We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is located in the suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel
Save
You added Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel to your Saves list
147 Whipps Cross Road | Leytonstone, London E11 1NP, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #577 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The hotel is located in the suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the suburbs. I was there with friends for one night, managed to find it without much trouble, the neighborhood is very quiet here. There is a brilliant atmosphere, you can feel that he is in England. The room was clean, fairly well equipped and staff courteous and helpful. Overall, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, General Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are happy that you had a good time. Thank you and we will be glad to see you again.

Sofia Mitrofan
Hitchcock Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    7
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
24
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in mid Feb 2013 and were very impressed by the hotel, the service and value for money. The room was clean with fresh towels and bed linin. It was comfortable and only slight distraction was a little bit of noise from road. Perhaps ask for room at the back. Breakfast exceeded our expectations, freshly cooked full English with self serve coffee, tea and toast. We are familiar with the area having lived here before but would recommend this for people coming from further afield looking for a good value place to stay in London. Central London is easily accessible via central line (Leytonstone) or Victoria line (Walthamstow) just a short bus journey away from outside hotel (257 bus to walthamstow). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, General Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.

Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Seriously for £49.99 for a Saturday night, this place quite simply is a hidden gem, with bags of potential. Everything is right about this place, the location, the service, the staff, the value for money. Cannot find fault in any aspect, if your looking for somewhere to stay around this area look no further, you won't be disappointed. Hat's off to the management and staff who clearly know how to run a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for consider us a good hotel. This means a lot to us and we want to assure you our gratitude. We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in room 25 for 4 days whilst on a business trip. The quality of the furniture was 1980's black ash. The bed was too big for the room and set in a tired wood frame which meant I was constantly banging my shins to manoeuvre around the room. No wardrobe or drawers. The only hanging space was a rail fixed to the wall. This meant your clothes were in effect hanging next to the bed making it impossible to utilise that side of the bed. The duvet was so thin I actually checked the duvet cover as I thought they'd forgotten to incorporate it.

The bathroom looked lovely. Ultra modern and in contrast to the bedroom was spacious. Boy, was it cold. Absolutely NO heating in there and it had a tiled floor. I didn't need an alarm clock in the morning as the kitchen extractors, which were outside the window were started at 7am.

The saving grace of this hotel were the staff. When I requested a blanket i was provided with a warm quilt and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
First of all we want to say that we are very appreciated because we still conserve the old British style in our hotel. We feel sorry that we can't offer you what you can find nowadays in the modern hotels. You are also the first person which has a complaint about the bed being to big. We try every day to give to our customers the full comfort but sometimes is very hard for us to read minds. Regarding the noise at 7am is very normal for London; we know that is very hard for some customers who live in the country side to find the same quiet environment. If 49 pounds per night per room b&b for a double is "overpriced" for London than is hard to believe that you will find a cheaper option.

All the best,
Sofia Mitrofan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been staying in this Hotel for about 3 months as it is close to my place of work; I have always enjoyed a clean and comfortable room with all the usual amenities in it. The beds have always been very comfortable and the bathrooms very clean. I have had the opportunity to meet the owner and the superb team of ladies who run it; they are all a good example of what good customer service is all about. Breakfast is always very good with plenty of choice; Dinner in the evening is a pleasure; you will be looked after by the lovely lady in charge with plenty of conversation and nice music.
Overall a Great Hotel !

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
It was a pleasure for us to look after you. On behalf of my staff I want to say thank you very much and we hope to hear from you soon. It is nice to be appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

my fiancee and myself stay here quite regularly .
overall a great place the new owners have paid a lot of attention to detail .
food is excellent and great value for money .
the bar is olddie worldy they have just introduced five or six draught beers .
hotel accommodation has all the things you need .Right opposite epping forest great for a summer's day doing absolutely nothing mm

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Every day we try to understand our customer's requirements in order to make them happy. When we see such appreciation we are more motivated than ever to do things better. Thank you for being customer and friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent a good time in Hitchcock Hotel. It's a really friendly place. I enjoyed this typical British atmosphere with very nice food. The Hotel is quite and clean with a very competitive price.
It is located in front of a big park with a lake. It is quite nice. There is also a car park in the hotel.

In my opinion, it's definitely a place to go in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leo M, Manager at Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
To say that '' Hitchcock '' is like a home for you it's very impressive for us. Thank you very much for consider us a '' family ''.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel

Address: 147 Whipps Cross Road | Leytonstone, London E11 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Alfred Hitchcock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.