We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Ethiopia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant

Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant
45 Roman Way (minutes from Caledonian Tube), London N7 8XF, England
020 7609 9832
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #300 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Taste of Ethiopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate to have spent several months in Ethiopia many years ago and loved not only the food but the communal method of eating. I was pleased to see such a highly rated restaurant in London and I am very pleased we tried it. The owner/ waitress was very pleasant and helpful in picking dishes and we enjoyed them all. The Doro wot was thick and very spicy and delicious, and my only comment is that given the lack of utensils it would be easier to eat if the chicken was deboned. The injera was good but not made with Tef. The spicy beef dish was good as were the veggie dishes. I particularly liked the split yellow peas which were a nice mild compliment to the main dishes. We had mint tea which was lovely. We didn't try dessert as we were very full. Lovely meal and brought back good memories of Ethiopia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    44
    11
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting food, friendly welcome, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small restaurant, tucked away behind Pentonville Prison, is definitely worth seeking out. For me it was a first (but I hope not last) taste of Ethiopian cuisine, and I found it extremely enjoyable - for £16 pounds ahead we had enough food to keep us very nicely full, with an Ethiopian beer to drink.

Served communally, and eaten by tearing the unleavened bred into little 'parcels' one fill with meat or vegetables (these were particularly nice), eating is an enjoyable and eating experience.

Kokeb is a small restaurant (6 tables, I think), and clearly the lovely and welcoming owner has a lot to do to serve and (I think) cook as well - so this isn't the place to go for fast food. But if you want to try something different in north London, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Yummo! Very accomodating for my friend to practice his language skills. Order what she tells you to and it will be worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like being invited to an exotic dinner at your posh relative's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There are several choices in London for Ethiopian, and I've just had the best. The food is excellent; you can taste the care, subtlety, effort and quality whatever you order. I had the vegetarian combination and couldn't decide which dish I liked better. The dining space is very well-lit, nicely decorated and comfortable. Above all, the service is wonderful; a very hospitable if not familial atmosphere. I cannot recommend Kokeb enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited with a group of colleagues after reading the excellent reviews on here. None of us having eaten Ethiopian food before, we were a bit unsure what to order so decided on the Kokeb House Special priced at £14 each. We were served a delicious selection of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes accompanied by injera (Ethiopian flatbread). It was also good to sample Ethiopian lager and bitter and everything is very reasonably priced. I would probably go every night if I was a local! Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokeb Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.