We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one little thing short of excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London Paddington

Save Saved
You added Novotel London Paddington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Kingdom Street, Sheldon Square, London W2 6BD, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #273 of 1,073 hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just one little thing short of excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Trying to choose a hotel to stay at in London is incredibly difficult! Having stayed in Paddington many years ago and experiencing the ease of Heathrow Express and the London Underground, decided that Paddington was once again going to be the best place for us. After exhaustive research and advice from the wonderful Trip Adviser community, we chose the Novotel Paddington. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the station, the check in was speedy and uncomplicated, the room clean and comfortable, the breakfast excellent (this was included in our price) the staff friendly and helpful. The *only* criticism would be the lack of free WiFi access unless you upgrade or pay. We spent 4 weeks in Europe and the Novotel was the only place we stayed that had no free access. I just think it's time Accor caught up with the rest of the world :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review.
I am now very pleased to confirm that since this week, we offer complimentary Wifi access as part of our basic offer.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    645
    138
    37
    19
See reviews for
497
350
95
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stay at this Novotel almost weekly. Physically, it is the same as every other Novotel. The staff make the difference. They are almost universally friendly with a sense of humour. They're also very accomodating. I've turned up there early in the morning with split trousers and been able to get a room. I've left things in the room and had it waiting for me next time I checked it.

On top of that, the views can be pretty killer. The western side of the building has expansive views all over west London, including Wembley Stadium. And, though it's in a sort of business park, there are quite a few decent restaurants around. The location behind Paddington is also highly convenient to the tube and to Heathrow.

Room Tip: Try to get high-floor rooms on the south/west side of the building for expansive views of west Londo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and would particularly like to thank you for mentioning the team who are the ones making the difference!
I look forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We travelled as a family with a baby. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly throughout. Hotel is pretty new, very cool design (i.e. not at all cozy). Even though it is located in a newly built office area there are several nice restaurants in 3 minutes walking distance. Paddington station is close enough. It is just a bit difficult to locate and reach the hotel if you come for the first time (even some taxi drivers had a problem).

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with a view to the neighbouring building. The rooms on the other side have a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.
It's good to read you had a pleasant stay with us and found the hotel and location very good.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundbyberg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Close to Paddington and Heathrow express makes this an ideal hotel to all tourists as well as when travelling in business.
Rooms are clean, well equiped and have rather large bathrooms. Whenever we have stayed here, we have been satisfied. If possible book a room when breakfast is included in the price. The breakfast is well worth the extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I was very pleased to read you were a fan of our breakfast offer.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we were pleasantly suprised by this hotel as had chosen it off the internet and from other reviews that I had read,all true. the location was near Paddington station, approx 10 mins walking distance and with the hotels directions quite easy to find. Check in was speedy and our cases were delivered to our room,. Overall very satisfied, dispite being on the 6th floor and overlooking the station very quiet and room was lovely the beds comfortable and decor well presented. All in all a good location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you had a positive experience and found the soundproofing of the rooms of a very good quality.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First a disclaimer I managed to book this hotel via Hotwire and got a bargain,
which might reflect my review.
But it was a clean and fresh room with two king-size beds, and well equipped.
You could plug in any mp3-player with the telly and then enjoy your own sweet music.
Quiet, my room was away from the Westway.

The staff was very friendly.
Did not use any of their facilities or restaurants.
Internet in your room if you pay. (Boo)
Location-vise it was a bit tricky to find, but if you follow the signs you should be ok.
If you arrive with train go out on the back of the station, I would say 5-7 minutes walk.
The surroundings is nothing special, mostly new offices, but a Sainsbury-store close and a handful of restaurants.

Room Tip: Room away from Westway quiter but no view. Also room 101 was connecting with room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel.

I am also pleased to inform you that since your stay with us we now offer complimentary Wifi for surfing and emails as part of our basic services.

I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon and would also invite you to book on the novotel website to benefit from the best rate guarantee.

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here travelling from Berlin to London on a five night trip (this hotel for two nights). We caught the train to paddington from the airport and with a small amount of difficulty. found the Novotel which is a 10 minute walk away. We had a train to Bath the next day, therefore the Novotel did fit the bill location wise. The rooms are basic, the breakfast is average, but the staff are very helpful. The room cost was good for London. There are a couple of supermarkets within the train station which are very handy for cheap eats and drinks. My wife wasn't a real fan, but I thought it was pretty good for what you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and its location with the small convenience stores around and also the close proximity of Paddington station.
I would also mention Little Venice which is a real hidden gem in London and which is worth exploring.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Address: 3 Kingdom Street, Sheldon Square, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#232 Romantic Hotel in London
#254 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.