We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel London Paddington to your Saves list
Novotel London Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Kingdom Street, Sheldon Square, London W2 6BD, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #284 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are not familiar with the Sheldon Square new development area, I would suggest taking a cab to the hotel. Novotel Paddington is not connected to Paddington Station but it's an easy 8 minutes walk from the Hammersmith and Cityline platforms, along the grand union canal (note: the route is not sheltered and it's a bad idea if it rains) and along the cafes, pubs, new office units and Sainsbury.

The lobby is bright with floor to ceiling windows and very modern and it is helmed by equally cheerful and friendly staff. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious by London standard and most rooms overlook the opposite office units. The rooms are simply furnished with a Scandinavian feel. The rooms come with a fridge, satellite telly, coffee and tea facilities, power shower and a nice comfortable king sized bed.

The hotel provides a number of PCs for a short surfing at the lobby but otherwise, guests will need to pay for internet or WIFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and also found the location really good.
We are hidden from the main traffic and at the same time, only a short walk to Paddington station and Little Venice.

I hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guilaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    710
    153
    39
    20
See reviews for
543
374
98
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A very pleasant surprise since I had not appreciated this redeveloped area behind Paddington station. More docklands flats with some decent amenities - Sainsburys, Starbucks, Pret, a couple of bars and restaurants.

Payed £110 via the mystery site on last minute for a double room mid week. Good sized room - no bath though. Internet expensive and difficult to use with an iPhone. There seemed to be an internet cafe in the entrance area.

8th floor room got a glimpse of the post office tower. About 10 minute walk to the central station concourse.

Little is anything to highlight as negative. A good solid modern hotel providing a good nights sleep

Room Tip: High room but some face onto office blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel and found it a convenient stopover option in London.
I hope you will visit us again soon and I would recommend that you visit the Novotel website to benefits from the best rates and promotions.

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A high standard business hotel within walking distance of Paddinton Station. High class rooms. Friendly and smiling personnel. Very nice rooms in scandinavian style. Clean and free internet. Location a bit off mainstream, but excellent gym and pool. Good for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyoed every aspect of your stay with us and I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff here were great. It's more of a business hotel but we traveled with a small child and everybody was kind and helpful (e.g. the bar was happy to fill up her cup with milk at bedtime). It's nice how they have computers in the lobby and we enjoyed the restaurant which had a play area and good food. We actually ended up eating every breakfast and dinner there. By the time we finished sight-seeing and made our way back to the hotel, we didn't feel like going out again to the nearby restaurants (not that many, but they looked nice). The store nearby was handy. Because most of the buildings around were office buildings, the area is kind of deserted in the evenings but not in a scary way. It IS near Paddington Station but there's still some walking involved and make sure you are clear on how to exit the station to get to the hotel! The pool was not that big and very full of people but still fun. The rooms are extremely quiet and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel.
I am glad to read you enjoyd your stay with us and that all the team demonstrated we are a family firendly hotel.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit London,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Internet access is fundamental to anyone traveling on business, or anyone traveling on holiday who wishes to conduct basic research on the upcoming events and travel tips.

Novotel make this incredibly difficult. I have several times this trip already had my "10 hour pass" freeze on me with no way to log out, and once my IE is restarted, I lose the ability to stop the 10-hour timer. For those not familiar, the pass allows 10 Internet-hours that can be turned on or off when needed during the stay, so a run-away IE process keeps the timer going and burns off the10 hours after IE locks up and I have to reboot.

The room itself is reasonably nice, as always with Novotel. The teapot works, they have a gym, and the bed has blankets- that's pretty much my interest in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am glad to read that overall, we ticked all the boxes.

I am sorry though to hear that you experience some issues with the Internet connection.
I have shared your feedback with our internet provider to ensure this does not happen again.

If you do encounter issues with the wireless connection, we have other Internet options available and would also be happy to talk to the heldesk overcome this IE problem.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We needed a hotel near Paddington and the Heathrow Express and better than the usual tatty London hotels. The Novotel meet our requirements with modern facilities, friendly and efficient staff and close to the station. It took a little thinking about exactly where it was and the re-building of the station did not help. Go up the ramp near platform 10 toward the taxi rank and then you take a left toward the canal. There is a sign here so it gets easier. Left along the canal for a short distance and the left again. Not difficult and worth the effort. Will use again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
I am glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and found the easy way to come to the hotel through the back entarnce of Paddington Station (alongside platform 10 or 8).

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I needed a hotel for a Saturday night in London and the Novotel was a terrific choice. The hotel itself is modern with all the amenities that are sometimes lacking in other London hotels.
The staff were efficient and friendly. Paddington is 5 minutes away with tube lines to everywhere and, of course, the excellent Heathrow Express.
The unexpected bonus was the location. The hotel is right beside Little Venice - one of the most unexpected and beautiful parts of London. From the Novotel you can walk or bike along the canals, ride a barge to Regent's Park or Camden Lock, or dine in one of the many canal side restaurants (some on barges).

Room Tip: Try for an executive room - at the weekend mine was a cheaper rate than the regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am really glad you mention Little Venice which is a real hidden gem in London.
This is definiftely one of my favourite areas in the Capital and I am pleased to read you enjoyed a stroll alongside the canal.

I hope you will stay with us again when you next return to London,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Address: 3 Kingdom Street, Sheldon Square, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Family Hotel in London
#228 Romantic Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.