We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CityStay Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CityStay Hotel

Save Saved
You added CityStay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityStay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Bow Road, London E3 3AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #715 of 1,073 hotels in London
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CityStay Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is fantastic. The room was spotless. The free use of the kitchen and the provsions in there wonderful. Downside the bed was more a one and half rather than double. Shower very small and no hot water. The attitude of the reception may have lost them a repeat booking. My rating is based on location, cleanliness, and the use of the kitchen plus the supplies there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    55
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
20
70
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Plus
Good breakfast and kitchen set up with plenty of choice which was always open. Close to underground station. Helpful staff.

Minus
Small room (2m x 4m) with shared bathroom facilities. Noisy traffic all night due to lack of double glazing. No air conditioning. Wet paint on external stairway. Could only access bed from one side and lack of surfaces to put stuff on.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed one night to attend an Olympic event and it was fantastic! My room was spotless and I had a great nights sleep. All the fixtures looked new and was in perfect working order. I had one of the downstairs rooms which has a en-suite. The bus stop is right across the road and so is Co-op store that's open 24/7. The railway station is next to the hotel and on the other side there is a ATM. The staff are helpful and could tell me which buses and taxis go to stratford station and the Olympic park etc. There was also free WIFI which was really handy. The room was small but it had everything I needed, I can't believe the value for money at this hotel! I will definitely be staying there again in the future

Room Tip: If you don't want a shared bathroom ask for a room downstairs, they're en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for business locally, this hotel has new carpets, comfy clean beds, towels changed daily, great fully stocked kitchen, it is clean and pleasant. The staff are helpful but not intrusive. Will definitely stay again. Thankyou :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The staff was very kind. The hotel was near the underground (2-3 minutes walking). The room was very clean. Customers can use the kitchen. In our case we used it for breakfast and dinner time. Very good hotel and very good option if you want to save money. 100% recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

For those planning to attend the Olympics in 2012, this place is very close to the Olympic Park, and also next to the Bow Road Station on the District Line for the Underground as well as the DLR (light rail station), and just a few meters from the bus stop you can use to get to the city center. CityStay Hotel popped up when I did a search on Kayak.com for a hotel in London, and this came up as one of the cheapest for two people (at about 50GBP) for mid-June. That was equivalent to and even cheaper than some hostels, and we wanted something more secure for our luggage during the day.

Our first impression was a little disappointing, as the neighborhood did look a bit suspicious (as other reviewers have mentioned). This never became a problem later and we had no problems walking around in the area. The desk is staffed 24 hours a day and a key is given to enter the front door. One of the clerks was not overly friendly, but another was more helpful. Other hotel staff were friendlier when helping us to our room and bringing towels, which was in an adjoining building, and, yes -- you do have to exit and go up what used to be a fire escape to get there!

The hallways were narrow as were the stairs, so you will have some problems if you have very large luggage to carry up the stairs. I don't know if the rooms on the lower floors in the front are as new as the rooms in the adjoining building in the back.

The room was comfortably sized (about 5 meters x 5meters), and had two windows which opened We had the shared bathroom down the hall which is shared by the three rooms there. The bathroom was large and had been newly renovated (new toilet, sink and shower), though some wallpaper was in need of replacement in the shower stall. Wi-Fi is available and free, and the connection was good.

The kitchen was very nice with new equipment (new refrigerator, gas stovetop, sink, microwave) and new kitchenware and utensils (several sizes of pots and pans, frying pans, tableware, and cooking utensils). It was stocked with cups, mugs, plates, bowls, but there was only salt and sugar and some (probably leftover) instant coffee. The refrigerator was clean -- as though it had been installed only a couple of months ago, and had barely been used by others.

Carpeting in the hallways was new, the mattress was new and quite good. There was a 32" HDTV, a folding couch that could be converted into a bed for an additional 2 people, a low glass table with stools for sitting next to (the stools were not very comfortable), and a fan. To hang up your clothes and outerware, there was a standing clothes rack -- there was no closet.

We did not have the breakfast, since we went to the 24-hour convenience store (The Co-operative Food store) across the street to buy some snacks, drinks, as well as dinner, which we cooked in the kitchen.

There was construction going on all night somewhere on the block (this was June 21-24) and made it difficult to sleep. The room we had was in the back, so it was away from the Bow Road traffic noise. The construction noise down the block was probably worse since it went on all night when we were trying to sleep.

The room key and lock is not very secure. However, there is an additional door with a better lock that prevents entry into the group of three rooms.

You can take a guided walking tour to the Olympic Park (9 GBP), however they have stopped all tours within the park since it is close to the start of the Olympics. They may open up the walking tours inside after the Olympics. For now, the best view you can get is from the third floor of the John Lewis Department store at the Westfield Mall. They have set up a viewing area with binoculars and lots of Olympic paraphernalia for sale.

I am not sure how expensive other nearby locations will be during the Olympics, but since this place was a bargain before, it may well be a bargain for those looking for a place close to the Olympic Park during the games. If you plan to stay for a few days, the kitchen makes it very economical and convenient to make your own meals and keep snacks.

If you have an early flight, you should check the time of the earliest underground train. We had to use the buses to make our connection to the EasyBus bus stop in Earls Court for our flight out of Luton, since the tube was not running that early on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are away from Bow Road noise (but there was nearby construction noise when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Rooms are quite small, and .. IN the street. Quite a big street by the way, so the first ambulance will sounds like 3rd world war.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CityStay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityStay Hotel

Address: 94 Bow Road, London E3 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #715 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CityStay Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the CityStay Hotel offers easy walking access to many local amenities i.e. Pubs, clubs, Parks, Shopping and easy access to airports and train links. On arrival at the CityStay Hotel you can start to enjoy the relaxed in our informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your CityStay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityStay Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityStay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.