We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Paul's YHA . Don't go there.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of YHA London St Pauls

Save Saved
You added YHA London St Pauls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 624 Specialty Lodging in London
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“St Paul's YHA . Don't go there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Dirty bathrooms, no toilet paper, and terribly uncomfortable beds. Under staffed. Stayed in much better hostels while we were in London. Not a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    113
    68
    22
    6
See reviews for
43
18
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Really good hostel experience! It's very cheap and the location is really good - nearby you can find St Pauls Cathedral, an information office and the millennium bridge. You can pick buses almost everywhere and there's a subway entrance superclose to the hostel, right in front of the cathedral. There are a lot of restaurants nearby and if you prefer to buy food at a supermarket, you've got Salisbury and Marks n Spencer really close. (tip: wait to buy your dinner till salisbury is about to close, at 11pm, 'cos they'll lower their prices like crazy - i bought a bag of quality food for about 4 pounds!).
Regarding the hostel, it was nice and clean. However, the rooms were very small - i didn't mind that 'cos i was travelling with friends, but anyway sometimes it was hard to walk around. The beds are kind of... one on top of each other! but they are comfy, i slept really well and heard no noises from the street or other rooms. There are small but very deep lockers where you can put all your things - but bring your own padlock. The bathrooms are clean but shared (the rooms only have a sink and a mirror). That means that you have to walk around a bit to have a shower or go to the toilet, 'cos sometimes the closest ones to your room are occupied. That can be a bit annoying...
The hostel offers breakfast for 5 pounds - i took it a couple of days and it's worth it, varied and tasty. There was a bad thing: the stairs. I stayed at the second floor and the stairway was kinda old and steep, I kept on tripping and got very tired every time I had to go up!
To sum up, it's a very nice hostel if you're not looking for luxuries and you're going to spend all the day outside (as we did).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

in a good spot. we had a private double room (shared bathroom). room was small, upstairs and the other end of the building. laundry was ok. the service staff were good and bad - some very helpful, others could not tell us where the closest Doctor's Surgery was (all they knew of was the hospital - we weren't that sick!). they sell discounted tickets for local attractions. breakfast buffett is ok, but there are other options nearby (same for dinner).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights and once there were told that we would have to change roo. Every night and leave our luggage at the storage room (2 to 3pounds per bag) during the day, at our cost. the first room we were shown to stay in stunk of cigarette, was disgusting with no heating, a broken chair, a broken window and bad stains on the carpet.we finally stayed in another room and after speaking to 3 ppl that night plus re explaining that we wanted a room for the remaning 2 nights to another person (quite unpleasant), we finally managed to get one room for the remaining 2 nights. it has been a real hassle, the staff quite dismissive about it all. No help at all in regards to YHA discounts to local attractions "just look it up onthe internet". So terrible staff, aweful service, bathrooms approximatively clean, and very worn out rooms (the beds are layered as bunk beds but with a third bed in between the 2 usual beds of a bunk bed, so if you re clostrophobic or uncomfortable sleeping in tight places, don t go) location is great though.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Location, Location, Location.
One min walk from St Pauls, 2m fromthe tube station
Stayed on a single room for £25 per night. The room had a TV and a sink. The sheets were clean and the place warm.
The place shows its age and urgently needs a refurb.
Good breakfast for £4.50.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011 via mobile

Great location. We had a private family room with ensuite for £45 on a bank holiday. The furniture & fittings were clean and of high quality, although old. Please bear in mind that this hostel has no self-catering, so no access to a fridge or kettle, but the 24 hour reception bar served snacks & hot drinks. Our breakfast in the cafe was tremendous!
If you are a light sleeper, take some earplugs as St Pauls chimes loudly every quarter of an hour!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is the cheapest of the YHAs in London, though still in a great location just one street behind St Paul's Cathedral. The YHA occupies a former dormitory complex and has a rather wonderful exterior. Indoors, it all goes to hell. Whilst its well-maintained, There's rarely a comfortable spot in the whole place. Public areas downstairs are confused. A popular music station is piped through all public areas, whether that's the quiet lounge or the TV lounge - you're still gonna get the radio blaring over it all. Someone in charge there isn't thinking very hard.

I stayed in 5-bed dorm facing Carter Street. The bunk beds were built by someone who never thought of trying them out. Very awkward perpendicular arrangements (3-level bunks sometimes) with the most horrendously inappropriate "ladders" to reach upper bunks. I can't speak for other room types. There is a sink and mirror in the dorms and so individual WCs and Showers can be found throughout the hallways. Bearing in mind the very low cost of the hostel and the higher standard of maintenance, it is still great value for money.

Location is also a great point to note. You're adjacent to St Paul's Cathedral and tube station on the central line and it's an easy stroll west into town, east to the Tower Bridge area and south a few yards to the Thames.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 624 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
YHA London St Pauls England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA London St Pauls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.