We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foyer At Claridge's

The Foyer At Claridge's
Brook Street | Mayfair, London W1K4HR, England (Mayfair)
+44 (0)20 7107 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it’s the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.Executive Chef Martyn Nail’s modern British menu is fresh, seasonal, extensive and yet refreshingly simple, using locally sourced seasonal produce.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great for a special occasion and a fantastic. Selection of cakes and sandwiches and as you would expect first rate service and for that it is great value.

Recommend it as a treat for couples or for the family and a good location to go on and explore the rest of London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear "huddy78",

Thank you for your positive review about your recent Afternoon Tea with us.Perhaps nex time you could join us for lunch or dinner: we serve a wonderful Menu Du Jour, priced at £35 for lunch and £45 for dinner for three courses: we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    115
    36
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A touch of elegance ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My friends and I like to treat ourselves every now and again and we thought why not as we had heard such fantastic reviews. We were massively impressed the afternoon tea was to die for one of the best I have ever had - and between us all we have had a lot! The service was out of this world nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel really comfortable. We will be most certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear "Plantladymay",

What a fantastic review! I was delighted to hear you describe our Afternoon Tea as 'out of this world', we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special treat must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited Claridge's for tea today for the first time for our parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary and took our two children too (ages 9 and 6 six years old). We had a fantastic experience. The food was out of this world and the kids tea was truly amazing too, so visual, tiny sorbet filled ice cream cones, cupcakes etc. Everything was done and served with perfection. Staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating. Would strongly recommend for a special treat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear "Strudel02",

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted to read that your parents enjoyed their special 50th Wedding Celebrations. We hope to welcome back to Claridge's in the near future.

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Elegance, class and deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I wanted somewhere really memorable to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday before her main present, a theatre production in London. There were many choices, some really excellent, offering afternoon tea services. I wanted heritage, tradition and class and found it in spades at Claridges. From the moment you walk through the revolving glass doors into the harlequin tiled foyer, you are overwhelmed by the opulence of the hotel. The area where teas are held is contemporary, however, but relaxed, comfortable and despite the luxurious grade of hotel, fairly informal. Everything is pristine, from the uniforms worn by staff to the place settings on each table. The food is of a standard befitting the quality of the hotel and also the price: the choice of tea blends is astounding and the servers have a very good, almost sommelier-like knowledge of the nuances of each tea to suit the food on offer. I will not go into the menu as that is available on the Claridges website for all to see. However, the quality, temperature and taste of each delicious morsel is perfect. Service, too, is timed to perfection and the servers will top up either your sandwiches, teas, or both at your request if you have a healthy appetite. If you are looking for somewhere really very special and want to create a lasting memory, try afternoon tea at Claridges. It is a joy to behold and was the perfect prelude to my wife's special birthday celebrations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear "barry1970",

Such a kind review about your recent visit to us here at Clairdge's, for your wife's special 50th birthday celebrations. I am of course delighted to read your wonderful, detailed description about the service staff and food, which I will of course pass on to the team. I am glad that you make mention of our wonderful selection of teas, creaed by tea connoisseur Henrietta Lovell of the Rare Tea Company. I very much hope that we are able to welcome you back once again, for the next celebration perhaps!

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Elegant afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This art deco hotel is lovely, There is a classic Dale Chihuly piece of glass art hanging from the ceiling. The tea is excellent with a wide range of sandwiches and pastries as well as scones. The service is very good as well. Although a wonderful experience the price will make this your one meal of the day. Expect to pay upwards of 50 Pounds for the experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear "funkymusic"

What a fantastic review and kind words to share! We hope to welcome you back to Claridge's soon.

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage DIrector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foyer At Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.