We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #408 of 1,063 Hotels in London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a great Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Mark the manager and his staff were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived. travelled from northern Ireland for a 2 night stay. friendly, chatty and made us feel so welcome.

The room was spotless and has everything you need. And the bset part is, that it's directly across from the Waterloo Station ( first building you see when you exit).

The food was first class and always served with a smile.

on our last day, they kept our bags in a storage locker, so we could do a final few hours of sight seeing before our journey home.

thank you again Mark. I come to London a few times a year and have finally found the hotel that i will continue to use.

Ian (skull ring) and Dot (yogurt jar lady).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi thank you for your review it was good to meet you and your friend i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and i hope to see you here again very soon
Mark
P S i keep the jars for you when i know you are over next
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    75
    39
    18
    15
See reviews for
36
85
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our review in March 2012 merits updating as the overnight accommodation facilities at this Waterloo pub-hotel have been totally refurbished (photos illustrate). All aspects relating to location obviously remain the same, as does the quality of service. Thankfully, Mark Leeds is still in charge, so the Wellington retains its charm and efficiency.

The major changes work in favour of but also against the consumer. The substantial upgrading of the rooms (including windows), courtesy of the Fullers ownership, mean the noise and comfort are substantially improved. All prior reviews referring to noise should be considered in the context of having been written before this change. BUT, and inevitably there had to be counter-acting force, the prices have also been quite seriously 'upgraded' - again, a function of the owners wanting to recoup their investment.

What should be heavily underscored, though, is that a hotel room in such a convenient location is bound to charge a rate that is comfortable for the owners. Whether the new rack rate prices are worth paying considering the other unchanged aspects - such as the area and that this property remains primarily a pub - have yet to be seen. Mark and his team will doubtless do their best to prove it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
thank you for taking the time to do a review and i am happy you like the new look wellington and you can see the changes we made . The only think that is the same is me a little older but still the same man hope to see you here again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stay at the Wellington Hotel at least once a year and have done for at least the last 10 years. Firstly there isn't a better situated hotel in London for immediate access to the great transport infrastructure London has to offer. You are literally 25 metres away from Waterloo Station. You are then a 10 - 15 minute tube station ride from most of London's hot spots including the West End and Covent Garden. The Hotel has just undergone a full refurbishment so the rooms are well fitted and immaculate throughout -both double and single rooms are well fitted with all the essentials and have a great shower too. Wifi is also available as part of the price. The Manager and staff are Courteous, polite and friendly and have always been willing to assist during every stay. The breakfast would be hard to beat in any establishment and is something I have always enjoyed. Full English is just the ticket with freshly brewed coffee. The Wellington has a Waterloo themed decor (as you might expect) and is an excellent pub that equals any pub in London. The sporting schedule is busy too showing all of the major sporting events on its multitude of well situated TVs. I always look forward to staying at the The Wellington at Waterloo and Intend to stay again real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and your kind words the wellington is a part of me and like me and my team we enjoy meeting good people i am happy you had a good time with us and like you said we are close to everything ! and Ian does do a good breakfast .
I hope to see you here with us again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

just like to thank mark the manager and his staff he is a top bloke who from the moment we arrived to the day we left he made us feel welcome and the breakfast was top notch and location great as was the conversation we had on the sunday before we left about history of the hotel etc thanks again the sunday morning Scottish ghost couple~

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi how are you guys than kyou for your review it was good to meet you both and i enjoyed our little chat about Geroge please keep in touch with me and i hope to see you both again very soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and the bar downstairs was busy and vibrant, we didn't have a chance to have a drink in there unfortunately but it looked like a true London pub. Proximity to Waterloo station and the Eye/South Bank was perfect. We met Mark the Manager who was really friendly. We left our bags and went off to meet friends and on our return we had a swift check in and were given the keys to our room. A couple of sets of stairs but nothing too major to tackle. The room itself was spotlessly clean, a safe provided and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Room was warm but we already had a fan in there and we slept with the windows open and the fan on so no issue with the train noise. Breakfast was delicious and fast. We checked out but wished we had booked another night there. Thank you Mark and all your staff for a lovely stay, we will come again! From the sisters from Cambridgeshire going to Wimbledon!

Room Tip: We had room 22, a twin room, we didn't notice the trains to be honest and slept with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Afternoon thank you for taking the time to do a review so how was the tennis did you have a good time ! in all the years i have lived in london i have never been . Anyway i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and my team looked after you . please take care and i hope to see you here with us again .
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just popped in for a drink on a hot day. The staff were friendly and prices reasonable. There was a good buzz / atmosphere about the place, even after the football had finished. It is just situated just across the road from the entrance to Waterloo railway/tube station. Worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here after long flight from Australia and before a UK road trip. Room was spotless (special mention of housekeeping excellence) and bed extremely comfortable. Unlike some other reviews, we didn't find room noisy at all. Even though rooms are smallish, they are very well appointed. Yes there are some stairs to contend with, but we were 2 middle aged women with 3 suitcases and managed fine, so I think any complaint here from anyone is just for complaint sake. If you are going to stay in 19th century or earlier establishments, expect small corridors and narrow stairs. No issue at all here. Breakfast was excellent. The atmosphere of the pub was warm and welcoming. The only negative I have was one evening when patroning the bar, I found the service a little complacent. Some of the bar staff were definitely not interested in being there and as the bar was 2deep busy, seemed to be totally disinterested in service. We ordered a meal at the bar, they asked what table we were at, I pointed to the table as the table number ( small coin sized disc in corner of table) was missing on our table. I expressed this to the waitress and she basically didn't want to take my order as I didn't know the table number. I wasn't too stressed as a male attendant took my order and eventually we received dinner. All I could really do was roll my eyes and got on with my evening. I am not judging the hotel on one aloof staff member as the rest were on top of it. All in all, a good stay in GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#290 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.