We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best afternoon tea in London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Promenade at The Dorchester

The Promenade at The Dorchester
53 Park Lane | The Dorchester, London W1K1QA, England
+44 (0) 20 7629 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in the heart of Mayfair on Park Lane, The Dorchester has been a symbol of luxury and charm for more than half a century. The Promenade is the sumptuous setting for the hotel's legendary afternoon teas, offering sandwiches, scones and pastries alongside a selection of 25 different types of tea. The truly decadent can also opt for champagne while reclining on the high-backed divans, or hide away in one of the intimate alcoves for an informal lunch or a light supper.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best afternoon tea in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One is treated like a lord; literally! Delicious sandwiches, pastries and a very large selection of teas, all very well explained and served by the well trained staff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear ricardo w, I am delighted to read your complimentary comments on your afternoon tea in The Promenade, on top of your review of your stay in The Dorchester. I am thrilled that you took some wonderful memories away with you and we verymuch look forwad to your next visit! Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    79
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Celebrating a friend's 50th birthday what a gorgeous place there two weddings that afternoon which made it all the more special. arrived a little early so we were shown to the bar for a drink, plenty of choices if beverages service was perfect topping us up on the nibbles they provided. After being shown to our table had two male waiters to look after us.. We had champagne, sandwiches were fresh and full of flavour we could have as many as we wanted. The scones were delicious with plenty of cream and jam again we could have had more, the cakes were Rich and fresh the tea delicious. It was such a lovely and relaxing afternoon the floral displays were amazing
Overall a fantastic experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good - but not as good as before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have previously been here for afternoon tea with friends, and decided to treat my mum. We trained it to London just for the afternoon tea - then went back home again. To Chesterfield. So - I was expecting great things again.
I was disappointed this time.
The seating and ambience were amazing, though we couldn't see or hear the piano player this time - I was surprised when I actually saw he was there this time.
The waiter was good, though not really that attentive. We had to ask for things as he passed each time.
The sandwiches were excellent again, and the highlight of the meal. The scones - well - have they changed the chef? Does this chef know that scones with fruit in means exactly that? That there should be some fruit in them? Maybe more than one piece? They were also a little dry. The clotted cream - it wasn't clotted cream - it was fresh whipped cream. Jams were great.
The petit fours - bland and quite uninspiring. A disappointment.
All-in-all, both my mum and I were disappointed with the whole experience. I had so looked forward to treating her to the excellent afternoon tea that my friends and I had experienced, but on the basis of this time round - I wouldn't go again.
So - one excellent, one quite poor................I may try again, I may not.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Gunny001, Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about your experience at The Dorchester. I am sorry to see that your experience did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and I do appreciate that you shared your feedback with us. We would like to discuss your disappointment further with you if you could kindly contact our Hotel Manager, John Scanlon, directly at the hotel. I do however hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future. Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was lucky enough to be treated to 'Afternoon Tea' at The Dorchester for my 50th birthday. What a joy! Everything was as described in other reviews however so much better in reality. The flowers are sensational and smell wonderful as you enter. The champagne and sandwiches are delicious. The cakes and pastries are exquisite. The surroundings are sumptuous and elegant. It is a memory I shall always treasure. Thank you for making it such a lovely occasion!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“For dinner, you can do better just a few steps away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

OK let me get the gripe out of the way first. If there are 4 of you it's really not very comfortable. The tables have a couch on one side and upright chairs on the other. The couch is just not very comfortable for eating a "true" meal ie not tea.

I ate rack of lamb as a main dinner course and it was top quality and cooked just right. The service was attentive and the cadre is excellent. However I could have eaten in Ducasse just steps away for the same money - and Ducasse is a 3 star.

I'd advise sticking to tea in the Promenade - I mean the meal not the drink.

I also ate breakfast here several times and the service was not always so good. One morning the waiter managed to get all 4 orders completely wrong. It was so bad it was genuinely funny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear BillyBoyK,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Dorchester. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food offerings and service provided during your dinner at The Promenade, but very sorry to hear about your breakfast experience and do apologise for any inconvenience this shortfall might have caused. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be shared with the rest of the team here at the hotel, in order to ensure we constantly meet our high service standards. I truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Promenade at The Dorchester also viewed

 

Been to The Promenade at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Promenade at The Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.