We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Victoria sponge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Mountain Cafe

The Blue Mountain Cafe
18 North Cross Road, Dulwich, London SE22 9EU, England
Tel: 020 8299 6953
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,954 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Caribbean, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Victoria sponge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had not been back since the refurbishment so went for tea with a friend on Sunday. Their coffee machine was broken but they still gave us a decent cafetiere of coffee. The waitress was very nice and happily read out the cake list twice so that we could make up our minds. My favourite cake is Victoria sponge and I fancy myself as a bit of an expert, I was not disappointed with the blue mountain cafe version - it was fresh, tasted home made and you could tell that quality ingredients had been used. There was also a nice atmosphere in the cafe and the decor was pleasing. I will definitely make this a regular on Sundays and will work through the menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Always yummy. Was one of first customers way back in early nineties when owner Mal ran the show and the smoking room was decorated in newspaper. Has never lost its originality

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Expected bit more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had tried there earlier, but that time they've been closed for refurbishing. This time not everything was finished, but we could final tried their coffee and cake.
I have to say we were bit disappointed because we traveled there for more than an hour to get Blue mountain coffee as we suggested the name of the shop is by this coffee and my friend wanted to have it as he likes it. Unfortunately u can only buy it there as they serve east London coffee.
We accompanied our coffee with walnut cake, which was nice, but I think the taste would be better if they keep it in the fridge and the cream is not cold.
Overall, the experience wasn't bad because of good coffee and nice service, but nothing special.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosaic decorated cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely bacon and maple syrup pancakes on a Sunday morning washed down by a delicious hot chocolate. Lunch on a Saturday fish cakes with sweet potato chunky chips and plantain. Lovely friendly atmosphere serving yummy food all times of the day

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Honest food & service - great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Have always meant to visit this cafe but it was always busy. Wish we had visited sooner as had a really good honest lunch and despite ongoing refurbishment this didn't detract at all.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Mountain Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Mountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.