We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming stay at The Wellington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #364 of 1,073 hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming stay at The Wellington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We was staying at this hotel due to being over in London for the NFL game at Wembley. We had researched the location and found that this was perfect for the underground (literally just across from Waterloo station). Upon arrival, we were checked in quickly and shown to our room. We were on the second floor, and there is only stairs to walk up.

The room was well presented and modern with two single beds, tv and wardrobe. There was coffee and tea making facilities, with two packets of cookies. The bathroom was nice, however we did find wet toilet roll stuck to the seat, which I find unhygenic. The rest of the room was clean, there were a few marks on the wall, with felt tip pen, however this can not be removed.

Location and value for money was key for us and both were really good. We got this room for £70 for the night, which is considerably cheap for London. We had a drink in the bar which came to a total of £8.50 which for us and coming from up north were we are used to £2.00 a pint was very exspensive! After talking to some locals they told us this was actually cheap haha!
Breakfast was really nice, there was a choice of cold buffett alongside a full english breakfast, or you could have pancakes, breakfast baps etc. The full english breakfast was all fresh and gorgeous! The sausage was beautiful, and you also got bacon, egg, mushrooms,beans, hashbrown and toast.

Upon checkout we left our luggage in a small cupboard were there was plenty of space.

Overall a great central location, with a comfy bed for a over night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi and thank you for making a review. I hope that you enjoyed the NFL game at Wembley. I'm happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the room rate reasonable.

Thanks for your feedback, it's welcome for us to retain what is good and improve what is bad.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    64
    39
    16
    13
See reviews for
33
81
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very well located hotel for Waterloo, literally just across the road. Good breakfast and bar food pretty good.
Now for the negatives! Check in was ok, asked to leave bags as rooms not ready (we were early). As others have mentioned on here room for bags was full so we left behind bar. We discovered later that the room for bags is actually a cupboard that holds no more than about 8 bags in total, so I guess its nearly always full!
We accessed the hotel via the bar as instructed and as soon as you enter the hotel area there is a horrible damp smell. Upstairs to our room (Room 4) and the smell was no better. On entering room found the carpet to be very stained, net curtains grubby and the door handle to en suite hanging off. The bed was ok and the linen pretty good. There was no handle on the folding shower door so was awkward to get out (had to be rescued by my husband!)
The carpet in our room had not been hovered properly, there were bits of broken pen or something near window and these were not removed in the clean the following day. Cobwebs around light fitting. Found hairs on wall inside shower cubicle (always a turn off!) The bedroom light had a bulb missing, there was only one bedside table and light (double room) which made it awkward if one person wanted to read and one to sleep.
According to welcome notice given with key there should be a Guest Directory in room but we did not have one.
After a days sight seeing and a show we arrived back at hotel just before last orders (11pm) and got some drinks. Settled down for a relax with friends over our drinks and were told in a rude manner that the bar would need to be vacated in 5 minutes. The staff started piling the chairs ontop of tables and locking doors. Although we told the bar staff we were staying at hotel 5 minutes later they returned to ask us to drink up and leave! We then gave up and tried to access hotel from bar and found the door to be deadlocked. We were rather perplexed at this but a rude member of staff came over (eventually) unlocked the door and advised us that the door was always locked after hours to stop guests thieving from the bar. As we knew of no other way out we were very worried about this in the event of a fire. The staff member then pointed out another way in to hotel that we had never been advised of previously. There is no guest area (lounge or bar) in the hotel part of building and we assume that no member of staff stays on site.
Our friends room key didn't work on one occasion and they found someone to rectify, just before departure the same thing happened again and the member of staff snatched from their hand, tutted and said "not again".
There are lots of signs in bar regarding the "friendly staff" but in the 2 days we were there they must have all been on holiday.
Would not recommend hotel if you like service with a smile and a clean room.
Website had advised noise may be a problem but to be honest that was the least of our problems there!

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I am really sorry about your experience staying with us. I wish that you would have raised some of these issues at the time of your stay and I may have been able to help.

With regards to the decor of the rooms we are aiming to have most rooms re-decorated in the next few months. The cleaning of your room was not to an acceptable standard and we have raised these issues with the house keeping staff.

We are sorry about the rudeness of the staff regarding your end of night drink. We do not as a general rule rush any guest at the end of the night and this has been re-iterated at a recent staff meeting. I can only apologise for the experience that you had.

We are approachable and wish we would have been given the opportunity to resolve your issues at the time to have made your stay more enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are looking for a noisy hotel with no elevator, dirty curtains, no light in the bathroom, doors that can't be locked right, a train passing every five seconds two feet outside your window, and a staff that cares more about the bar guests than you. Congratulations, this is the hotel for you.

I had probably the worst night in my life staying at this hotel. The room was not clean, the bed was terrible, and there was no light in the bathroom. The room did not have an in-room safe either, so you're belongings are not safe. I was placed in the top floor, with no elevator at all (you have to carry your luggage all the way up), and I couldn't leave anything valuable in the room when I was going to experience the town. Also, you won't get much sleep, as the train runs by right outside your window every five seconds, even at night.

I really do not recommend this hotel, even if you are staying for just one night.

If there was anything positive about it? You get the money back if you check out before the original date, and it's right next to a train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear geust,

Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback, good or bad. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here and had to cut if short due to the noise of the trains.

You mentioned the cleanliness of the room, that is was not clean. We are aware that our rooms are tired looking and may benefit from a refit, but they are cleaned to a good standard each day and a distinction has to be made between cleanliness and a tired looking room.

We are right next to Waterloo station and the trains pass one side of our building throughout the day. In other reviews this has also been an issue for other guests which they have also pointed out. For others it has not been a big issue.

Security is important to us and if we had been approached we would have been more than happy to store any personal items in our safe.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed with my Daughter. Good Points: Helpful and friendly staff. Lovely clean bathroom with fabulous shower and good quality, clean white fluffy towels. It looked like a new bathroom. Good size room. Lovely, quiet and relaxing breakfast with no queuing necessary. Good selection to choose from and the vegetarian cooked breakfast option was appreciated. We were able to put our case in a locked cupboard when we checked out and collected it later that evening. Good location with Waterloo Station opposite and bus stops literally outside the hotel door.

We arrived just after 1 pm so that we could have lunch in the pub before check in at 2 pm. Lunch was lovely. We went to the Reception Desk at 2 pm but were told the rooms were not ready so no-one could check in until 2.30 pm. We were offered complimentary hot drinks while we waited which we thought was a lovely touch. After about 25 minutes the Lady in charge came over and told us we could now check in. We were given room 19 on the second floor and shown where to go and how to get in without having to go through the pub (the lady checked our room entry cards worked the external door). There were quite a few stairs which could be a problem for some people but not for us.

There were a few stains on the bedroom carpet. Only one mug and set of ear plugs even though it was a twin room. We went out shortly after checking in and on our return noticed that someone put a couple of small bottles of water in our room but there was still only one mug. The room had 2 large windows but the side opener on one of them was broken so the window couldn't be closed. Therefore, we were slightly concerned about security (even though we were on the second floor) plus the open window resulted in increased noise from outside. Luckily it was very warm in the room but had it been winter, not being able to close the window would have caused me a problem.

If you want to stay in central London you must expect noise but it wasn't as bad as we feared so don't let noise put you off (unless you live in the middle of nowhere). Trains don't seem to run during the night. The road outside does quieten down but groups of people, night buses, taxis and cars do continue to go past all through the night. I woke up during the night so enjoyed watching the world go by for a while out of the window at 3 am!

I must stress that there is no internal noise. Even though you are above a large, popular pub, you cannot hear anything from it or from adjoining rooms/corridor etc.

The Wellington Hotel is much better than a B & B and smaller, more friendly and welcoming than your usual London Hotel. The staff are very nice.

We didn't say aything about the window because we presumed all rooms were full which is why we were given the room, but I hope they get it fixed immediately. We would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Main road is busy through the night but does get quieter. Trains seem to stop overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We work hard and try our best to make our guests stay a good one. We have spoken to the chambermaids about making sure that all items are available in the room.

We will investigate the window not closing in room 19 and have it rectified.

Happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and thanks again for posting your comments here.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed here for my Birthday. I went into the room first to find that it was decorated with balloons and had a birthday cake waiting for me with candles and matches, plates and cutlery. It turns out that it had secretly been arranged by the staff and my fiancé. such a nice touch. the wellington is in an ideal location just opposite the tube station which made our visit a whole lot easier. the room was nicely decorated and well stocked with the necessary tea making facilities. it was a bit loud at night due to the location but this couldn't be helped. there was a good variety of food to choose from for breakfast and the staff were all very friendly. we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Lovely that you enjoyed your stay with us dispite the noise from the trains / street. We hope that you enjoyed your birthday and your time in London.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you here again sometime soon.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Saturday & Sunday) back in August. Before we arrived we were a little wary about staying above a pub next to a mainline London station, but we needn't have worried....

The staff were all very friendly. The room itself was reasonably standard but perfectly clean and slightly larger than we expected it to be, which was a pleasant bonus. The bathroom was great and the power shower was superb!

The location is absolutely spot on. In one direction it is a maximum of 4-5 minutes walk to the National Theatre and other attractions on the South Bank, in the opposite direction it is 2 minutes from the Old Vic Theatre, and literally on the other side of the road is Waterloo Station. Now I won't deny that the road outside is very busy, and therefore pretty noisy, but if you want a quiet retreat pay through the nose to stay in the countryside. Personally, we didn't think the noise was that bad, and we had our window slightly open during the evening as well. The hotel recognise the noise issue and there are ear plugs provided in the room if you feel you need them. personally my sleep wasn't great but that is because I am 6'7" and the bed was slightly short for me, but then that is something that I regularly have to deal with and nothing to do with the quality of the bed.

The biggest bonus of the place for me was the excellent breakfast that was included. All sorts of fresh fruit, cereal, croissants, pain au chocolat, 3 different types of fruit juice, and tea and coffee. And once you had helped yourself to all that there was a full English breakfast as well, made with good quality ingredients.

In summary we were pleasantly surprised to find such a good value hotel in this location and would therefore recommend it anyone other than those that like very quite hotels.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the side or the back of the hotel to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello and many thanks for taking your time to post a review about your stay.

Like in other guest reviews, you have summarised many good things about us like the breakfast and location. It is also fair to say that the noise can be an issue for some but we are happy that it didn't disturb your stay with us.

You also mentioned that you believe we are good value for the location. I guess by looking at the prices and what you get for the price at some of our competitors around Waterloo, we are good value.

Once again, thanks for your comments and please come again.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a convenient stay in forever busy London. I have a lot to appreciate about this hotel, so lets begin with the check-in. We checked-in late, hassle free and fast. The staff is very hospitable. The room we got was very comfortable and the shower room was sparkling clean. I was a bit sceptical about sleep quality due to several noise issues mentioned by people on reviews but let me clarify this! It is not going to affect your sleep until you are an over-sensitive sleeper. The breakfast was superb and wholesome. The location of this hotel is icing on the cake as it is situated 10 mins walk to London eye and very close to, westminster bridge and abbey. You save on taking tube travel time for these tourist spots. Waterloo station is just next to the hotel therefore you are very well connected to the entire London. In short, it was a fab stay, lovely people, delicious breakfast and comfy rooms. Thank you Peter (At reception) :) !! I will not even think twice before booking my next stay at this hotel. Period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us. It is nice to hear from a guest that the noise was not a major issue. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are close to many London attractions as you mentioned and yes, our chef Ian does cook a very nice breakfast.

Once again, thanks for leaving comments and we do hope to see you here again somtime.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#272 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#670 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Tune Hotel - Westminster
Tune Hotel - Westminster
#366 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
Mid-range, City...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Days Inn London Waterloo
Days Inn London Waterloo
#404 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Charming, Budge...
Show More
City of London
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#206 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#259 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.