We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Asian Tandoori Centre

New Asian Tandoori Centre
116-117 The Green, Southall, London, England
02085742597
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,090 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really good value (for London) and a fast efficient service. The noodles are cooked just right. Generous portions and friendly staff. Atmosphere isn't too great but the food is. Very friendly staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    7
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We seem to end up here at least once a month when we go for a shopping trip to Southall. the food here is always good and tastes like home cooking, Our favorites are usually sarson ka sag and maki roti, especially the maki roti stuffed with methi leaves. Recently I have been trying out their tandoori lamb chops and these are cooked to perfection, tender and juicy on the inside and crisp on the outside. This place will not burn a hole in your pocket either, very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pukka Panjabi Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place is something of an institution and has been going since the early 1970's. You are guaranteed authentic panjabi food - either in the restaurant or from the Deli/Takeaway. Almost everything is delicious: from the sizzling kebabs to the wide variety of meat and vegetarian mains to the desserts (rasmalai recomended); Kingfisher lager is on tap. We have never had a problem with the service but it can occasionally be slow when they are very busy (the place can be packed even on weeknights).

Something to keep in mind is that credit cards are not accepted; however, this place is excellent value so your cash will go far!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the food but not the atmosphere or service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We wanted to try authentic Punjabi food and found this restaurant in Southall. We were directed to a table. But the tables here are like canteen tables - joined together so sat with other people but they left. There are no frills here i.e. no table cloths, place settings etc. Once we got a waiter to come over, food arrived fairly quickly - and they were large portions. When we declined dessert, we waited to get our bill but ended up going to the food area to pay. Unfortunately they only accept cash! This should be made clear before you are sat down at the tables. I had to go to a cash point and get the cash.
Overall, it is an experience, as the clientele is all local from mainly Punjabi origins, so you are sure you are getting a genuine experience. You do have to give it a go - but not for a romantic meal. On the Friday night - there were large families there with children and it was very noisy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casual Indian dining done very very...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010 via mobile

Casual Indian dining done very very well.
Always part of any journey to this part of town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Asian Tandoori Centre also viewed

 
Southall, Middlesex
London, England
 

Been to New Asian Tandoori Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Asian Tandoori Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.