We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tangible experience of unhurried, old-world charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea at the Ritz

Tea at the Ritz
150 Piccadilly | The Ritz Hotel London, London W1J 9BR, England
+44 (0) 20 7493 8181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #430 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A British institution in itself, Tea at The Ritz is proud to be a member of the Tea Council's prestigious Tea Guild. Served in the spectacular Palm Court, a choice of several varieties of tea, finely cut sandwiches, freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream and a range of delicate pastries, combine to make for an unforgettable afternoon. The luxurious and graceful setting of The Ritz Palm Court is legendary and this is most certainly an opportunity that must be experienced, whether you are visiting London or already live there. The Ritz London has a formal dress code in its public areas. Gentlemen are respectfully requested to wear a jacket and tie, and jeans and trainers are not permitted for ladies or gentlemen.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tangible experience of unhurried, old-world charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

High tea at the Ritz is truly an experience to be savored. My husband, daughter and I were visiting my son and daughter-in-law at London and they had planned this wonderful surprise for us. We entered the beautiful foyer at the Ritz and were ushered to a massive hall. There, we were seated around a circular table, and the entire room was bathed in a golden glow, evocative of an old-world charm. The furnishings were in shades of yellow and the lights were muted. There was a mouth-watering selection of finger sandwiches, and special vegetarian sandwiches for me. The cakes on the three-tired cake stand absolutely melted in the mouth. And there were so many many kinds of tea, more than I even knew existed. The china was so delicate. The waiters were attentive, without being obsequious. We had our 'tea' at a leisurely pace in this tranquil atmosphere. It was most wonderfully relaxing!

  • Visited July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    286
    176
    103
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Totally fabulous and special expereince - one not to forget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Two of us girls took our friend for her "special birthday" not allowed to use numbers ha ha.
It was a fab-ou-lous experience from the minute we walked in. All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. The pianist played our requests and my birthday friend was emotional.

We had the champagne tea - it was so lovely and a real treat for a special occasions. Food and tea's were lovely and they kept replenishing as long as we were eating. Choices of tea were plentiful.

After we had a wander around the hotel, were allowed to take pictures and sat in the bar lobby area watching how the other half live. We did not want to order anymore drinks and not just because they were very pricey!!!!

I would definitely recommend a visit to the Ritz once in a life time treat !!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea, expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We took my mother to The Ritz on her 80th birthday for a celebration tea. Although expensive, the service was excellent and we were made to feel special and at ease at all times. The food was great although traditional (that's kind of the point though). Sandwiches with really nice fillings, brioche, fresh scones, selection of cakes all as much as you could eat and any tea you like from silver teapots. Plus a birthday cake. We didn't eat for the rest of the day. We all had a great time and it made the day really special. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We went here for a friends birthday and booked the champagne tea. I wasn't really sure what to expect as i had read so many mixed reviews but i loved it, the staff were really polite and friendly. The teas we had were delicious, the sandwiches were even better and the cakes i tried were some of the best i have ever had. They were more than happy to keep refilling our sandwiches up ! I am not sure if the dress code stands, we turned up in dresses but i did see some people in there in their casuals ? I am already looking forward to going again and would definitely say its worth the money

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist Conveyor Belt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The Ritz was highly disappointing, a tourist conveyor belt. Crammed in, impossible to have a private conversation.
Sandwiches where like door steps and stale, the ham and cheese was processed. I asked that no alcohol was in the cakes, so was served only 2 stale ones, then was given fruit cake which after I had eaten it was told it contained alcohol. Absolute disgrace and complete rip off.

    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tea at the Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea at the Ritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.