We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Harrington to your Saves list
The Harrington
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 644 Specialty Lodging in London
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and comfortable apartment. Friendly staff. The apartment (205) was good. One of the leather sofa was quite worn out but did not spend much time in the apartment anyways ! Great cafes in the area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
41
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed seven nights at this hotel. Our accommodation was a Deluxe Studio at around 240$ per day including room tax. The bedroom had a nice size and the mattress was OK with adequate storage room, sofa and an ample bed. The furniture looked a bit worn but the room was kept very clean.The kitchen was well stocked, in fact we ended up using its sink as an alternative from the bathroom one. The weak point was the bathroom itself , designed for handicapped use, even though the elevator was not big enough for a wheelchair . The sink was tiny and the shower was awkward.
The staff was friendly and the proximity to the Gloucester Station a definite plus. The wifi was strong and free.
While the hotel did not offer breakfast there is an abundance of nice cafes in the area. South Kensington and Chelsea are elegant and safe neighborhoods to stay in this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Make sure that the bathroom in your room is as you would expect. Not so sure it is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Harrington Gardens provides a great base for Central London, being a couple of minutes walk away from Gloucester Road tube station.Our one bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and had basic crockery and cutlery necessary for a short stay. There are a variety of restaurants and cafes around the area and Kensington High Street is a short walk or tube stop away for shopping. There is a Tescoes and a Waitrose about a few minutes walk away for groceries.
Our room was cleaned daily and fresh linen provided. It was also very easy to find taxis opposite the hotel.
The hotel was under renovation and the reception area was still not quite finished, however this did not detract from our comfort in any way. The staff were prompt to sort hitches out qhen necessary.
We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

For a family a 3 (including a 4 year-old), a 2 bedroom apartment had everything we needed at a convenient location. We stayed for 11 nights in September 2014 and this really was a home away from home.

We were on the 5th floor (Room 505) and had a lovely view out over the beautiful old buildings and roof tops of South Kensington. The apartment was clean and reasonably comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen, full-size fridge, and freezer. We heard the occasional siren or drunk person yelling out, but for London we found our apartment to be fairly quiet.

The best part about this apartment is its location. Two minutes’ walk to Gloucester Road tube station which is on the Circle and District lines. It’s also on the Piccadilly line although this service isn’t operating at this station at the moment (until mid-December 2014). There are also buses through the area including the 49 which goes to the huge Westfield Shopping Centre at Shepherd’s Bush.

Heaps of food choices nearby – whether you are looking for restaurants, cafes, fast food or a supermarket. A small Tesco and medium-sized Waitrose are near the tube station. Nandos, KFC, Nero coffee, and Pret a Manger are some of the bigger fast food chains nearby. We ate at The Green Door steakhouse across the road and the Wildwood restaurant which is in the Harrington building. Both had quite good service, quite good food, a children’s menu, and colouring-in to keep children entertained. Very convenient after a busy day of sightseeing.

South Kensington tube station is about a 10 minute walk away. It has even more cafes and restaurants. It’s quite a pleasant walk along Harrington Road. If you are there, make sure you check out Ben’s Cookies (we loved them).

Of course the Natural History Museum, Science Museum, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and the Royal Albert Hall are all about a 15 minute walk. We even walked ‘home’ from Harrods – which didn’t seem to take long (less than 30 minutes) and had lots of interesting things to look at along the way.

Apart from a chemist, a hardware/all purpose store, and a newsagent/souvenir shop, there doesn’t appear to be much shopping in the immediate Gloucester Road area. However, just one stop on the tube to High Street Kensington and you’ll find heaps of shops (and another Ben’s Cookies!). About 10 minutes’ walk from the High Street Kensington station, you’ll also find the beautiful Holland Park, with a play area for under 5s, a huge adventure playground for 4-14 year olds, and a Japanese Garden. A lovely place to visit.

What others have said about the Harrington’s lift being tiny, the bathrooms being small, and some of the furniture being a little worn, is true. However, in the 11 days that we were there, we only once decided not to wait for the lift (and that was at the general checkout time.) What the shower missed in spaciousness, was made up for in water pressure and hot water- which I enjoyed. You have to keep in mind that you are staying in an historic building that has been remodelled to an apartment block and may not be as perfectly planned as something built new. To me, this is part of the London experience (including bathrooms and kitchens without windows).

Wifi is included in the room rate, although it sometimes took a few attempts to get on.

On the day we arrived, we were allowed into our room immediately even though it was well before the allocated check-in time. The staff insisted on helping us to get our luggage up to the room. On our day of departure, we were allowed to have a late check-out (an extra hour to the usual time), and our luggage was stored until our airport transfer picked us up later in the afternoon.

The staff at reception were also happy to print out tickets we had bought online to events and attractions, as well as our airline boarding passes. This was a huge help, because many places in London offer huge discounts if you buy your tickets online and print them out.

There is a communal washing machine and a clothes dryer in the basement. You will need coins to operate. We didn’t have to wait long to use these.

All in all – a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The Harrington Hotel is perfect for a medium stay in London. It is more affordable than a hotel however offers the same levels of comfort and cleanliness, not to mention a much larger room than your typical central London hotel. Conveniently located just a 30 second walk from Gloucester Road tube station, it truly is in a practical location. Downside is that typical hotel amenities are not available (gym, butler service, etc...). However with daily house cleaning and a daily change of towels and linen it does make for a practical stay!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

despite booking 10 months ago we arrived to be shown a basement room - i am not opposed to one as such - just the one we were given
a restaurant was above this room with the noise of chairs scraping back and forth all night and well past 1am, a skylight the full lenght of the celing that let in so much street light it was like day time in the room - and to top it off a small courtyard with an aircon return that blared all night
at 11pm after no sleep i spent an hour in the lobby with the staff member trying to reach the general manager to no avail - so nothing for it but to tough it out
when asked to see the manager the next day - i was escorted by a staff member down to the basement staff locker room for fear of a scene - which i didnt create
the manager all but admitted they had had trouble with the room but it seems making money is more important than customer satisfaction - i was able to secure a 50% refund but i am pursuing as this isnt good enough when they knew it was sub standard - you hire a room for quiet and darkness so you can sleep - we got neither and had to endure a 20 hour flight home the next day

Room Tip: dont go - but if you have to just dont accept a basement room - dont even check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

It's about a 2 minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station, so great location. The room is very large compared to anything else you can get in this price range in this area. You get a large bedroom, with a 3-seater coach, cupboard, dresser and table, as well as a double bed (the mattress needs changing). The room is so large that the TV appears small from the bed.

The kitchen is a separate room, with ample facilities.

The bathroom has a full size bath and plenty of towels and toiletries were supplied. The toilet could have been cleaned better as remains were evident.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back as it's less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 644 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just 2 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including Studio Apartments, One Bedroom Apartments and Two Bedroom Apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
The Harrington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.