We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New managment I am waiting to see the improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Harrington to your Saves list
The Harrington
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments) (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New managment I am waiting to see the improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

These apartments need to renewed. Carpets on the stairs need to change , I used to love to stay in this apartments, this is my third time to stay there. But this time I was shocked, apartments need maintainens , l like th layout of the apartments but they need renewing , I hope the new management change the apartments to the better way than they are. I will stay there again and again but willing to see the differences and the improvement of the apartments.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello,

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay and I am sorry to hear that The Harrington did not come up to your expectations in all respects.

We really do appreciate your loyalty and you can be assured that we are actively working to make essential improvements to all apartments that need them. Unfortunately, in some respects, the improvements have been delayed by the speed at which suppliers can meet our orders.

Improvements being made now are ahead of a more substantial refurbishment, which will change the apartments to a much higher standard, consistent with our other properties.

Thanks you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
57
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hi, Love this apartment .. but did not know that it had changed management. Had a confirmed booking with previous management .. and now trying to email or call The Harrington. Does any one have a email address that I can write to ... appreciate the feedback .. TKS.. Yin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello,
Many thanks indeed for your message and I am sorry that I had not seen it earlier. You can e-mail us on reservation@theharrington.com and we very much look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

These apartments were very conveniently located which makes a big difference. The staff were unfailingly friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well appointed so we could eat-in if we chose. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBrooks, Director of Sales at The Harrington, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review The Harrington and we are delighted to know that, so early in its new ownership, you enjoyed your stay so much. It's always rewarding for the whole team to know that we achieved our objective. We really look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location for these apartments with great access to local transport. The apartment was very clean and this was maintained throughout our stay.
The basement flat allocated to us looked out on to a brick wall. It was dark and required lights to be on at all times of the day. We reported several faults including light bulbs which were out; the shower handle which wouldn't turn off; the wash basin drain which was stuck and the release lever was broken; a nail was sticking out from the headboard when we arrived. We expected a welcome pack as indicated on the website but all we had was a single sachet of sugar and a few milk pots.

Room Tip: If you like a view from your window other than a brick wall, ask for any room other than the basemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBrooks, Director of Sales at The Harrington, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to review Avni Apartments and I am very sorry to hear of your experience with issues that could have so easily been resolved.

Avni Apartments has been under new ownership since 14th July. It is now owned by a dynamic and well established company - Fin-Ex - with several other properties of a high standard and a strong commitment to achieving the same here. It is re-named as The Harrington.

A high priority for the new owner has been to get our property maintenance team in to address the minor issues, such as those mentioned, which have caused disappointment to some guests in the past. We regret disappointments in the past, prior to the current ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just 2 minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including Studio Apartments, One Bedroom Apartments and Two Bedroom Apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
The Harrington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.