with lots of aminities helped too!

You can walk to Paddington tube station. The last day our flight was at 9 pm (and we should check out at 12 pm) and they took are luggages in order to be able to go shopping and for our last sightseeing.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It was a great pleasure for our team to serve you . We are pleased to read such excellent comments which you have mentioned on this website. The team feels good to know that they were able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Kindly write to me prior to your future visit as I would like to personally ensure you are looked after and stay in one of our finest room with space & comfort.

Looking forward to Welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

rooms are clean, bed confortable, furniture nice BUT rooms are simply TOO SMALL!!! it is london...but here we go far beyond a decent point of hotellerie!!! by international standard it is not possible to classify it as a 4 star hotel... simply not enough square mts.
pick this hotel only if you just have to sleep and not spend even 20 min in the room ..it s simply claustrofobic..!!!!!!! no space at all to move!!!!
personnel at reception ..... with no training at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort you had while your stay with us. Due to Victorian architecture few rooms tend to be compact as compared to other rooms. We do have spacious rooms as well, however on busy days we are left with no option to upgrade our guests.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the cleanliness & furniture type. We appreciate your valuable comments.

We have some new staff who joined recently and are still under training. Hopefully , they will be trained soon . During busy hours they help us in order to learn quickly. Very sorry if you faced any difficulty while the trainee tried to assist you. They are doing their best to help each & every guest in the best possible way.

Please do write to me prior to your next visit as I will personally ensure all goes smooth from the time you arrive to check in. We look forward to making your stay a most pleasant one.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm @shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.