We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly, and SOOOOOOO loud. Our room was right by the bar and the kitchen with a window that actually led INTO the kitchen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clink78 Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clink78 Hostel to your Saves list
Clink78 Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England (Clerkenwell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One Night Free
Ranked #198 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty, smelly, and SOOOOOOO loud. Our room was right by the bar and the kitchen with a window that actually led INTO the kitchen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Yuck Yuck Yuck. We had absolutley no sleep because there were twelve year olds banging on our door and yelling!!!!!! Our room smelled like bacon and onions :/ ick! Don't stay here. Especially not on the basement level. You'll get foot fungus, food poisening, and ZERO sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your thoughts. We always appreciate and embrace feedback when constructive.

Regarding your comments:

- There are NO rooms with windows to the kitchen. It would be good to know where did you actually stay.

- Basement area is where all the communal areas are, therefore is a buzzing place to meet other fellow backpackers. Every person has a different taste. If you didn't like your room location, you just needed to come to reception and ask for a room change. there are plenty of dorms and our staff is always willing to help :)

- Our recommendation is that you have a look to the hostels profile before booking in. Clink261, our sister hostel, will have suit you better,as it is more relaxed and quiet.

Next time, come to reception and express your thoughts. You could have enjoyed your stay much more if you would have let us help you find the right dorm for you (based on your taste and preferences)

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    389
    287
    130
    104
See reviews for
50
114
289
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

10 min walk from King's Cross, fine. Small room with poor ventilation. Feet can actually touch other's head! Toilets in separate sex but unisex bathroom. Clothes easily get wet as no screen. Have to pay for wifi. Crowded in breakfast time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your thoughts.

Regarding your comments:

- We do have female only, male only and unisex toilets and showers in every floor. Next time, ask one of our staff members for the next bathroom of your preference. They will help you find you way to the closer one.

- Free breakfast. Our free breakfast is very popular and therefore you can enjoy it from 7am till 10am. Our recommendation is not leave it till the end as it gets busier in the last half an hour

-WIFI- we offer unlimited wifi use for the whole of your stay for only £3. You can also use your code if you stay with us in the future.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place, though a bit of a walk from St. Pancras. Loved the kitchen and Clashbar. Great ambiance.
Internet access has to be bought and is lousy in the rooms.

Downside: The beds are so close together that you'll probably be sleeping with your arms around your neighbor, if not for the plywood partition between the beds :-)

I was in a 4-bed dorm for 4 nights and had a couple for 2 nights as roomies.
They were always sleeping, even when I came in at 7pm. At first they wanted me to to switch off the light and then (we were in a cellar room) when I kept bumping into stuff in the dark trying to pack my luggage (was leaving in the morning) was asked to keep quiet.
Funnily enough, these folks had to get ready at 3AM and leave (God knows where), and shared 1 bed both of the nights.
The other 2 nights were great!

Room Tip: perfect if you are looking for fun in London, or want to store your stuff. Lousy for accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are glad you overall enjoyed your stay although you didn't enjoy your roomates company much.

Enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Set in an old Crown Court it is the setting for a very interesting place. The different coloured floors and interior makes it very modern coupled with very helpful staff at the main reception. Would recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for such a positive feedback. it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

See you very soon,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great stay rooms where loud and busy but if your going to have a cry about it dont stay at a hostel thats what its about I love the 12 bed dorms u meet alot of people. Another great feature of this hostel is there full kitchen which is handy for the cheap travelers as you can make a full meal in the kitchen. Negative would be the toilets they are very bad and dirtt straight after they are cleaned which is only once a day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your comments.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed cooking in our great kitchen. it is the perfect place to meet up your roomates and get to know them better.

Regarding the toilets, we have a 24 hours housekeeping team and the toilets are cleaned every few hours. Please, next time, come to reception to let us know :)

Thanks again for your kind words and enjoy the rest of your travels,

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Can't beat this place- it is a short walk to the kings cross station (harry potter 9 3/4 anyone?) to take you where ever, lots of cheap eats, british library, and wonderful people to boot. Hostel has bar (for evening fun), lots of bathrooms, internet room, TV room, travel shop and full of artsy cool vibes (the place is unique -old court house and jail cells). If you don't like dorm-room style bathrooms there are not that many options - sharing is caring - bed rooms have private or bunk style options. Breakfast each morning is served (2 types of cereal, watery OJ, toast, honey, tea, instant coffee) nothing to write home about- but its free and that is always good! The travel shop is open for limited hours but sells discounted tickets for public transit and shows - worth checking out. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi there,

BIG thank you for your nice comments :)

We are happy to hear that you made use of all our communal areas, including the bar and travel Shop!

Enjoy the rest of your travels and come back very soon!

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in London for 3 nights - all at the Clink Hostel. I had done my research before I left so I knew what to expect. The rooms were quite small but everything was clean and tidy and I thought it was a great location. I liked the feel of the place - it had loads of character.
I enjoyed the breakfast downstairs and it coped well with our large group.
A busy hostel in a busy area.
The staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking your time to leave us your thoughts.

We really appreciate your positive comments about the hostel facilities and staff members.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and come back soon!

The Clink team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is an amazing backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience an heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, pod beds, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clink78 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.