We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viking Hotel to your Saves list
Viking Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #591 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“its okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work but paid £100. 10 mins walk from Stratford Town Centre so location is good. Hotel is modern but they also have an older building adjoining which I was in, room 801. Hotel reception was clean, staff friendly and effecient. Hotel room clearly refurbished fairly recently. Bed clean, no remote control for the tv, presume stolen or dont trust you. Bathroom, modern fixtures but usual mould around the shower sealant. Toilet had been cleaned but not all remains of last occupant removed. Nice touch! Breakfast was however as bad as previous reviewers. Cheap white bread for toast, heavily processed meat and cheese - not appetising. Orange juice looked like it was radioactive. Coffee was ok. Not sure what the 6 or so eastern european staff where supposed to be doing but they didnt do a lot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    119
    88
    29
    13
See reviews for
70
100
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 25 minutes from Stratford train station. The facilities are 2 stars which are old, but the room is really clean.
There is no grocery store in the hotel, but the hotel recommend everyone to buy stuffs at the sainsbury local instead. (2 minutes walk from the hotel.) Overall, this hotel provides a very good value. 60 GBP per night for twin room. I should have enjoyed my stay more if my passport was not stolen on while I was riding on a bus No. 25 which stops in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Me and my parents stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a standard triple room. Before we went inside the building seemed like all the other houses in London, but when we got inside the lift, we were definitely convinced that it really is a clean and modern hotel. Our room was pretty big and we had enough space to get around it without bumping into each other. The thing that was really surprising was that we could not hear nearly any traffic noise from our room. It was quite hot in London, so we needed the fan in the room. However, there was no fridge to keep our drinks cool. It was really clean, especially the bathroom, and they had extremely good service. For example, when we told that we had to check out at 10.30 am, we told the man that our flight was in the evening, so he told us that we could leave our luggages at the reception. Just before we went to London, we read online at tripadvisor that their breakfast was really simple, however we experienced that it was really good and enough for us. You can choose between apple juice, orange juice, water, cocoa, tea, coffee and milk for beverage. You can pick between three or four different types of yoghurts, cereals and jams. You also get egg, butter, bread, cheese and ham. However, you don't get any cucumers, tomatoes or other vegetables like that. The hotel is not only good inside, but it's also well located. You have Westfield Shopping mall (which is one of the largest shopping malls in Europe!) and supermarkets like Sainsbury's Local and Iceland really close to the hotel. You can for example take the 25 no. bus which goes directly to Oxford circus right in front of the hotel, and you can also take no. 86 if you wish to go to Westfield shopping mall. All in all, I think that the hotel should be upgraded to minimum 3-star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice; once for 7 nights and the other time for 5 nights. It is very good budget hotel with very basic breakfast, friendly stuff, clean room and is close to main station Stratford. The bus station is right in front of hotel and it takes you to the main underground station. Reception is 24/7 which is good because we came to London around midnight. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

While working in london my company booked us into The Viking, You walk in and think omg no it looks like a cross between butlins and a leiure centre but the staff were very freindly, the room i had was on the outside it was very clean very well fitted out with lush shower and a fan!!

Would happy stsy here for either business or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not the cheapest in the area but certainly felt like it. There was no fridge even though theres a cubboard for it so i used the scaffolding outside (as it was cold) as my fridge!
Reception was not the best and i couldnt believe i had to pay 7 pounds for wifi...
Wont come here again and think theres much better hotels!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is handy for Stratford, Westfield and the Olypic site. It is modern, nicely maintained and with on site locked free parking is difficult to beat. The reception staff are very accomodating and the continental breakfast good but it was irratating that the half dozen breakfast staff with little to do just stand in the way gossiping.

The rooms were hot during our stay as there is no air con (although the the outside tempature was 30 degrees and humidity which only happens occasionally in this country). The fan helps but iin a heat wave you might want to look elsewhere or pick the lowest rooms.

Room Tip: Go low and at the back as the front faces the Romford Road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #591 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.