We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 146 Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 146 Suites to your Saves list
146 Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   146 Gloucester Place, London NW1 6DT, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Arriving at the hotel it is hard to be sure you are at the right place - there was no obvious sign! But once you are inside your room you will probably be delighted. Mine was lovely and clean, well equipped, has good fast FREE wifi and is spacious. There were even two towels folded to look like swans on my bed. All in all I was very surprised to get such a nice room at a great price, very rare for London.
On the downside, as the hotel does not have 24 staff in the building when a rowdy person returned at 5AM there was not someone in the building to notice. That said they are available in the other hotel building just down the road and only a phonecall away from the phone in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
I can recommend this hotel and will stay again. They are many local restaurants and its very convenient if you are commuting in and out of Marylebone station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
17
24
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

not the most glamorous hotel in the world by any means, but for a place to lay your head at night with good facilities and location then i have no faults! A 5 minute walk at the most to Barker Street tube station with a longer stroll to regents park, you really are in the heart of the city.

The room is a good size for 2 and nice and modern. The hidden kitchen is a nice touch if you fancy food in and the bathroom was clean with a good power shower.

For someone who's online and constantly checking in and networking then free wifi was an added bonus.

The staff member was polite, professional and helpful which added to our present stay.

For those who want to spend time sight seeing then you won't find any faults in this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed as a family in the ground floor apartment, which was adequate for 3 of us. I has AC which is important when the weather is cold (as it was for us) and we did use it frequently. The bathroom/shower was comfortable with plenty of hot water. It was also clean. There was a smell of stale water though, which needed to be sorted.
The kitchen was well equipped but as a previous reviewer noted, a kitchen towel would have been very useful. As it was, the bathroom hand towel was a rather unsatsifactory substitute.
Leonardo in reception was very helpful and our requirements were met and queries answered efficiently. We were aware of the reception closing at 1800 and made sure we were in well before this.
The location is fantastic, a short walk to Regents Park and London Zoo one way, Oxford Street the other. Baker Street underground, Madame Tussauds and a fantastic Everymans cinema round the area off nicely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice clean room at an excellent price. Good location in Westminster with a nice and helpful staff. Will stay here again anytime that I have business in London. Suites are clean and although small, most come with a kitchen which can save money on dining out. Markets are just around the corner. Rooms have A/C with is nice to have because London can get pretty hot and humid. Good place to stay within walking distance of several London landmarks.

Room Tip: Stay on first floor to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Neither Booking.com nor 146 Suites made mention that the reception closes at 6pm. I wrote the establishment early in the day to say that I would be checking in later. No one wrote me back to say that reception closes. I spent £12 cab ride only to find out that the place was CLOSED. The manager had not left me a note, an email, a key = nothing! I then had to set out on foot to try and find another place to stay. Booking.com check out the properties you rent and 146 Suites is a place best to avoid!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I rang the hotel.
I said 1 member of the party is in a wheel chair they assured me it was disabled freindly. the entrance has a step. we were offered a room that was on the first floor. we refused and then because we had arrived earlier than the other guests, offered a ground floor room (there are only 2) but this was down 2 steps & the wheelchair was wider than the narrow room doors & would not fit throoh the door unlessit was dismantled.
Inside thecroom was another step up tobthexsleeping area. When i complained they denied that i had rung them
Caution if you have disabilities this hotel iscnot disabikity freindly; be advised unlesscyounare with someone who can lift and carry yuonfind somewherecelsecto stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 146 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 146 Suites

Address: 146 Gloucester Place, London NW1 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 146 Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your 146 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
146 Hotel London
146 Suites London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 146 Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.