We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stylish and Comfortable Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London-Paddington to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #120 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A Stylish and Comfortable Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Hotel Indigo London-Paddington was a wonderful place to stay! My husband and I were here for nine days and it really became a home away from home, and an oasis of calm in the midst of a busy city. From the location to the decor, the amenities and the staff, everything was perfect.

Location and Transportation: The hotel is just a few minutes walk away from Paddington Train Station and Paddington Underground Station, bus stops and of course there are taxis everywhere too.

If you plan on using public transportation in London (and you should, as it's very convenient and easy), this location is perfect. We took the Heathrow Express train, a 15 minute ride, from the airport to Paddington and back again. When we arrived at Paddington, we bought Oyster cards and used them to ride the Tube and buses during our stay. Inside Paddington Station are two small grocery stores, a Boots pharmacy, restaurants and shopping. Several times during our stay at the hotel, we walked to the station to get fresh food to eat; it was very convenient and good.

The Hotel: We stayed in an Executive King Room. The high-ceilinged room faced the back, was very quiet, and had a great little balcony with a table and two chairs. The bed was a King, but it wasn't what Americans would think of as a King--it wasn't as wide or long. Still, it was plenty large enough and it was so very comfortable. The linens were high quality and soft and the duvet was very warm. We didn't ever turn on heat or A/C during our stay--whatever it was set on was fine. Sometimes we'd open the door to the balcony to cool off the room a little and that worked too.

The room decor was very hip, beautiful, and unique, with images of Paddington and surrounding area. Yes, the room is small, but it's big enough and very thoughtfully designed. I hadn't ever stayed in London before so I don't have any other London hotel experience to compare it to, but it seemed like although it was small, the designers planned it to give you as much room and convenience as possible in the space. I loved the wood flooring especially, but do be careful as it can be slippery at times.

There's a large armoire with plenty of room to hang clothes and put stuff away on shelves, a little mini fridge and a room safe. There are two bedside tables, with room on either side to stash a suitcase. A little couch at the foot of the bed provides one seating area and also a pull away table you can eat on or work on with a laptop.

There's also a small desk and chair with provided keyboard for using the internet if you don't have a laptop. The chair wasn't comfortable for my husband or I, however, as it was so small, but I don't think everyone will have that problem. There is a fee to use their internet service but if you have your own laptop that's wi-fi enabled, the wireless internet is free. We used the free wi-fi all the time and found that sometimes it was a bit slow, but it was fast at other times.

The TV is a large flatscreen. In addition to watching TV or using it for the interent, you can check your up-to-date bill on the TV, your messages, and schedule wakeup calls as well.

There's a little quick-heat electric kettle for making tea or coffee with, two mugs, and a provided box full of teas, coffees, sugars, and biscuits (cookies). There was a turn-down service every day too, where they'd turn down your bed, leave you a chocolate, empty the trash, and replenish the treat box if needed.

The bathroom was gorgeous; the shower was to die for especially. Huge, tall glass doors, with a rainfall shower head and a hand-held wand. The shelves provided plenty of storage space, and there's even a heated towel bar. There are enormous plush body towels in addition to smaller towels and washcloths, and a hairdrier.

A few other thoughtful touches include a full length mirror, and soft spotlights over the toilet and over the front door when you turn out all the lights at night, so that key points in the room are not in total darkness. Not that you ever are in total darkness; there's an ipod docking station/clock on one table that is quite bright. If you require total darkness in which to sleep, I'd recommend bringing a sleep mask because otherwise, this will probably bother you.

The overall decor in the room and indeed the whole hotel is beautiful and thoughtful.

The staff were all genuinely helpful and friendly.

We ate breakfast several times at the attached restaurant, Phi, and liked it a lot. We always had the buffet, never tried anything else. Delicious pastries, a variety of cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, cereals, and juices were on the buffet. We'd have an Americano coffee and be good to go for a long time afterward.

Next to the hotel on the street are quite a few mini market shops, so you can get food and snacks and the daily paper there; there are also many restaurants and pubs on that street and all over the area. You won't be lacking for choice of places to eat or get a drink. And of course with the Tube and buses right there, you can go anywhere else in the city you want. It was nice to be able to come back there and rest after being out all day before heading back out again.

Hyde Park is an easy walk away and I'd highly recommend going there too.

I absolutely loved staying at the Hotel Indigo London-Paddington! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    433
    91
    26
    10
See reviews for
106
536
222
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

...prepay in advance and the breakfast is included. It's worth it!!!
The rooms were small but very trendy, bright...clean...We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Ideal central location in London. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was bright,clean, and very comfortable. We went to most major attractions and 2 musicals, all were short tube journeys from this ideal location. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and a 1 minute walk to the Heathrow express!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Though the room is small, I was charmed by the use of sound, rich colours and texture. The location is 1min away from Paddington Station and next to amentities and restaurants.

I would like to say a big thank you to Antonio who very kindly and patiently arranged for dot2dot airport transport for me while I shopped.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed at Indigo for two nights, a sort of mid-week break, and loved the place. The price was right (£85.00 per night in advance) although i think it will go up in price later on in the year. Checking in was just so easy as was checking out, and fast and friendly too. Room was big enough for two, bed was most comfortable and the TV was very nice. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was first class with the extras being very nice. The towel rack warmer is very simlpe to use if needed. And how quiet the room actually was... that's a nice surprise too. Did not have breakfast or dinner so can not comment on the quality of food served.

Location is very reachable from anywhere. Never caught a bus but they are a plenty. As already mentioned it's so close to Paddington mainline station for the Heathrow Express. Paddington Underground station just around the corner and a few more minutes walk in the opposite direction is Lancaster Gate Underground station for the Central Line, ideal for Covent Garden/Theatreland district. Some great places to drink and eat also around the area. Hyde Park is also a nice little stroll away. Took a pleasant walk to Portabello Rd along Bayswater. Go early enough (if the weather is good) and beat the crowds.

I'd book in again but not all the time when in London, it's good to get a feeling for other locations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed here one night for £211.60 GBP. This included dinner and breakfast. The breakfast was ok, nothing spectactular. Simply since there is not much choice. This is basically the only let down. Dinner is great at the hotel, delicious, nice choice and really very good food.

Check in was possible already at 10am. The reception is very small, so be aware in case you're in a rush upon check out.

The rooms are really nice, very clean, new, just spotless. Very nice and welcoming decoration, Indigo style. After staying in several hotels in London, I find this to be one of the nicest, cleanest and most intimate ones.

The location is great, 2 min. walk from Paddington. Easy to catch the Heathrow Express.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Everything you read about this great new place is right - warm welcome, great decor, all the technology works, and the external noise is minimal. The rooms are just fine - what would you do with any more space? What's more in no time you can be on the Tube to anywhere. Every eating option is available either within the hotel or very close by. This is a new departure in chain London hotels - I wish it every success!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your review on Hotel Indigo Paddington.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo London-Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Address: 16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#110 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London-Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon entering Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner Hotel Indigo London-Paddington you feel an immediate shift away from the hectic pace of business travel. Enjoy the quiet luxury and individuality of this chic, London boutique hotel moments from Paddington Station. Hotel Indigo London-Paddington benefits from the central Paddington location which is a tourist hub and a home to many business headquarters. This boutique hotel is adjacent to Paddington Station from where the Heathrow Express leaves every 15 minutes and takes the same time to reach the airport. Preferred equally by business executives and leisure guests, the Hotel Indigo London-Paddington is close to Oxford Street shops and Selfridge's, beautiful Hyde Park and Notting Hill areas. It is easy to reach the City, West End theatres or the famous galleries and museums from Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo London-Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.