We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #380 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have just stayed here overnight on a theatre and sightseeing stay.
We received a warm welcome and our cases were carried to our room (up to the third floor in the heat wave, much appreciated!)
The room was spotless and comfortable with lots of toiletries and clean towels.
The cooked breakfast was delicious and plentiful and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location is fantastic, easy access to the tube and walking distance to lots of touristy hotspots!
I honestly can't find fault with this hotel, I will definitely be visiting it again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you had time to have breakfast as a lot off people like Ian's cooking . thank you for your review
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    70
    38
    17
    14
See reviews for
36
81
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Perhaps popping in at 16.00 on a Friday afternoon is not ideal, quite busy, a good number were in having completed their work shift for the day.

Service was good, ordered a pint of Fullers LP, a bit too warm for my liking but ok.

All tables in use, its a pretty large pub, three TV screens, one showing the golf and the other two test cricket.

Toilets are clean and in decent order.

Pretty decent I guess, worth popping in for a pint and a reasonably priced meal. Just make sure you take the down escalator on exit 2 at Waterloo station

No idea what its like as a hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time too do a review and you enjoyed the wellington we hope to see you with us again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Needed a one night stay and found this one on Hotels.com with a very good price so we booked and it was a nice surprise.It is a 10 min walk from Waterloo station so it was perfect for us.You always wander about bargains, but no need to worry as it is a Fullers Pub/Hotel and it was spot on
The rooms were perfect and it was very modern and clean so no complaints.Downstairs it is a big open pub with fantastic murals on the ceiling and portraits on the wall relating to the name of the establishment with some very interesting snippets of history on the walls.We had a bar meal which was very good and enjoyed.The atmosphere is very good as well.And the cooked breakfast was excellent, cooked to order.When we went to collect our baggage about 16:00 ish the place was buzzing with the place packed of people chilling before the train journey home or other means of transport.As the weather was unusually hot there is no air con in the room but we had a big fan so it was not to bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
thank you for your review of the wellington and i hope you also enjoyed you time in London the tour de france / london it was good to see it over here . Also you liked my pub its not a bad old place i call myself Mr kippling every day i try and make a nice cake . but i use the people instead of ingreadients . I hope to see you with us again soon and next time ask for Mark which is me and i tell you the story about the ceiling
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Wellington regularly for the past 18 months, as a business traveller.

The rooms at the Wellington have been upgraded to a very superior standard, but there was nothing to complain about prior to the refurbishment. They still have the extra touches that you don't get in many other hotels, e.g. bottled water in the room and good quality toiletries.

The breakfasts are delicious with a huge choice for both cooked and continental breakfasts.

The location is outstanding and couldn't be better for a short walk to some of the major sights, theatres and restaurants. In addition public transport: buses, tube, mainline station and a taxi rank are all on the doorstep.

Wifi is free, which is very important for me.

The price is very reasonable and competitive for London. Something I'm reminded of every time there is no availability and I have to stay elsewhere.

The USP of this hotel is the friendliness and welcoming nature of Mark, the Manager and his team. As a hotel guest you are made to feel part of the Wellington family. That is simply something money can't buy.

Every hotel should have a Mark.

Room Tip: This is an old building with no lift, so if you have difficulty getting up the steps ask for a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Well what can i say but thank you for your review and i am pleased you like the new rooms , with regards to the breakfast Ian does a good job and like me he believes if you stay in a hotel one of the most important things apart from the room is the breakfast . again thank you for taking the time to do a review hope to see you with us soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Me and my husband traveled to London for two nights, just to see the Monthy Python Show but this charming little 'bed and breakfast' of an hotel sort of stole the show. This was first time ever to London for my hubby.

Location was excellent for tourists like us. Major sights such as South bank, Westminster with it's Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace,St.James Park, Shakepeare's Globe Theater and Tower bridge within walking distance, with only 400 meters to the River Thames. And train/tube station across the road!!

We had third floor room which was very good. It was smallish but this was London so we found it even spacious! We loved wooden floor, excellent mattresses and pillows, hot shower with pressure and all the goodies and decor. It was hot out (32 degrees!) but room was nice and cool, not cold, after day's heat.

We all so liked the young staff's enthusiasm of London and their work. I liked full vegetarian British breakfast.

As a young girl, in seventies and eighties, my family used to travel all over United Kingdom and Ireland in summer vacations and we always stayed over at bed and breakfasts. It is amazing to find such a high class place in London with a lovely personal touch of those family run businesses.

Wellington at Waterloo was worth every penny.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mark the manager and his staff were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived. travelled from northern Ireland for a 2 night stay. friendly, chatty and made us feel so welcome.

The room was spotless and has everything you need. And the bset part is, that it's directly across from the Waterloo Station ( first building you see when you exit).

The food was first class and always served with a smile.

on our last day, they kept our bags in a storage locker, so we could do a final few hours of sight seeing before our journey home.

thank you again Mark. I come to London a few times a year and have finally found the hotel that i will continue to use.

Ian (skull ring) and Dot (yogurt jar lady).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi thank you for your review it was good to meet you and your friend i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and i hope to see you here again very soon
Mark
P S i keep the jars for you when i know you are over next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our review in March 2012 merits updating as the overnight accommodation facilities at this Waterloo pub-hotel have been totally refurbished (photos illustrate). All aspects relating to location obviously remain the same, as does the quality of service. Thankfully, Mark Leeds is still in charge, so the Wellington retains its charm and efficiency.

The major changes work in favour of but also against the consumer. The substantial upgrading of the rooms (including windows), courtesy of the Fullers ownership, mean the noise and comfort are substantially improved. All prior reviews referring to noise should be considered in the context of having been written before this change. BUT, and inevitably there had to be counter-acting force, the prices have also been quite seriously 'upgraded' - again, a function of the owners wanting to recoup their investment.

What should be heavily underscored, though, is that a hotel room in such a convenient location is bound to charge a rate that is comfortable for the owners. Whether the new rack rate prices are worth paying considering the other unchanged aspects - such as the area and that this property remains primarily a pub - have yet to be seen. Mark and his team will doubtless do their best to prove it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
thank you for taking the time to do a review and i am happy you like the new look wellington and you can see the changes we made . The only think that is the same is me a little older but still the same man hope to see you here again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#275 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.