We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sightseeing in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
The Wellington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #408 of 1,066 Hotels in London
South West England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for sightseeing in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Wellington for just one night and I am happy to recommend it. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was small but spotlessly clean and the breakfast, which is included in the price, was superb. The hotel is really well situated for sightseeing and, even though it's on a busy main road, across from the station, the free ear plugs made sure that I got a really good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed your time here with us at the Wellington. We do try to make all our guests feel welcome and make their stay a safe and enjoyable one. Again, thank you for your comments.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    84
    42
    18
    16
See reviews for
36
93
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent location - just across the road from main line trains and tubes. Easy walk to many tourist locations. We were there to go to a concert at the O2, so easy to get there from waterloo. The hotel was clean and staff friendly which was great, stayed in loads of London hotels and this is far the friendliest. For a room rate to include breakfast this to is unusual, the breakfast was really good, lovely freshly cooked breakfast and plenty of other options. The hotel is extremely close the train lines but we slept well and they do supply earplugs. The bathroom was small but the shower was excellent and everything was really clean. Felt very safe there. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I am sitting in my office on this very hot day, reading reviews. I read your comments and I'm glad that you felt safe and you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you enjoyed the concert at the O2. On a final note, yes, I agree, in fact I believe that the showers at the Wellington are the best in London. Thank you for your review.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The wellington is ideally situated just across the road from Waterloo station on a busy and noisy main road . When I got to check in that was ok and went quite smoothly but when I got to the room (room 22) it wasn't ready the bed wasn't made and all the linen was all over the floor and the 2 cleaners were arguing shouting and swearing at each other not good in front of guests but I guess it was free entertainment while my room was being made up .the en-suite rooms are well equipped bed,freeview tv, fan,wardrobe,table & tea and coffee making facilties and also a en suite bathroom (walk in shower sink , toilet but for the price i paid £60 its ok .So overall would I stay here again yeah despite everything I would

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi shane1212. Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the behaviour of the house keeping staff. As we have a check out time of 11am, it is sometimes a struggle to have all rooms ready for check in after a fully occupied night. We are looking into a sollution on how to manage this problem. Apart from the problems mentioned, I do hope that you found the stay pleasureable.

Mark Leeds
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There for 4 nights. Not budget price range but clean room, good bed, good food and safe. Pub below always busy so drank elsewhere. Staff nice, location great for getting around London on tube or walking to West end. Only downside is the main commuter train line 20 metres from bedroom window. Not too noisy and we slept well but light sleepers beware

Room Tip: As far away from the railway line as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location couldn't be much better, just across the road from Waterloo station and a few minutes walk to the London Eye and just a little more to Westminster. The rooms are small, but clean With free bottle of drinking water, coffee and tea making facilities, a TV set and somewhat old fashioned. We stayed 4 Nights and were not too much disturbed by the noise from the Trains. We never used the supplied ear plugs and slept well. If you travel with 2 big suitcases, it could be a slight problem to place them without blocking the access to the bed.
The bathroom was clean and ok, with a shower that must be among the best I've had at any hotel, very good pressure and lots of hot water and doors that didn't let a drop of water get through to the floor.
The staff was friendly and helpful and the downstairs pub/bar was nice and a good place to sink a pint of real ale on our way out or back.
A full English breakfast, well prepared, was included and served in the ground floor bar.
For the location, and included breakfast, we found The Wellington exellent value (for London that is) and will certainly stay there again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank for your comments regarding your stay at the wellington. Yes, the showers are a hit with many people and Ian in the kitchen cooks a great breakfast. Hope to see you in the near future.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights and choose this place for the location, which we were more than happy with. Check in is at the bar of the pub below the rooms and when we arrived (Sat evening) was very busy but we didn't have to wait too long to be seen. Room was small but adequate and both the room and the bathroom were clean and had everything in them that we needed. Ate here on first night and the food was good with not too long a wait (also helped that we had a 2for1 voucher to use) then we headed out to the London Eye & OXO Tower - both are with easy walking distance, as is Trafalgar Square & Leicester Sq. Free breakfast was very good - lots of choice and only about a ten minute wait for cooked to order food. The only real problem we had was when we arrived back to the hotel after the theatre on our final night and our card to access the building didn't work. Thankfully the pub staff were still there and someone was able to replace our faulty card - I don't dare think what would have happened if they'd gone home. Daughter is going to stay again in Sept (mainly because of the location) and I would happily stay again or recommend to others. ps they supply earplugs as they are so close to Waterloo Station but we didn't need ours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wellington for 2 nights on a Thursday and a Friday. The location is brilliant for convenience and sight seeing as it is directly opposite the Waterloo train station. From the hotel the London eye and Big Ben is just a couple of minutes walk away. We were also able to walk to the Tate Modern, Covent Garden, Oxford Street and Buckingham Palace and most of the other tourist areas all of which took us no more than a 20 minute walk.

The room was fine, a little tired looking but for the price it was what we expected. We were provided with bottled water, some biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities. The only bad point was finding a used condom wrapper on the floor in between the bedside table and the bed. This was a rather nasty shock and if the room was cleaned thoroughly before we arrived it certainly should not have been there. Our room was overlooking the railway however it did not effect us at night, we just used our earplugs which were provided and we weren't woken.
The only issue was the air in the pipes. Whenever somebody in another room turned on a tap we could hear a loud noise through the pipes which went on a good few minutes, it was so loud it sounded like somebody drilling at first - luckily we didn't really hear it at night.

The free breakfast in the morning was good and there was a decent selection of cereals, juices, fresh fruit, croissants and full English. We were also pleased that we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel before check in and then again when we checked out which enabled us to have much more time to explore London without carrying around heavy bags.

All in all a good stay and would return again as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We work hard to keep on top of the standard of the rooms. We apologies that on this visit, the standards were not met. With regards to the pipe work, it has not been mentioned in the past but I will have this looked in to.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81 - 83 Waterloo Road | Waterloo, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.