We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour de France London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Ranked #385 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tour de France London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Needed a one night stay and found this one on Hotels.com with a very good price so we booked and it was a nice surprise.It is a 10 min walk from Waterloo station so it was perfect for us.You always wander about bargains, but no need to worry as it is a Fullers Pub/Hotel and it was spot on
The rooms were perfect and it was very modern and clean so no complaints.Downstairs it is a big open pub with fantastic murals on the ceiling and portraits on the wall relating to the name of the establishment with some very interesting snippets of history on the walls.We had a bar meal which was very good and enjoyed.The atmosphere is very good as well.And the cooked breakfast was excellent, cooked to order.When we went to collect our baggage about 16:00 ish the place was buzzing with the place packed of people chilling before the train journey home or other means of transport.As the weather was unusually hot there is no air con in the room but we had a big fan so it was not to bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
thank you for your review of the wellington and i hope you also enjoyed you time in London the tour de france / london it was good to see it over here . Also you liked my pub its not a bad old place i call myself Mr kippling every day i try and make a nice cake . but i use the people instead of ingreadients . I hope to see you with us again soon and next time ask for Mark which is me and i tell you the story about the ceiling
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Wellington regularly for the past 18 months, as a business traveller.

The rooms at the Wellington have been upgraded to a very superior standard, but there was nothing to complain about prior to the refurbishment. They still have the extra touches that you don't get in many other hotels, e.g. bottled water in the room and good quality toiletries.

The breakfasts are delicious with a huge choice for both cooked and continental breakfasts.

The location is outstanding and couldn't be better for a short walk to some of the major sights, theatres and restaurants. In addition public transport: buses, tube, mainline station and a taxi rank are all on the doorstep.

Wifi is free, which is very important for me.

The price is very reasonable and competitive for London. Something I'm reminded of every time there is no availability and I have to stay elsewhere.

The USP of this hotel is the friendliness and welcoming nature of Mark, the Manager and his team. As a hotel guest you are made to feel part of the Wellington family. That is simply something money can't buy.

Every hotel should have a Mark.

Room Tip: This is an old building with no lift, so if you have difficulty getting up the steps ask for a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Well what can i say but thank you for your review and i am pleased you like the new rooms , with regards to the breakfast Ian does a good job and like me he believes if you stay in a hotel one of the most important things apart from the room is the breakfast . again thank you for taking the time to do a review hope to see you with us soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Me and my husband traveled to London for two nights, just to see the Monthy Python Show but this charming little 'bed and breakfast' of an hotel sort of stole the show. This was first time ever to London for my hubby.

Location was excellent for tourists like us. Major sights such as South bank, Westminster with it's Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace,St.James Park, Shakepeare's Globe Theater and Tower bridge within walking distance, with only 400 meters to the River Thames. And train/tube station across the road!!

We had third floor room which was very good. It was smallish but this was London so we found it even spacious! We loved wooden floor, excellent mattresses and pillows, hot shower with pressure and all the goodies and decor. It was hot out (32 degrees!) but room was nice and cool, not cold, after day's heat.

We all so liked the young staff's enthusiasm of London and their work. I liked full vegetarian British breakfast.

As a young girl, in seventies and eighties, my family used to travel all over United Kingdom and Ireland in summer vacations and we always stayed over at bed and breakfasts. It is amazing to find such a high class place in London with a lovely personal touch of those family run businesses.

Wellington at Waterloo was worth every penny.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatriElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mark the manager and his staff were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived. travelled from northern Ireland for a 2 night stay. friendly, chatty and made us feel so welcome.

The room was spotless and has everything you need. And the bset part is, that it's directly across from the Waterloo Station ( first building you see when you exit).

The food was first class and always served with a smile.

on our last day, they kept our bags in a storage locker, so we could do a final few hours of sight seeing before our journey home.

thank you again Mark. I come to London a few times a year and have finally found the hotel that i will continue to use.

Ian (skull ring) and Dot (yogurt jar lady).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our review in March 2012 merits updating as the overnight accommodation facilities at this Waterloo pub-hotel have been totally refurbished (photos illustrate). All aspects relating to location obviously remain the same, as does the quality of service. Thankfully, Mark Leeds is still in charge, so the Wellington retains its charm and efficiency.

The major changes work in favour of but also against the consumer. The substantial upgrading of the rooms (including windows), courtesy of the Fullers ownership, mean the noise and comfort are substantially improved. All prior reviews referring to noise should be considered in the context of having been written before this change. BUT, and inevitably there had to be counter-acting force, the prices have also been quite seriously 'upgraded' - again, a function of the owners wanting to recoup their investment.

What should be heavily underscored, though, is that a hotel room in such a convenient location is bound to charge a rate that is comfortable for the owners. Whether the new rack rate prices are worth paying considering the other unchanged aspects - such as the area and that this property remains primarily a pub - have yet to be seen. Mark and his team will doubtless do their best to prove it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
thank you for taking the time to do a review and i am happy you like the new look wellington and you can see the changes we made . The only think that is the same is me a little older but still the same man hope to see you here again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stay at the Wellington Hotel at least once a year and have done for at least the last 10 years. Firstly there isn't a better situated hotel in London for immediate access to the great transport infrastructure London has to offer. You are literally 25 metres away from Waterloo Station. You are then a 10 - 15 minute tube station ride from most of London's hot spots including the West End and Covent Garden. The Hotel has just undergone a full refurbishment so the rooms are well fitted and immaculate throughout -both double and single rooms are well fitted with all the essentials and have a great shower too. Wifi is also available as part of the price. The Manager and staff are Courteous, polite and friendly and have always been willing to assist during every stay. The breakfast would be hard to beat in any establishment and is something I have always enjoyed. Full English is just the ticket with freshly brewed coffee. The Wellington has a Waterloo themed decor (as you might expect) and is an excellent pub that equals any pub in London. The sporting schedule is busy too showing all of the major sporting events on its multitude of well situated TVs. I always look forward to staying at the The Wellington at Waterloo and Intend to stay again real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and your kind words the wellington is a part of me and like me and my team we enjoy meeting good people i am happy you had a good time with us and like you said we are close to everything ! and Ian does do a good breakfast .
I hope to see you here with us again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

just like to thank mark the manager and his staff he is a top bloke who from the moment we arrived to the day we left he made us feel welcome and the breakfast was top notch and location great as was the conversation we had on the sunday before we left about history of the hotel etc thanks again the sunday morning Scottish ghost couple~

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi how are you guys than kyou for your review it was good to meet you both and i enjoyed our little chat about Geroge please keep in touch with me and i hope to see you both again very soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#301 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#559 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#277 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with restaurant, near London Eye Free full breakfast and WiFi Main amenities: 25 smoke-free guest rooms, restaurant, ATM/banking services, tour/ticket assistance What’s around: In South Bank London Eye (0.4 mi / 0.6 km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing