We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you're after.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Paddington London

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
easyHotel Paddington London
Save
You added easyHotel Paddington London to your Saves list
10 Norfolk Place, London W2 1QL, UK, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Depends what you're after.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

OK - first thing first, my 'real' score for this place is 2.5! I felt a 2 would be unfair, so I've had to bump it up to a somewhat generous 3. It's really a 50/50 call on this place and it depends of course on what your plans are and what you're looking for in your stay.

Yes the hotel is quite close to Paddington - just a few minutes walk.

Yes they will charge you to store luggage, but you probably know that already.

Sure you will pay extra for a TV remote control, more towels, more pillows etc, but it's not like you'll want to spend much (any?) time in your room, apart from sleeping/showering, so the extra costs are not that bad really - just don't do it hey!

Of course the room is small and basic, that's the point. That being said, it's not uncomfortably small - though we did have one of the larger rooms "with window" (overlooking a scuzzy courtyard)! I'm not sure what I would think of the smaller/window-less varieties on offer...

What this place has going for it is that it's simple/straightforward to check-in and check-out, the rooms are clean, tidy and secure. These may sound like odd things to be complementing them on, but the amount of reviews you read for 'budget' London hotels where people say the bathrooms were filthy and mouldy, the window/door locks were broken ("I had to sleep with a chair jammed against the door and one eye open.") etc, and you realise that yes they are very important!

So if you're just looking for a bare-bones, but clean and tidy, place to sleep, shower and that's about it, then this could be your place.

I notice that a lot of easyHotel critical reviews cite the wide range of "better places for the same money in the area" - but who knows what these places are...if anyone does, please let me know!

PS, the room's not THAT orange...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    143
    154
    49
    61
See reviews for
27
209
76
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I stayed in room 110 for one night and came away with over 100 bed bug bites. Bed bugs are highly mobile and a building can become infested extremely quickly. I informed the management of the hotel so the room could be cleaned and other rooms could be checked for infestation but I have yet to receive a response. Very dissapointing for what is meant to be a world class brand operating in a world class city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed in this hotel last year in summer and we paid £109 for the same room..... this time we only paid £59 ..
Some facilities were missing and there were some extra charges but we are happy and will be coming again in next summer.
As before excellent staff, great location and just 20 mins to heathrow airport.
We will highly recommend this hotel to everyone for short stay in London as we find this hotel safe and good location with always ready to help staff..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The best thing that I can say about this hotel would be the location.
The con's of this hotel would be the fact that they charge extra for commodities like £5 for a remote per night to watch television, which you could get for free in something like a 3 star hotel. If you were to pay for all the extra things that would come standard in a 3 star hotel it would cost around the same price as one anyway. The only thing you're paying for really is the location, which if your not that fussed on I really wouldn't recommend this hotel. The bathrooms can be a problem as the shower will cause flooding. The window in our room was pretty much broken, and wouldn't open properly. Also found some porn magazines under the mattress, so I would question whether they change the sheets at all. The wall between the corridor and the room is paper thin, so you can hear everything that goes on outside, especially the cleaner at 7 in the morning rumaging around in the cleaning cupboard, talking as loud as they like.
The pro's, like I said before, is the location but to be honest it wasn't even worth that, also the reception staff were friendly and quite helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I booked a double (with window) here months ago, and paid 55 pounds, mainly because of its proximity to the Heathrow Express.
We arrived at about 11.30 pm and were checked into a room in the 'sub-basement.' The subterranean room was too small to fit two people and two small bags, it smelt like a used portaloo (a noxious mixture of chemicals and stale extretea), the 'window', which measured about 1 foot by 2, opened not to the outside, but to the cupboard where the cleaning fluids and dirty laundry are stored (which no doubt added to the noxious and persistent odour of the room). And its lights remained on all night - shining onto our faces.
When I complained about the room/window/light/smell, the polite but ineffective receptionist said there was nothing he could do. As it was late, and we had pre-paid, we stayed. There weren't many alternatives. However, it was a terrible experience, and represents a massive and insulting rip-off. I have stayed in a couple of worse hotels, but they were in desperate situations in the third-world, and were a lot cheaper!
In all, all I can say is DON'T STAY HERE, even if you are tempted by the convenient location and cheap price! It is not value for money, you may catch something, and you certainly won't have a good night's sleep. There are plenty of small, independent hotels in the area that offer much better value and a more comfortable stay.
Indeed, this was such a bad experience, I will even avoid flying EasyJet , despite their attractive prices- I am now a very uneasy customer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Having booked the room long ahead, I got a decent rate; I think it is the best you can get there (GBP35). For a long time I had wanted to try one of these EasyHotels ... and I was very disappointed.

OK, I agree, I booked a "small room". But I wouldn't have expected that this implied a small bett on top. Effectively, the bed we got (even after changing rooms!) was clearly a single bed. Sorry, that's not what I booked.

Even worse, on the first morning, we were woken up at 9 by the receptionist knocking at our door, saying "I need to get in this room". Ten minutes later, the cleaning lady tried to enter the room, again. When we got to the reception half a hour later, we were told that we had to change rooms (again), because they had to do "maintenance works". We accepted, because she offered us a room with a "real" double bed.

Therefore we spent the second night in what was supposed to be top of the notch at EasyHotel. Still very small, no space for your luggage. The bathroom was very small (no problem with that) and I got the impression that the whole will get filthy quite soon.

The positive side? As others mentioned, the location, very close to Paddinton station. That's it I guess.

Thank you, EasyHotels. That was my first and last time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotels, Online Manager at easyHotel Paddington London, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
We thank you for pointing out the issue with the bed in this room, and as a result of the Tripadvisor feedback on this we have now replaced the bed in this particular room.

Regards
easyHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

If all you want to do in London is crash on a bed, take a quick shower and enjoy the city, this is the best place. I've stayed in B&Bs in London before and most of them are old looking and quite tacky but quite expensive. Easy Hotel is simple, no beating by the bush: a double bed and a bathroom, that's all you need! Everything was very clean though they didn't clean our room during our stay. The location is very good, 2minutes walk to tube station, 5 min to Hyde Park, reachable by night bus. The main asset of this hotel is its price, £50 per night for 2 people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Paddington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Paddington London

Address: 10 Norfolk Place, London W2 1QL, UK, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Easyhotel Paddington Hotel London
London Easyhotel Paddington Hotel
EasyHotel Paddington London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Paddington London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.