We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location,location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo London-Paddington to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #118 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dongguan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location,location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one very good hotel. Situated only 4 minutes from Paddington station and the airport express train, heathrow to central london in 15 minutes. Staff very helpfull and the room whilst small was more than enough room. Breakfast was excellent. I stayed in room 414 and can reccomend the queen rooms. The free Internet and the free soft drinks in the minibar. I can honestly say that I would 100% reccomend a stay here. In fact I stayed again 3 days later after a trip to wales.

Room Tip: Queen or king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and the service provided. Many thanks indeed for complimenting our services and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    416
    87
    26
    10
See reviews for
101
519
217
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel alone for 5 nights in October.
The day staff, especially Tamara, were exceptional. She even took the time to walk me to a destination in the area-several blocks away.
The evening staff is somewhat less knowledgeable and not as friendly.
The room was tiny- like a matchbox. It could not possible accomodate 2 people comfortably.
While it is mostly well designed and includes many ameneties- it is somewhat uber designed.
For example, I did not find the small fridge with complimentary soft drinks until 3 days after my arrival.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our day staff It is a pleasure to receive feedbacks like yours, I was however sorry that the evening staff could not achieve the same standard for you and I have passed all of your comments onto the team inorder to help improve service standards. I must apologise that you felt your room to be small, as a converted townhouse we do not have standardised room sizes but would recommend that if space is an issue to book one of our executive rooms that you may feel more suitable. This being said I do hope that you will still come and stay eith us and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My first time to stay at Indigo and being part of IHG I had high expectations. Location is great being so close to Paddington, check in was pleasant enough. As ambasador for IHG I should get some benefits like room upgrade etc but was told no rooms available. I later checked on line and there was so this did not give me a possitive feeling! No other benefits were offered either.
Was allocated room 105 which had an extractor directly outside the window and so the noise was quite noticeable in the room constantly - so requested a change. All rooms arre small (saw 4 in total) they have a 3/4 bed due to this but the bed was very comfortable.
Rooms despite being small are well appointed and so overall I enjoyed my stay but left feeling perhaps I should have used another IHG hotel, having said that I would stay here again but would probably choose the larger double exec rooms and request one in advance that does not have extraction fans outside the window!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments; we really appreciate all feedback that our guests have to offer. Please accept our apologies for the poor impression that was created, let me assure you that this is not the norm and I will ensure that all of my team are briefed much more thoroughly in order a clearer understanding of the ambassador benefits that you were entitled too to make sure that you never experience this again. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again so that you can experience the best from Hotel Indigo and I will look forward to welcoming you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travel extensively and split my time in London equally between Paddington, Gloucester Rd, and Victoria. This was my first stay at Indigo and I quite liked it. It was a bit pricey, but not out of line with any other similar hotels. The location was convenient (5 minute walk from Paddington Station). Room was large and extremely comfortable for a London stay. Bed was fantastic. Everything was very modern and spotless. Linens were luxurious. The wireless was included and very quick. Modern speakerphone in room (luxury for business traveler). Very nice small outdoor deck. Small but efficient gym. Outdoor noise could be heard very clearly from my room (was in 101) which was bit annoying, but I could live with it. Next time I will request room on other side. You could hear the hallway noise fairly well, but the downstairs was completely quiet. Checkin and checkout were maybe the only areas that could be improved, as counter area is perhaps a bit awkward and both check-in and check-out were a bit understaffed. That said, super friendly staff. I would definitely recommend and will definitely stay again when in Paddington.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite street and above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share experience with us. I was sorry to hear that you felt your check in and out experience wasn’t as you expected it to be we will definitely take your feedback on board and do our best to increase the staff to provide a quicker service. That said I was pleased to hear that you found the location to be convenient, being so close to Paddington Station it does allow for easy connections to the City. Thank you as well for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will ensure that your comments are passed on to them.
We really hope that this will be the first time of many future stays at Hotel Indigo and look forward to welcoming you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Indigo twice - in November 2011 and September 2012. On both occasions I enjoyed it thoroughly. It's genuinely a boutique hotel - smart, quiet, different, with a very informal, relaxed atmosphere yet careful attention to every detail. The rooms are on the small side, but very cleverly designed and have everything you need, including a pampering shower, free wi-fi and complimentary soft drinks, which is a very nice touch. The retro-jazzy design is a bit bold (some would say loud), but I liked it much better than the bland decor of so many hotels. Very clean and comfortable. Service is great and so is breakfast. Not cheap, but good value for London. At the moment, my most favourite hotel in London!

Room Tip: Take an executive room if you can afford it - the standard rooms can be really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony H, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very kind comments.
Thank you also for your appreciation of our hotel design, Hotel Indigo strives to be different than other Hotels and so we were pleased to hear that you liked it. Thanks as well for your feedback about service, we always endeavour to provide memorable moments for our guests and we are delighted that we did that for you. I do hope that you will be returning to us soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I travel quite often for business and was so discouraged with my experiences at a much more expensive major chain hotel around the corner from the Indigo Hotel that I asked around to see if anyone in my company had a recommendation. Several people told me that they'd had a good experience at the Indigo Hotel, so I read the reviews and booked the hotel.

I'm so glad I did.

Staying at the Indigo changed the way I experience London! The staff at the front desk were some of the nicest I've encountered anywhere. When we checked in, they told us that none of the larger rooms were available that night, but that one was opening up the following day. The next morning they called and asked about a convenient time to move us. All of this without being asked or prompted. With every interaction, the staff went the extra mile and were always helpful, professional and friendly.

The rooms and beds are on the smaller side (this is London), but the layout is efficient, ensuring that everything you need is conveniently accessible. The colorful decor is cheering at the end of a long, rainy day. The hotel is about a 1/2 block away from Paddington train station and the Tube and surrounded by restaurants and grocery stores It is also only a short walk from both Hyde Park and shopping on Oxford street.

If you're looking for a centrally-located, friendly hotel, I would recommend that you check out Hotel Indigo. I know that I will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel Indigo Paddington in the near future.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo London-Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Address: 16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#103 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London-Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon entering Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner Hotel Indigo London-Paddington you feel an immediate shift away from the hectic pace of business travel. Enjoy the quiet luxury and individuality of this chic, London boutique hotel moments from Paddington Station. Hotel Indigo London-Paddington benefits from the central Paddington location which is a tourist hub and a home to many business headquarters. This boutique hotel is adjacent to Paddington Station from where the Heathrow Express leaves every 15 minutes and takes the same time to reach the airport. Preferred equally by business executives and leisure guests, the Hotel Indigo London-Paddington is close to Oxford Street shops and Selfridge's, beautiful Hyde Park and Notting Hill areas. It is easy to reach the City, West End theatres or the famous galleries and museums from Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo London-Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.