We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea at The Dorchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Promenade at The Dorchester

The Promenade at The Dorchester
53 Park Lane | The Dorchester, London W1K1QA, England
+44 (0) 20 7629 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set in the heart of Mayfair on Park Lane, The Dorchester has been a symbol of luxury and charm for more than half a century. The Promenade is the sumptuous setting for the hotel's legendary afternoon teas, offering sandwiches, scones and pastries alongside a selection of 25 different types of tea. The truly decadent can also opt for champagne while reclining on the high-backed divans, or hide away in one of the intimate alcoves for an informal lunch or a light supper.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at The Dorchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Afternoon tea is an utterly british tradition, and The Promenade at The Dorchester is as british as it gets. You get a glass of champagne, sandwiches, scones with jam (very good), and petit-fours (cupcakes). And of course tea.
The Promenade is a rather large and long room decorated in a classical style as the rest of The Dorchester. It's a place to see and be seen.
Afternoon tea will hardly be the gourmet high point in one's life. But it is british afternoon tea. At The Dorchester!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear utsyn,
Thank you for taking the time out to leave such a kind review of your recent afternoon tea in The Promenade at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the champagne, sandwiches, scones and the teas on offer. I will share your comments with the team here and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director –UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    80
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a lovely way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had been given gift vouchers for a Champagne tea at the Pavilion at the Dorchester. So worth it, the sandwiches were so fresh and the assortment was lovely. Different blends of tea, the cakes and service were exemplary. The only fault we had was that if you book and there os just 2 of you you ask for a wall seat, unfortunately we were stuck next to a couple where the woman didn't stop talking loudly - that was the only thing that put us off. If you sit by the wall the seating is more discreet and you are not on top of each other. This woman's incessant talking spoiled a lovely relaxing day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our server M. Vodacek was exemplary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a family we have stayed and dined in many 5 star establishments throughout the world but had never been to The Dorchester which is just 10 minutes from our home. Last Saturday we decided to rectify this and went for drinks at a few Park Lane hotels including The Promenade at The Dorchester. The nibbles which were served with our drinks were plentiful and absolutely delicious. Our server was fantastic with both us and the children, he really could not have done more. His customer service skills were excellent without being pretentious and he is an asset to this establishment. Our family look forward to returning for chocolate milkshakes and champagne in the very near future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear fch76,
It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your recent experience at The Dorchester and how highly you valued the service. I will be sure to share your kind comments and I look forward to your next visit for milkshakes and champagne.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director –UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have visited a number of places for afternoon tea and admittedly the Dorchester has by far been the best for its food and service. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that they serve halal sandwiches. Definitely recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“World class tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Looking for a place to go for afternoon tea?

Then you MUST book The Dorchester what a grand place to sit and have tea. I went with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. It did not fail us. We felt as grand as the hotel looks.

The atmosphere was lovely with soft instrumental music in the background and although it was busy it did not look sound like there were many people there is was very calm.

The tea itself was divine, great service the tea we had was just right not too strong. The finger sandwiches were a great selection we all had our favourites and the scones we're melt my our mouth soft.

We've been to many places for tea but The Dorchester is definitely my favourite, more expensive then your standard teas but well worth the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Nasva,
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed our festive afternoon tea in The Promenade and how highly you valued the atmosphere including our pianist. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director –UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Promenade at The Dorchester also viewed

 

Been to The Promenade at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Promenade at The Dorchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.