We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly and dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chiswick Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chiswick Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiswick Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   104 Turnham Green Terrace, London W4 1QN, England (Chiswick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“smelly and dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Travelling solo, fortunatley only stayed for one night. The smell in the hallway was unberable. In the room, my bed spread was stained, the bathroom was clearly put together by a DIY enthusiast and was dusty and dirty, with bare walls visible in gaps between plywood if you were tall enough. My room gave to the train line, and so I was woken up 4:34 sharp with the first train. Not a good experience. Did not stay for breakfast, the smell put me off. The staff were friendly.

Only if you're desperate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
5
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Apologises for the lateness of this review; we actually stayed at this hotel three nights in July of 2010. I agree with everything that nofrilltravellers wrote except her/his comments about breakfast which we never saw. I have upload a photo that show the garbage ally entrance to steep narrow stairs. If you look to the left of that alley you will see the subway tracks. Take a look at their web site to compare and see just how misleading their web site is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The website shows an upscale photo of the front of the hotel with very nice awning on a quiet clean street. However the reality is that the hotel fronts onto a alley with garbage dumps.

The hotel is ajacent to above ground Turnham Green subway station and so the room was noisy. However the hotel has double-glazed windows. This reduced the noise pollution.

The breakfast was abundant as what we asked for. However, last 3 of the 5-day stay, the hotel said that they are out of this and that. So we only get the coffee and bun basic.

The hotel was relatively clean. The price is very affordable compared to other London UK properties. The hotel is adjacent to the subway, bus and taxi and is about 15 minutes by subway to Victoria Station.

Turnham Green is a regional town center - pubs, restaurants, shopping, etc. Park across from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

You need to be a very heavy sleeper to stay in this hotel which is a real shame as the staff are friendly and helpful. The neighbours, however, are not.

I decided to stay in this hotel because of its low price and its location - it was right where I needed to be for a work night out. But it's the location that ruins it. I needed somewhere cheap to crash after a party but I was woken up by the rumble of tube trains at 5am - the track runs right past the window (see photo). The trains run every every five minutes so sleep is impossible, even with a head full of party drinks.

The shower was awful too and the bed wasn't comfortable but I'd have forgiven these problems given the price if only I could have slept until breakfast time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Small sums it up, a master class in the use of space. Having said that it was very clean and the staff were delightful. Don't know what the minimum dimensions are for human occupation but we must have been close. Breakfast is fun (no dining room, served in your room), nip downstairs and place your order, rush back up and try to figure out where your going to put the tray. My suggestion is behind the door, you'll have to butter your toast on the floor as there's no table or chair. A budget hotel that's ideal for a night, fall out of bed and you're in the railway/tube station, a short ride out of central London. I would stay again if I was travelling alone. My one concern is the fire doors are all wedged open even at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo'burg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The staff made me feel very comfortable and the rooms were very well maintained everyday. I would stay there again as its right next to Turnham Green Station and so its very easy to get to central London. The breakfast was delivered to my room at no extra charge. Free WI-FI. All in all a very convenient hotel at a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Booked this guest house because, for some reason, the Moran Hotel was full midweek and there are not many hotels in Chiswick. It is a bit more basic than I am used to. Main plus point: it is adjacent to Turnham Green underground station, so easy to get to and away from; main negative point: it is adjacent to Turnham Green underground station, with Picaddilly and District line trains going past the window every minute. It was clean and more comfortable than similar priced hotels I have stayed in in London.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiswick Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Lodge Hotel

Address: 104 Turnham Green Terrace, London W4 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiswick Lodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Chiswick Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiswick Hotel London
Chiswick Lodge Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiswick Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.