We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel
36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #931 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the Continental Hotel for two nights. The area is great near paddington underground and railway station. Just few minutes walk where you can go shopping. The staff was friendly. The wifi good but the room no towel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    208
    79
    89
    240
See reviews for
139
143
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Questionable hygiene, no toilet in any of the three rooms we stayed at (even though we were promised there would be), too cold, no towels. On the last two days they kept "testing" the fire alarm late at night and early in the morning, which was very annoying. However, the staff was relatively friendly, the wifi worked arguably well, and the location of the hotel is quite good.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in the continental hotel for 2 nights in June. The building is old like all buildings in Norfolk Square, the hotel is situated infront of a greenery, it is so beautiful - the area is great, just few minutes walk from oxford street where you can go for shopping or Hyde park for a walk. The reception is open 24 hours and the staff are friendly. The room was good size and clean, as well as the communal bathroom. We arrived early the first day so we were able to leave our luggage in the reception until check in time which is great - you can also leave your luggage for few hours when checking out. It is a friendly, safe and nice place to stay - we would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The continental hotel is situated in a quiet square in paddington near paddington underground and railway station. The rooms are basic but clean, the beds are almost new and comfortable and the staff is friendly and courteous. The breakfast which is included in the price is continental, toast, butter, jam/marmalade, cornflakes, tea/coffee, you can eat as much as you like. We had a good experience and felt safe so we will come back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in London recently and stayed at the continental hotel after a friend recomended it to us. It is located in an excellent area in paddington very close to all ammenities within walking distance. In front of the hotel there is a beautiful garden which is open to the public. Our room had a view of the garden. It was a triple room, it was clean, it had a double bed and a single bed very comfortable, all linen clean. We found the staff very helpful and friendly and keen to give us directions. We had breakfast also which was basic but decent.
We had a good experience and so we will recomended to others and would come back. There are many cafes nearby and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Do not go to the Continental Hotel. It was filthy, the staff were rude, you had to pay for towels but only hand towels were available, despite the June sunshine the radiator was stuck on 'on', the shared bathroom didn't have a sink, and the breakfast which was included consisted only of toast and butter. Although cheap, this place was grim.
When I complained at reception the manager shrugged his shoulders and pointed to a sign explaining that it is a budget hotel so you shouldn't expect much. However, I would always expect cleanliness and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: There's no lift, so lower floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had to be in London with my girfriend for 3 nights and stayed in the continental hotel. when we arrived there were other people checking in at the same time, the recetionist was quite quick and efficient, he told us the breakfast time and gave us directions to the room. Our room was a double en-suite on the fourth floor, which we did not mind - it was clean and tidy, as well as the bedding. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The staff were friendly and warm people. We did not expect any luxuries for the money we paid, it is actually one of the cheapest in that street as we compared prices. Now we have a place to come back to when we come to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #931 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel London
The Continental Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.