We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at Claridges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foyer At Claridge's

The Foyer At Claridge's
Brook Street | Mayfair, London W1K4HR, England (Mayfair)
+44 (0)20 7107 8886
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it’s the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.Executive Chef Martyn Nail’s modern British menu is fresh, seasonal, extensive and yet refreshingly simple, using locally sourced seasonal produce.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea at Claridges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friends and I were looking forward to lovely food, lavish surroundings and being treated like celebrities. We weren't disappointed! The sandwiches were lovely and cakes and scones were amazing! Before our tea, we enjoyed a cocktail and relaxed in the bar. The staff and service were very attentive to your every need. The surroundings were very glamorous with a feeling of history and what it was like years before. Our waiter couldn't do enough for us, keeping us supplied with tea, sandwiches and desserts. He answered our questions and showed us several books about the history of Claridge's. All in all we did feel like celebrities and I would recommend Claridge's very highly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear "Braintree49",

Thank you for a wonderful review of Afternoon Tea. I am so glad that we lived up to your expectations.

We hope to see you back for Afternoon Tea again.

Warmest wishes,

Eugene

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    115
    37
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everything about Claridge's is truly magnificent. Go there at least once in your life if only for afternoon tea. Gracious living at its best. Indulge yourself in the special atmosphere, faultless service and stupendous food. There aren't enough expletives to describe the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Value for money? Great service? Superb food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

yes, yes and yes. The only real challenge is that Tripadvisior only go to 5 for service, as this is by far one of the most welcoming and friendly hotels we have visited.

Afternoon tea was amazing, the sandwiches excellent, the scones freshly baked with clotted cream and glee are out of this world. The desserts weren't to my taste but were well presented.

The staff are attentive and really helpful, it's a great location and a great hotel. Afternoon tea starts at £40 each, which I think offers great value for money considering the location and quality.

If driving, be prepared for £17.00 for a two hour stay at the NCP around the corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear "Rob35t",

Thank you for a truly fantastic review, I am so very proud to share your kind words with the kitchen and service teams.

We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Eugene

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heighington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Afternoon tea at Claridges is an absolute delight. The staff are WONDERFUL, the service is beyond excellent. This was our first visit we enjoyed champagne in the bar before our appointed tea time of 5pm.

The sandwiches were very nice indeed and the scones were beautiful. There is a real attention to detail in every aspect of the food and the service

We were allowed to keep the table after we had finished tea; we stayed a while longer in the beautiful surroundings relaxing and drinking champagne. We have had afternoon tea at a few other hotels including The Ritz but this was head and shoulders above that, so relaxing and so much fun

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EugeneLeonard, Food & Beverage Director at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear "SparkyG"

Thank you for a truly fantastic review. It means a lot to the team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

Best wishes,

Eugene

Eugene Leonard
Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We dined at Claridge's for my husband's birthday, the food was absoilutely amazing. We had the beef wellington and it was and still is the best meal I have ever had. The atmosphere was lovely and the attention to detail was phenomenal. A very memorable trip!.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foyer At Claridge's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.