We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foyer At Claridge's

The Foyer At Claridge's
Brook Street | Mayfair, London W1K4HR, England
+44 (0)20 7107 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it’s the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.Executive Chef Martyn Nail’s modern British menu is fresh, seasonal, extensive and yet refreshingly simple, using locally sourced seasonal produce.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

a wonderful experience - having been treated to quite a few local and away afternoon teas I must admit this was by far the best . The variety and quality of the food was great and the staff very attentive and friendly .I was made to feel very comfortable in such a great environment and would love to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear "globetha061",

Thank you for a truly wonderful review. To be described as the best is more than we could ask for. We have made some changes to Afternoon Tea over the past two months and it is so encouraging to read that these are being so well received.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    107
    32
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Every once in a while you just need to 'push the boat out' and celebrate with a lovely afternoon tea. I can't fault anything. A beautiful venue and simply delicious food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear "SenoritaP"

Thank you for a great review, it makes me very proud of the team and I look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

We hope to welcome you back to Claridge's again.

Kind regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engkand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wow afternoon tea at claridge's is the best had the best time ever . Tea was great sandwich where the best cakes out of this world everyone needs a visit to here I staff helpfully could not ask for a better day x

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear "KateEngkand",

Thank you for a fantastic review. It is truly wonderful to read that you had such a great time with us for Afternoon Tea.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Claridge's again.

Warm regards,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The location & venue is just beautiful! The decor is elegant & tasteful!
Staff are friendly & helpful.
We had an afternoon tea for 4. We first thought that it wouldn't fill us up. But it did! They replaced sandwiches & scones when they run out. We asked for couple of glasses of champagne but they only charged us for 1. Only down side is we asked to pack some of the food and they said no. Seemed silly as we were at the last sitting. Staff were more then happy to take pictures.

We they moved to the main bar but they didn't have any tables so we sat just outside the bar. Still really nice. I had a cocktail which was presented beautifully & tasted amazing!

I would definitely go again!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Royal and heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The best afternoon tea experience I ever had. Great selection of sandwich. I loved mushrooms, salmon and sour cream with cucumber sandwich. I selected tea called russian caravan. Amazing tea I ever had. The ambiance is so royal. People who like hot chocolate might fall in love with it. The thick hot chocolate with a portion of marshmallows is like dream come true. The scones were unforgettable. The jam and cream. You would be totally blessed to enjoy. Point of contact were Elizabeth, Marco/Mario, Nilesh.

An expensive experience I can willingly never forget.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear "Saurabh",

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are so passionate about Afternoon Tea and to be described as the best is all that we could wish for.

With all good wishes,

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foyer At Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.