We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Ranked #387 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and the bar downstairs was busy and vibrant, we didn't have a chance to have a drink in there unfortunately but it looked like a true London pub. Proximity to Waterloo station and the Eye/South Bank was perfect. We met Mark the Manager who was really friendly. We left our bags and went off to meet friends and on our return we had a swift check in and were given the keys to our room. A couple of sets of stairs but nothing too major to tackle. The room itself was spotlessly clean, a safe provided and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Room was warm but we already had a fan in there and we slept with the windows open and the fan on so no issue with the train noise. Breakfast was delicious and fast. We checked out but wished we had booked another night there. Thank you Mark and all your staff for a lovely stay, we will come again! From the sisters from Cambridgeshire going to Wimbledon!

Room Tip: We had room 22, a twin room, we didn't notice the trains to be honest and slept with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Afternoon thank you for taking the time to do a review so how was the tennis did you have a good time ! in all the years i have lived in london i have never been . Anyway i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and my team looked after you . please take care and i hope to see you here with us again .
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    110
    49
    21
    17
See reviews for
42
114
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just popped in for a drink on a hot day. The staff were friendly and prices reasonable. There was a good buzz / atmosphere about the place, even after the football had finished. It is just situated just across the road from the entrance to Waterloo railway/tube station. Worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here after long flight from Australia and before a UK road trip. Room was spotless (special mention of housekeeping excellence) and bed extremely comfortable. Unlike some other reviews, we didn't find room noisy at all. Even though rooms are smallish, they are very well appointed. Yes there are some stairs to contend with, but we were 2 middle aged women with 3 suitcases and managed fine, so I think any complaint here from anyone is just for complaint sake. If you are going to stay in 19th century or earlier establishments, expect small corridors and narrow stairs. No issue at all here. Breakfast was excellent. The atmosphere of the pub was warm and welcoming. The only negative I have was one evening when patroning the bar, I found the service a little complacent. Some of the bar staff were definitely not interested in being there and as the bar was 2deep busy, seemed to be totally disinterested in service. We ordered a meal at the bar, they asked what table we were at, I pointed to the table as the table number ( small coin sized disc in corner of table) was missing on our table. I expressed this to the waitress and she basically didn't want to take my order as I didn't know the table number. I wasn't too stressed as a male attendant took my order and eventually we received dinner. All I could really do was roll my eyes and got on with my evening. I am not judging the hotel on one aloof staff member as the rest were on top of it. All in all, a good stay in GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Have just enjoyed a great short break at The Wellington from Wednesday to Saturday. This is not your usual hotel. It has real individuality and a quirky charm that might not be everyone's taste but we loved it. The Wellington combines a great busy pub with simple well presented rooms. The reception is in the bar and the rooms extend three floors above the main bar. The staff were all great and were happy to help in anyway they could. The rooms have been recently refurbished - our room had a great shower! The bed linen and towels were also good quality. The hotel is in a good central location and offers great value for money. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was as good as any we've had. There is no lift so if you have a room on one of the upper floors, be prepared for a bit of a climb stairs! This will be our hotel of choice next time we're back in London!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We returned to the Wellington Hotel with friends after staying here a year ago. I tried to get a room here again after the refurbishment, but unfortunately it was fully booked. We came for dinner with our friends after enjoying the food so much the last time we came. The food was just as good as our last visit, the service was great despite being very busy for the world cup and we all enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had booked the hotel from the Monday to the thurs as we had an invite to go to the garden party at Buckingham palace. While some complain about the train noise it was not something that bothered us. That’s with the both windows open as it was boiling over the few days we were there. It was the hottest few days of the year so far. The stairs will keep you fit if you’re on a high floor lol but not a problem even for my wife who has angina you just take your time.
The staff are fantastic they can’t do enough for you I did notice a few awkward customers talk to them like dirt over silly little things like having black pudding as an item on breakfast and not hash browns. NO need to treat staff like that, the girls work hard. Had a few problems with the key card when we arrived just one of them things and as I say it was a hot day. One of the girls kept coming up and down the stairs till she sorted it out. Poor girl was shattered.
The room was great with a lot of little extras you don’t get in many other hotels. There is a bit of work going on at the moment but nothing to get in your way as they improve the hotel.
Breakfast was great again cant believe it was free big selling point for us on a budget.
Also wifi was free very handy with other hotels charging over £6 a day.

Location wise you can’t beat it waterloo station across the road for main line or tube. Bus stop right outside or a 5 minute walk for Southbank, London eye, Westminster etc or take Waterloo Bridge for a walk over the river to covert garden. The hotel is a perfect place for exploring London.
Price of the hotel was also good for location and was only £3 more than a well-known set of hotels just up the road and that was without breakfast and wifi which would have been extra.
Plus a couple of hundred pounds cheaper than a few up a short walk away.
So you will not beat it for value, drinks were expensive to us from our local but on par with London prices. The bar was very comfortable and clean and very friendly there is a separate entrance if you did wish to go through the bar but I wouldn’t have any worries taking children though.

I have stayed in this area twice and always found the locals very friendly and helpful, I look for value cleanness, friendliness and good food when away and found it all in the Duke of Wellington and can’t wait to go back as we will defiantly book again.

Room Tip: We had room 12 if you not able to handle a lot of stairs I would ask for a lower floor. Pub was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here when going out on works party. Bit apprehensive about its location and proximity to Waterloo Station. This is a great located hotel, easy access to the underground, Thames and all the attractions on the south bank. Landlord of the bar below was excellent, made us feel incredibly welcome, as did all his staff. Not the cheapest but it is London - but by no means the worst. Breakfast was well cooked and very nice.

The hotel is well worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you meet our landlord . Mark is a character .We value our customers and we look forward to see you again in your next visit. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Premier Inn London Waterloo
#101 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#300 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Tune Hotel - Westminster
#403 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#300 Romantic Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.