We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #400 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Wellington regularly for the past 18 months, as a business traveller.

The rooms at the Wellington have been upgraded to a very superior standard, but there was nothing to complain about prior to the refurbishment. They still have the extra touches that you don't get in many other hotels, e.g. bottled water in the room and good quality toiletries.

The breakfasts are delicious with a huge choice for both cooked and continental breakfasts.

The location is outstanding and couldn't be better for a short walk to some of the major sights, theatres and restaurants. In addition public transport: buses, tube, mainline station and a taxi rank are all on the doorstep.

Wifi is free, which is very important for me.

The price is very reasonable and competitive for London. Something I'm reminded of every time there is no availability and I have to stay elsewhere.

The USP of this hotel is the friendliness and welcoming nature of Mark, the Manager and his team. As a hotel guest you are made to feel part of the Wellington family. That is simply something money can't buy.

Every hotel should have a Mark.

Room Tip: This is an old building with no lift, so if you have difficulty getting up the steps ask for a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Well what can i say but thank you for your review and i am pleased you like the new rooms , with regards to the breakfast Ian does a good job and like me he believes if you stay in a hotel one of the most important things apart from the room is the breakfast . again thank you for taking the time to do a review hope to see you with us soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    94
    48
    19
    17
See reviews for
38
98
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Me and my husband traveled to London for two nights, just to see the Monthy Python Show but this charming little 'bed and breakfast' of an hotel sort of stole the show. This was first time ever to London for my hubby.

Location was excellent for tourists like us. Major sights such as South bank, Westminster with it's Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace,St.James Park, Shakepeare's Globe Theater and Tower bridge within walking distance, with only 400 meters to the River Thames. And train/tube station across the road!!

We had third floor room which was very good. It was smallish but this was London so we found it even spacious! We loved wooden floor, excellent mattresses and pillows, hot shower with pressure and all the goodies and decor. It was hot out (32 degrees!) but room was nice and cool, not cold, after day's heat.

We all so liked the young staff's enthusiasm of London and their work. I liked full vegetarian British breakfast.

As a young girl, in seventies and eighties, my family used to travel all over United Kingdom and Ireland in summer vacations and we always stayed over at bed and breakfasts. It is amazing to find such a high class place in London with a lovely personal touch of those family run businesses.

Wellington at Waterloo was worth every penny.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mark the manager and his staff were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived. travelled from northern Ireland for a 2 night stay. friendly, chatty and made us feel so welcome.

The room was spotless and has everything you need. And the bset part is, that it's directly across from the Waterloo Station ( first building you see when you exit).

The food was first class and always served with a smile.

on our last day, they kept our bags in a storage locker, so we could do a final few hours of sight seeing before our journey home.

thank you again Mark. I come to London a few times a year and have finally found the hotel that i will continue to use.

Ian (skull ring) and Dot (yogurt jar lady).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi thank you for your review it was good to meet you and your friend i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and i hope to see you here again very soon
Mark
P S i keep the jars for you when i know you are over next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our review in March 2012 merits updating as the overnight accommodation facilities at this Waterloo pub-hotel have been totally refurbished (photos illustrate). All aspects relating to location obviously remain the same, as does the quality of service. Thankfully, Mark Leeds is still in charge, so the Wellington retains its charm and efficiency.

The major changes work in favour of but also against the consumer. The substantial upgrading of the rooms (including windows), courtesy of the Fullers ownership, mean the noise and comfort are substantially improved. All prior reviews referring to noise should be considered in the context of having been written before this change. BUT, and inevitably there had to be counter-acting force, the prices have also been quite seriously 'upgraded' - again, a function of the owners wanting to recoup their investment.

What should be heavily underscored, though, is that a hotel room in such a convenient location is bound to charge a rate that is comfortable for the owners. Whether the new rack rate prices are worth paying considering the other unchanged aspects - such as the area and that this property remains primarily a pub - have yet to be seen. Mark and his team will doubtless do their best to prove it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
thank you for taking the time to do a review and i am happy you like the new look wellington and you can see the changes we made . The only think that is the same is me a little older but still the same man hope to see you here again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stay at the Wellington Hotel at least once a year and have done for at least the last 10 years. Firstly there isn't a better situated hotel in London for immediate access to the great transport infrastructure London has to offer. You are literally 25 metres away from Waterloo Station. You are then a 10 - 15 minute tube station ride from most of London's hot spots including the West End and Covent Garden. The Hotel has just undergone a full refurbishment so the rooms are well fitted and immaculate throughout -both double and single rooms are well fitted with all the essentials and have a great shower too. Wifi is also available as part of the price. The Manager and staff are Courteous, polite and friendly and have always been willing to assist during every stay. The breakfast would be hard to beat in any establishment and is something I have always enjoyed. Full English is just the ticket with freshly brewed coffee. The Wellington has a Waterloo themed decor (as you might expect) and is an excellent pub that equals any pub in London. The sporting schedule is busy too showing all of the major sporting events on its multitude of well situated TVs. I always look forward to staying at the The Wellington at Waterloo and Intend to stay again real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and your kind words the wellington is a part of me and like me and my team we enjoy meeting good people i am happy you had a good time with us and like you said we are close to everything ! and Ian does do a good breakfast .
I hope to see you here with us again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

just like to thank mark the manager and his staff he is a top bloke who from the moment we arrived to the day we left he made us feel welcome and the breakfast was top notch and location great as was the conversation we had on the sunday before we left about history of the hotel etc thanks again the sunday morning Scottish ghost couple~

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi how are you guys than kyou for your review it was good to meet you both and i enjoyed our little chat about Geroge please keep in touch with me and i hope to see you both again very soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and the bar downstairs was busy and vibrant, we didn't have a chance to have a drink in there unfortunately but it looked like a true London pub. Proximity to Waterloo station and the Eye/South Bank was perfect. We met Mark the Manager who was really friendly. We left our bags and went off to meet friends and on our return we had a swift check in and were given the keys to our room. A couple of sets of stairs but nothing too major to tackle. The room itself was spotlessly clean, a safe provided and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Room was warm but we already had a fan in there and we slept with the windows open and the fan on so no issue with the train noise. Breakfast was delicious and fast. We checked out but wished we had booked another night there. Thank you Mark and all your staff for a lovely stay, we will come again! From the sisters from Cambridgeshire going to Wimbledon!

Room Tip: We had room 22, a twin room, we didn't notice the trains to be honest and slept with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Afternoon thank you for taking the time to do a review so how was the tennis did you have a good time ! in all the years i have lived in london i have never been . Anyway i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and my team looked after you . please take care and i hope to see you here with us again .
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.