We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at The Ritz” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tea at the Ritz

Tea at the Ritz
150 Piccadilly | The Ritz Hotel London, London W1J 9BR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 (0) 20 7493 8181
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 16,877 restaurants in London
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: A British institution in itself, Tea at The Ritz is proud to be a member of the Tea Council's prestigious Tea Guild. Served in the spectacular Palm Court, a choice of several varieties of tea, finely cut sandwiches, freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream and a range of delicate pastries, combine to make for an unforgettable afternoon. The luxurious and graceful setting of The Ritz Palm Court is legendary and this is most certainly an opportunity that must be experienced, whether you are visiting London or already live there. The Ritz London has a formal dress code in its public areas. Gentlemen are respectfully requested to wear a jacket and tie, and jeans and trainers are not permitted for ladies or gentlemen.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Ritz”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The musicians were wonderful. They played delightful music, which rather made me think of Titanic as the ship was about to sink. Nontheless, it was very beautiful. It had to be because there was no where for us to wait while they got the tables ready. People who had dressed up for the occasion had to mill around the lobby like lost sheep whilst the waiters relayed the tables from the last sitting. It felt like we were on a conveyor belt. When the tables were ready we were ushered to our seat and given a choice of tea. That was nice. Then the sandwiches came. I ask you, £45 a head to eat a plate of sandwiches, which if you are vegetarian leave alot to be desired. You would think they could be more inventive than slabs of cheddar in one, and egg mayo in the other. It felt like we had paid £45 to have a plate of Tesco value sandwiches cut up for us. The Ritz is trading off its name and charging extortionate rates for it.

Not worth it. If you have to have afternoon tea in London, The Savoy or The Wolseley are much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    807
    250
    157
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Afternoon tea at the ritz was brilliant. Beautiful surroundings in the palm court restaurant. Service was impeccable but not stuffy or over bearing. Location beautiful and the sandwiches, scones, cakes, tea and Champagne lovely. Huge amount to eat, we were very full when we left, pretty much as much as you can eat and drink! For £57 each with champagne it's not cheap but given the quality of the food, service, beautiful venue and overall ambiance I don't think it is bad value! Will definitely do it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tea at the Ritz was a birthday gift from one of my sons and it was amazing.From the moment we stepped from th cab the staff were exactly as you would expect from an hotel of this class. Perfectly attentive. We had booked an early tea but had time to spare so waited in the bar and enjoyed a fruit cocktail in this most beautiful hotel, I have happy memories of the Ritz as a young girl and it is as perfect now as it was all those years ago. We went into tea along with everyone else ,it was full but the tables were far enough apart for privacy. The waiters were friendly and courteous and very efficient,your every need was anticipated. The choice of teas were varied and the food was good athough the sandwiches only average,the scones were to die for,I don't think I have ever had scones quite as good as these,the cakes were small but delightful, and after all this a desert trolley came round. It was a wonderfully relaxed meal where the beauty of the surroundings and the attentive staff made t truly memorable afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Has the Ritz lost it's charm and glory...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having had tea here 3 times over the last 8 years I feel compelled to write this review.
The first couple of times the Ritz did not disappoint and seemed good value for money for such a unique experience. The service impeccable, the food exquisite, attention to detail and exacting standards that one cannot fault.

I came here for a friend's birthday earlier in the year and my, how the experience has changed, sadly not for the better. Do not be mistaken, the service and staff remain a great asset to the hotel. They are more than obliging to take the obligatory photos, you still get 2 servings of everything, the service efficient, if anything too efficient as they seem too keen to remove your plates before you have finished so you felt rushed. Perhaps this is because they now have 5 sittings each day so are running on such a tight time schedule.

The single factor that upset me the most was the birthday cake which I ordered was incorrect. We decided to take the cake home as we were too full to enjoy it, however, when we cut the cake it transpired it wasn't what I had ordered. I emailed the manager whose PA responded with a vague apology stating that we still enjoyed our experience despite the mistake and didn't even offer a refund which I insisted upon as the Ritz had admitted it was their mistake that the kitchen had made the error. Not what you expect from such an establishment surely.

Perhaps the Ritz has become somewhat complacent as they know they have their heritage to rely on for continued business.

Time to move elsewhere for afternoon tea I think, the Athenaeum across the road is excellent at almost half the price and won the Tea Guild Award in 2012 or try The Goring which is on par with the Ritz pricewise but far superior and has won the Tea Guild this year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Almost there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took my mum here for her 80th birthday - it was the 7:30pm sitting. At the time of booking we asked if we could have a veggie choice of sandwiches on the table and they email back saying they would 'do their best'. However, when we got there, our experience mirrored another reviewer's who said that the sandwiches are replenished as a block with a predetermined selection of fillings. No attention was paid to the fact that all the meat sandwiches had been left on our cake stand. When we asked for more cheese sandwiches we were given three more 'fingers' between three of us. We had scones left over but the fancy cakes we were assigned were not replenished once they were gone. Not sure if that is silver service in my books! I think next time we shall go elsewhere as there a few other places that do a similar thing.

Good points: The concierge was attentive to my elderly mother and helped her up the steps. Ecellent cloakroom service and super restrooms, although there is still a queue for the ladies. The lady pianist was a boon to them - when I said it was my mother's birthday, she played a song specially dedicated to her. How lovely!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea at the Ritz also viewed

 

Been to Tea at the Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea at the Ritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.