We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Ranked #376 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stay at the Wellington Hotel at least once a year and have done for at least the last 10 years. Firstly there isn't a better situated hotel in London for immediate access to the great transport infrastructure London has to offer. You are literally 25 metres away from Waterloo Station. You are then a 10 - 15 minute tube station ride from most of London's hot spots including the West End and Covent Garden. The Hotel has just undergone a full refurbishment so the rooms are well fitted and immaculate throughout -both double and single rooms are well fitted with all the essentials and have a great shower too. Wifi is also available as part of the price. The Manager and staff are Courteous, polite and friendly and have always been willing to assist during every stay. The breakfast would be hard to beat in any establishment and is something I have always enjoyed. Full English is just the ticket with freshly brewed coffee. The Wellington has a Waterloo themed decor (as you might expect) and is an excellent pub that equals any pub in London. The sporting schedule is busy too showing all of the major sporting events on its multitude of well situated TVs. I always look forward to staying at the The Wellington at Waterloo and Intend to stay again real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and your kind words the wellington is a part of me and like me and my team we enjoy meeting good people i am happy you had a good time with us and like you said we are close to everything ! and Ian does do a good breakfast .
I hope to see you here with us again soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

just like to thank mark the manager and his staff he is a top bloke who from the moment we arrived to the day we left he made us feel welcome and the breakfast was top notch and location great as was the conversation we had on the sunday before we left about history of the hotel etc thanks again the sunday morning Scottish ghost couple~

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi how are you guys than kyou for your review it was good to meet you both and i enjoyed our little chat about Geroge please keep in touch with me and i hope to see you both again very soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and the bar downstairs was busy and vibrant, we didn't have a chance to have a drink in there unfortunately but it looked like a true London pub. Proximity to Waterloo station and the Eye/South Bank was perfect. We met Mark the Manager who was really friendly. We left our bags and went off to meet friends and on our return we had a swift check in and were given the keys to our room. A couple of sets of stairs but nothing too major to tackle. The room itself was spotlessly clean, a safe provided and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Room was warm but we already had a fan in there and we slept with the windows open and the fan on so no issue with the train noise. Breakfast was delicious and fast. We checked out but wished we had booked another night there. Thank you Mark and all your staff for a lovely stay, we will come again! From the sisters from Cambridgeshire going to Wimbledon!

Room Tip: We had room 22, a twin room, we didn't notice the trains to be honest and slept with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea-and-Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Afternoon thank you for taking the time to do a review so how was the tennis did you have a good time ! in all the years i have lived in london i have never been . Anyway i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and my team looked after you . please take care and i hope to see you here with us again .
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We just popped in for a drink on a hot day. The staff were friendly and prices reasonable. There was a good buzz / atmosphere about the place, even after the football had finished. It is just situated just across the road from the entrance to Waterloo railway/tube station. Worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here after long flight from Australia and before a UK road trip. Room was spotless (special mention of housekeeping excellence) and bed extremely comfortable. Unlike some other reviews, we didn't find room noisy at all. Even though rooms are smallish, they are very well appointed. Yes there are some stairs to contend with, but we were 2 middle aged women with 3 suitcases and managed fine, so I think any complaint here from anyone is just for complaint sake. If you are going to stay in 19th century or earlier establishments, expect small corridors and narrow stairs. No issue at all here. Breakfast was excellent. The atmosphere of the pub was warm and welcoming. The only negative I have was one evening when patroning the bar, I found the service a little complacent. Some of the bar staff were definitely not interested in being there and as the bar was 2deep busy, seemed to be totally disinterested in service. We ordered a meal at the bar, they asked what table we were at, I pointed to the table as the table number ( small coin sized disc in corner of table) was missing on our table. I expressed this to the waitress and she basically didn't want to take my order as I didn't know the table number. I wasn't too stressed as a male attendant took my order and eventually we received dinner. All I could really do was roll my eyes and got on with my evening. I am not judging the hotel on one aloof staff member as the rest were on top of it. All in all, a good stay in GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traci_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Have just enjoyed a great short break at The Wellington from Wednesday to Saturday. This is not your usual hotel. It has real individuality and a quirky charm that might not be everyone's taste but we loved it. The Wellington combines a great busy pub with simple well presented rooms. The reception is in the bar and the rooms extend three floors above the main bar. The staff were all great and were happy to help in anyway they could. The rooms have been recently refurbished - our room had a great shower! The bed linen and towels were also good quality. The hotel is in a good central location and offers great value for money. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was as good as any we've had. There is no lift so if you have a room on one of the upper floors, be prepared for a bit of a climb stairs! This will be our hotel of choice next time we're back in London!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyrLedgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We returned to the Wellington Hotel with friends after staying here a year ago. I tried to get a room here again after the refurbishment, but unfortunately it was fully booked. We came for dinner with our friends after enjoying the food so much the last time we came. The food was just as good as our last visit, the service was great despite being very busy for the world cup and we all enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#301 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#558 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#277 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel with restaurant, near London Eye Free full breakfast and WiFi Main amenities: 25 smoke-free guest rooms, restaurant, ATM/banking services, tour/ticket assistance What’s around: In South Bank London Eye (0.4 mi / 0.6 km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing