We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and satified” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Strand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Strand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   85 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LR, England (Hammersmith / Fulham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 535 London B&B and Inns
couva trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“comfortable and satified”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

this hotel is conveniently located,easy access to public transport, also shopping area, grocery, laundry mart, just outside the hotel is a bus stop. Hammersmith bus station is walking distance.There is a cinema on King street which is not far away. There is a one pound store at King's Mall, which is really good bargain. And for caribbean ppl a roti shop at Brent cross, bus 266 takes you there. The hotel room is small, but comfortable, the toilet is rather clean. there is a small neat clothes cupboard. a small fridge, TV, internet service which is free.Maid service is good, no elevator but the hotel manager assist with your baggage up and down stairs. The staff is rather friendly, and you are treated as family. The only item missing to complete the room is a microwave, which can fit on the fridge as the room is very small. But we had free use of the microwave in the main kitchen, which was good. The manager is very helpful in everything. You can buy a 7 days unlimited oyster card for about 27.30 pounds and top up after, with this card you can travel on both bus and tube. I stayed 22 days and it was great.

Room Tip: my room was situated at the back, but i don't think you will have a problem with one at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    36
    12
    18
See reviews for
27
31
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Strand for 6 nights, 3 of those where during the heat wave in London at the end of June 2011. The room was on the top floor, overlooking the street. You will be happy to know that the police station and fire stations are down the block... How do I know? Because we could hear the sirens all night long as they drove past our hotel. BTW, there is no elevator so I do not think this is a good place for grampa if you know what I mean...

Room was small (if you compare to American Hotels). We had 4 people with us, the shower was clogged for 2 days and they finally fixed it. We had to use the downstairs "common" bathroom in the mean time. The bathroom is small, and the door would only open half way because it hit a bed.

Now if you are the type that travels and likes to stay in your hotel all day long this is not the place for you, but if you need a place to crash after a long day of sight seeing then this is probably okay for you.

The Hammersmith Tube station is about 10 minutes walk, but why walk when you can take the 72, 220, 283, 295 bus routes that take you directly to the tube station (Bus stops almost in front of hotel coming from Hammersmith tube, and at the park going towards it)... Going north a few blocks we have the Westfield mall and Shepherds Bush Road Tube stop, a McDonalds, casino, a few clubs, and a bunch of restaurants. There is also a chinese take out place right across the street from the hotel, not bad for late nights, but you need to go to the Kebab Machine which is like 4 doors down... Or you can walk north about 3 blocks and there is another chinese take out, I liked that one better. Post office is across from hotel also and in the small alley way between the chinese place and the kebab machine we have a TESCO supermarket where you can get what ever you want (yeah you have to walk down the alley).

Breakfast wasn't great but wasn't bad either. They had tea, juice, water, milk, yogurts, and cereal. Breakfast is mainly toast with scrambled eggs. Hey, its free so load up.

Like many others I booked at the Golden strand but was taken down the street to another hotel... It's called the Saba Hotel... I guess I lucked out because breakfast was at Saba hotel. Wifi kinda sucked, we had to sit in the stairs a few nights to get any reception.

ALSO, if you are going to take a shower do it VERY early in the morning or late at night... If you plan on taking a shower between 7-8am plan on not having water if you are on the top floors. We lost our water while taking a shower during those times...

My "American" wife rates this place a 1, but I have been over seas a few times so I think it was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The owner was lovely and very helpful in helping us carry our bags upstairs. The room was awful the bed was very old and the mattress so thin you could feel the bed underneath. However the room was clean but it just felt shabby and neglected. Great location but needs serious work done on it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed with mother and sister for one night (fri) weekend trip to London.

Bad Points
On arrival the reception staff were 'busy attending to other guests' and rude from the outset. We had arrived early to make most of our weekend and asked if we could have our luggage stored somewhere safe under our room was ready. We were told to leave our bags in dining room and 'they would sort it' -on arriving back at hotel 6 hours later we found our luggage still lying out in the open dining room with other guests sitting around it! When we tried to complain about this we were told 'the manager isn't here so you'll have to wait'. Thank god nothing was stolen.

The room was a family room with double bed and 2 single beds downstairs. It was terrible. The carpets all down the corridor and in the room were covered in stains and there were wires lying across the floor. The beds had thin tatty blankets on them and no duvet -we stayed at the end of May and all three of us woke at night absolutely freezing. To put this in perspective we all live in the north of Scotland and are well used to cooler climes.

The bathroom had a toilet seat that was cracked and flaking and there appeared to be no hot water from the shower at 7pm in the evening. We were awoken after the few hours sleep we managed to get at 6am (Sunday morning) by what I imagine was the staff moving all the table and chairs around in the dining room upstairs.

Good Points
Location, easy to find. 10 mins walk from Hammersmith underground station.
Breakfast was ok. Tea/coffee/fruit juice/cereal/yogurt. On arrival offered toast and choice of scrambled or fried eggs. Bizzarely the kitchen/dining room was open plan but at least we could see the food being made fresh.

We should have realised that something was not right when the hotel still had the 'vacancies' sign up whilst the numerous other hotels in the street were full -avoid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed for one night in two rooms. They were decorating. The smoke alarms had been covered in tape. There was a fire in one of the rooms and smoke filled the Hotel. There was a lot of hammering and noise. Nobody seemed to be in control.
We were offered our money back. When our credit card had not been credited I wrote to Mr Khurram SABA who on the 30th March apologised and said he would revert back as soon as possible. Since then I have telephone four times and emailed once, with no reply.
This is how much he cares ...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Myself and my partner were suppose to stay in this hotel and paid to except when we got there we were taken to another guest house a few doors down. Which was the tinniest room I have ever stayed, the walls were dirty decor very poor and was kept awake until 4 in the morning due to some very noisy neighbours. Only a very basic continental breafast was on offer. Overall not worth the 79 pound I paid to stay here.!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

On arrival we were shown to our room by a gentleman who struggled with the English language. We found it difficult to explain to him that the room he'd reserved for us had a faulty toilet. He finally moved us to one of the newly decorated rooms, although in hindsight we wished we'd stayed where we were. The new room was even smaller, and suffered from exposed electrical wiring, a dirty shower, unfinished paintwork, and blown lightbulbs.

Our two day stay was severely disappointing, which is a shame as the location and kerb appeal of the building are fine. However, the hotel management is particularly poor and despite what the website and its pictures may tell you, it's to be avoided.

'A depressing experience.'

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Hotel

Address: 85 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Strand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.