We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Paddington hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London-Paddington to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #119 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent Paddington hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My parents had a brilliant experience in this hotel. It was spotless, gorgeously decorated, and the staff was helpful and friendly. You can tell that they take pride in the excellence of the hotel. The location is a stone's throw from Paddington, but on a cute street across from a grass and flower covered square. Lots of places to eat out, buy food, and one of the best pubs in London just at the end of the street. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Jen B,

We are over the moon that your parents enjoyed staying with us. We always try our utmost to maintain excellence and are delighted that we were able to deliver on your parents' stay. Thank you very much for your kind comments and your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    403
    85
    23
    9
See reviews for
94
502
214
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Indigo from 9 April to 12 April (4 nights) at the start of our honeymoon.

After 20+ hours flying from Australia, and feeling unwell when we arrived at the Hotel at 7:50am, you can imagine what a pleasant surprise it was to find that our room was ready. Thank you Hotel Indigo - this was very much appreciated by this weary traveller!!

Having read the reviews, I was aware that the room would be small and the bathroom even smaller, and it was. However, the bed was awesome (very comfortable) and the bathroom was more than adequate. There is very little space to hang clothes, but as we were just there for 4 nights we managed okay. The complimentary mini-bar (soft drinks only) and free wi-fi were also appreciated.

This Hotel is very well located - the City Sightseeing Hop-on Hop-off bus stops just across the road. We were also less than 200 metres from Paddington Tube station. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel so you will not go hungry.

The service from the front desk was superb - among the best we experienced on our honeymoon over 4 different countries. They gave us restaurant advise, booked our Madamme Tussauds Tickets and Hop On-off bus tickets, and were generally always helpful. I cannot remember all their names, but thank you all for your wonderful service.

So in summary - great location, great service, and though the room was small, it was cozy and comfortable - a great way to start our honeymoon and we will certainly be back. Cheers from Giovanni and Beatrice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Giovanni and Beatrice,

Firstly please let us congratulate you on being newlyweds! We are so delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the team was able to make sure you everything went as well as possible. We thank you so much for choosing us as your home from home in London and for your kind comments - the team all send their best wishes and please do come and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've always stayed around the Paddington area in London and had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Indigo in September 2012 on a business trip. My room, albeit a bit on the small size which is the norm for London, was well appointed with a very comfortable bed, desk and a decent sized bathroom with a fantastic shower which is a rarity in London!! Having a refrigerator in the room was also a nice surprise that was made even nicer by the provision of complimentary soft drinks and bottled water. Will definitely be back for another stay at the Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are so glad to hear your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
on your next stay please do let us know which soft drinks in particular you liked from our complementary mini bar in your room and we would be happy to tailor the contents to your favourites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very nice hotel just off Paddington. Excellent for one night between two flights out of Heathrow. Spent one night on business at the hotel in May 2013. Quiet room to the back of the hotel.

Upon checkin took forever because new staff was on hand. I believe in training, but would much rather be accomodated by staff who received training BEFORE they started with customers.

Entering the room, it was overheated & stuffy. Could not get the A/C below 21 Celsius, which is way too warm. Called reception and was advised that they would have "ask senior staff as to how that works". Ended opening the window & leaving it open while I went to dinner. After dinner, tried to call reception to schedule a wake-up call at 05:00 a.m. Was advised to use the TV to schedule the wake.up call. 30 seconds later, the duty manager called and apologized, having overheard the exchange.

Nice choice of watering holes and restaurants just outside the hotel.

Certainly beats the LHR hotels and is worth the Heathrow Express.

Room Tip: Get room to the courtyard as street quite busy and lined with pubs and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Greyrock,

We would like to thank you for your review. While you mentioned our convenient location to be positive, I would like to apologize that your experience with the level of staff service did not meet your expectations. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the services that we offer.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just only 2 min walk from Paddington station, where you can go with slope all the way out. Though pretty close to the station, you can enjoy quiet circumstance in the hotel room. Bed is what you need to climb up not to what you can fall down.All such as room space, bathroom, is standard business hotel. What I think they need to improve is three is no space in front of reception area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the extremely convenient location of the hotel and hope to see you again in Paddington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on April 21, 2013. We had a standard king bedroom. Our room was ready upon arrival. During check in we were greeted with a dish of fresh chocolate dipped strawberries. A nice touch and Delicious! We were escorted to our room and the main features of the hotel explained. In the room I was happy to see spacious surroundings that were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large with a very nice rainfall shower that was large enough for 2 people at once. Toiletries were upscale and towels plentiful, soft and fluffy. In the bedroom two windows opened slightly (about 2 inches) to let in fresh air, which I like. We were facing the main street, so there was some street noise that ended if you closed the windows. The minibar had 4 bottles of water, several cans of soft drinks and a small bottle of red and white wine. All items in the mini bar were complimentary. MUCH APPRECIATED!! The closet was largely filled with an ironing board, which could be a problem for a longer stay. we were only there for one night, so no problem. There was free TV and WIFI internet. Lighting was good with lots of options so that you could have a brightly lit room or more subdued lighting if you so desired.

In the morning, we checked to see if our room included breakfast or not. Unfortunately, our rate did not include breakfast, which looked quite good. we opted to bring a coffee and pastry each back to our room. Upon checkout we discovered that our light breakfast had been provided by the staff free of charge!! Again, very nicely done! Finally, as we checked out we had offers to help bring our bags to Paddington train station! Seriously! we were quite impressed by the helpful, kind staff at this comfortable and inviting hotel. I would recommend it to anyone. It was literally next dooe to the Paddington tube and the paddington train station where the Heathrow express train leaves to bring you to heathrow (in only 15 minutes)

A brilliant stay!! All this for only 200 GBP per night, which I thought was extremely reasonable for the quality of accommodations and superior service. we were very happy!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if a little street noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear NewfoundlandDorie,

We are so happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we were able to make your trip enjoyable! Having satisfied guests is what make our jobs worthwhile - and reading your comments has been so lovely for all the team. We do hope to be able to see you back at the hotel soon, and would like to extend our thanks for your great feedback.

With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Indigo in order to be near Paddington Station for a trip to Reading. Its a fairly touristy area with steak house restaurants etc nearby but we would recommend the Italian restaurant a few doors from the hotel. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from Paddington Station and tube but overlooks a small square with gardens. Its decorated in modern style and is very clean, but rooms are compact, with a good shower but no bath and limited wardrobe space. Staff were friendly but our main issue was the rigid closure of the bar. Whilst we were served drinks after a night out, lights were dimmed, tables were cleared and even residents trying to get a drink were pretty much ignored once it was after 11pm. Its a small boutique style hotel and probably has insufficient custom to keep the bar open later, but it made us feel we were expected to go to bed whether we wished to or not. As a business traveller the hotel would have been ideal but for a relaxing weekend break it could have been better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mackem1,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to know you found our rooms commendable. However, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay as we always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced caused by the schedule of the bar. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London-Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Address: 16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#111 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London-Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon entering Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner Hotel Indigo London-Paddington you feel an immediate shift away from the hectic pace of business travel. Enjoy the quiet luxury and individuality of this chic, London boutique hotel moments from Paddington Station. Hotel Indigo London-Paddington benefits from the central Paddington location which is a tourist hub and a home to many business headquarters. This boutique hotel is adjacent to Paddington Station from where the Heathrow Express leaves every 15 minutes and takes the same time to reach the airport. Preferred equally by business executives and leisure guests, the Hotel Indigo London-Paddington is close to Oxford Street shops and Selfridge's, beautiful Hyde Park and Notting Hill areas. It is easy to reach the City, West End theatres or the famous galleries and museums from Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo London-Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.