We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Byron's burgers: Big and beefy for hungry horses?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Kensington

Byron Kensington
222 Kensington High Street, London W8 7RG, England (Formerly Byron)
+44 20 7361 1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,660 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We make proper hamburgers. Good Scottish beef, ground fresh, cooked medium, served in a squishy bun with fries and a craft beer.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Byron's burgers: Big and beefy for hungry horses?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ho Ho Ho I know I should not mention horses in the same sentence as Byron Burgers because these are 100% BEEF, not 100% "beef". As hungry as a horse, is how I happened upon Byron's branch at Cabot Square in Canary wharf and I was very glad I did! The size of the burger was more like that of a brontosaurus, but I somehow managed it (and half of my girlfriend's - she could not manage all of it) It was really tasty, Just like burgers in the States, and they know how they should be fixed. The trimmings were good and the fries were the best anywhere in this soggy little island of ours. We also had the most delicious olives as a starter too...bright green and firm and juicy....very moreish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    284
    85
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worlddivingtraveller
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Wardour street branch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Long queues proved how popular it is, be we were soon found a table. Excellent quality and price of good well made food. A wide and differant variety of drinks, all very reasonably priced too. Out Our serving staff were fun, attentive and very nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visited Byron in The Cut Waterloo. Place was buzzing even early on a week night early at 6pm. They probably do well with the pre theatre crowd. Staff all seemed good tempered and were friendly. Food however really is nothing to get excited about. Tough overlooked burger, dry, despite asking for medium, salad was dull with no dressing that could be tasted. However the place was full in comparison to other restaurants nearby so maybe burgers are just not something for me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited the branch of Byron in Covent Garden while out for a few drinks with a mate and had a great time. Although it was a Friday night and very busy we only had to wait a few minutes for a table. Service was great: friendly, polite, helpful and efficient. Prices were typical for that part of London: £20 per head for a burger, sides, nachos for starters and a beer.

But the most memorable thing for me was the high quality of the food. We both had our burgers cooked medium as recommended, and they were absolutely delicious. Juicy, tasty, rich and filling. Just what was needed to soak up a few beers. The nachos to start with were great with an amazing salsa for dipping. Sides included fries, onion rings and even macaroni cheese, which may seem a little odd for a burger joint, but I can thoroughly recommend it. I'm afraid we were too full to sample the desserts, although have no doubt they would be delicious.

So overall a great restaurant with a friendly, welcoming relaxed atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend Byron, and I will definitely be returning.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The sign outside said a proper Burger, Well what was put in front of me was average at best. the Byron Burger was tasteless and bland. The Fries were cheap french fries that were completely tatsteless, the staff were OK but werent over impressive. Price of the Meal was what you expected to Pay on Kensington High Street, but wasnt worth the money

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Byron Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.