We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap in all understandings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel
36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #872 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Borås
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap in all understandings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After visiting a lot of this type of London hotels I must say that this is one of three properties I will not return to.
The prepayed price for three nights were great, the staff were also very nice and tried to help us quickly in most cases, And we needed that!
Firstly, bathroom. Ok it´s small, no problem. We couldn´t flush the toilet properly. It just didn´t work. It leaked from the backside, which we told the staff in the morning, and it was ok when we came back in the afternoon.But we rarely after having tried a lot of times could get rid of the things in the loo...
You´ve heard of cheap hotels showers not having enough hot water? I didn´t think it was like that anymore, but here´s an example. Actually, the water in the hot water tap sometimes disapperared totally. Although the third morning there wasn´t any problem at all, so it comes and goes.

I don´t mind if the room is ugly and not nice decorated, but I mind the mould in the wardrobe. The door to our room was skew, so it had half an inch opening at the bottom. But we had a lovely wiev over the green Norfolk Square, the TV worked, we did bring our own towels, and we got seats for breakfast nearly immediately every morning. Also, the location is very good, as the staff and the bed linen was clean. No problem to leave your luggage for a few hours after check out.

Room Tip: Consider how important for you it is to flush the toilet or take a shower with hot water in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    253
    82
    90
    253
See reviews for
155
158
64
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went here without great expectations (given the price and previous feedback). The beds were clean, rooms very basic, and the hotel is very well located (couple of minutes from Paddington Tube Station). The breakfast was also basic - cereal, toast etc, but adequate. The hotel could be doing with modernisation, or at least freshening up with new carpets, curtains etc. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were five friends from university from France and we stayed at this hotel for 6 days. The room that was allocated to us was very spacious, high ceiling, very clean , facing the square. The bathroom was also very clean and the bedrooms very comfortable.All the bedding were also clean. We found the staff very friendly and we had great time there. In the morning we had breakfast which kept us full until lunchtime. We recomended already to other friend in our university and we will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Room was clean, The hotel is located near to the subway. Easy access to bus stations as well as tube stations to any other destinations in London. Breakfast is very basic, coffee, toast and jam... But serves the purpose. You can bring your own soft drinks, juices, sandwiches,...etc. Our room had a large window and lots of natural light which was great... We can't open the window for fresh air - I didn't like this.
Conclusion - good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to London for shopping over the weekend and stayed at the continental hotel. We looked at their web page if we could book online but they didn't have this facility only by e-mail or by phone, so we phoned the reception and booked a double room. Upon arrival we were greated with a smile, the receptionist asked us to register, pay for the room and he gave us the key to our room which was on the first floor with a balcony and view of the square. It was really nice room and clean, the bathroom was on the stairway and was always clean. The price also included breakfast which was good. The location is excellent. We will book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a quad room with private shower and toilet at the continental hotel and stayed three nights. The room was very good size, spacious, clean, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was small but clean. The room had a view in the beautiful square, it was so nice at night to hear the birds singing. In the morning we had breakfast which was toast, marmalade, jam, butter , cornflakes, tea/coffee, it was good. The staff were friendly and polite.We really had lovely time in the continental hotel and we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in a hostel for a couple of nights where I had to share the room with other 5 strangers paying £23 per night when accidentally I picked a newspaper and found an advert for the continental hotel. I call them and booked a single basic room for 4 nights the difference of the price was just couple of pounds and you had your own clean room, you had privacy and continental breakfast was included in the price which was decent. The shower and toilet in the corridor which I was using was clean all the time as well as all communal areas. The staff was friendly and helpful each time I needed something. I do recommend the continental hotel as clean and good value for money. I will definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel

Address: 36-42 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Budget Places so you can book your The Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel London
The Continental Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.