We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harrington

Save Saved
You added The Harrington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Harrington
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 622 Specialty lodging in London
France
1 review
“Good accommodation in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great place to stay. Staff are helpful and friendly. The apartments are clean and comfortable with good beds and decent showers. Kitchens are well equipped and and modern. The living room furnishings could do with updating as some are a little shabby and the paintwork and curtains need refreshing but, all in all, I would highly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
38
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed several days while on vacation in London this summer. Our suite was very nice; excellent kitchen and bath. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed, desk, and multi-purpose table and two straight chairs. (A more comfortable chair would have been a nice addition.) The hotel staff were very nice, attentive, and helpful. We had no problems with the WiFi; speed and reliability were very good. The location is very convenient to the Gloucester Road station and several good restaurants.

Our only disappointment was the elevator. As others have noted, it is VERY small. During our stay, however, it was unavailable due to maintenance. We were surprised to learn about the outage when we checked in. Management knew the work was planned for these days - according to the staff. I believe they should have notified us of this planned maintenance before we arrived and adjusted the price to reflect the inconvenience of climbing over 100 steps every time we returned to the building. This lapse resulted in our slightly lower rating for this stay.

Otherwise, it was a nice hotel in a great neighborhood and well will stay there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An exceptional hotel without being over-the-top. The apartment was spacious, very comfortable, clean and modern, with a well-equiped kitchen and large bathroom. The staff was very friendly and professional, who went out of their way to please. The location, a block from Gloucester Road tube station is in a central location near restaurants, pubs, museums (V & A and Natural History) and Hyde Park. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Very clean modern room. The best thing though are the 2 great restaurants close by. Cafe Forum for breakfast each day was excellent and cheap! And the Hereford Arms Pub is our favorite pub in London now. This little section of London is a great residential area. Tube very close and taxis easily available.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All around fantastic hotel in a great location, close to restaurants, shops, and the metro. Rooms are clean and modern. Most importantly, staff is friendly and more than willing to help in any way possible. A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a great choice if you want a good but not over-the-top hotel in a fairly central location. Only a block from the Gloucester Road tube station, it's easy to get anywhere in London from here. The suite had everything we needed (except for a washcloth, which flummoxed the staff when we requested one -- but I think maybe Europeans just don't use them?) The staff were helpful, though not overly friendly. Each suite includes a kitchenette, which makes it possible to do meals in your room -- we only did breakfast, but even just that is convenient and a money-saver. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was quite comfortable. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looks nice, and is located in a great area. That being said, we got stuck in a basement room. No real window, no daylight. A cave would have been better and more likely would have had better internet. I have a mobility limitation- basement only accessible by narrow stairs but no other rooms available. The bed was a platform bed, very low with a board running all around the outside. Very difficult for me to get in and out of. Staff was surly, at best. When we checked in the lady was pleasant enough, but after that we got nothing more than a grunt. I would guess that the rooms ABOVE the basement were better....but we will never know.

Room Tip: don't accept the basement rooms.....there is no daylight and they are difficult to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Harrington, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valeri,

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room during your stay with us. We do move guests wherever possible if they are unhappy with their rooms, however as you were informed you were fully booked during your stay. The internet is usually very fast so again i am sorry you experienced issues and hope you made staff aware of them.

Please get in contact directly with myself next time you plan to visit London and I will do my utmost to offer you preferential rates for one of our rooms on a higher level!

Kind regards,

Fred Verity

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 622 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just 2 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including Studio Apartments, One Bedroom Apartments and Two Bedroom Apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
The Harrington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.