We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not guilty your honor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clink78 Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clink78 Hostel to your Saves list
Clink78 Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England (Clerkenwell)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One Night Free
Ranked #199 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not guilty your honor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

i have syaed hear a few times while working in london and loved it on all stays its diffrent i may say but very central as for train stations ect,the bar in the basement is a good night as well,has hostels go its good and pleasent to stay there..the northumberland arms pub down the road ahs happy hour on from 5 -7 and is a good place to meet local people ect..but yes i enjoyed it when i was there.......

Room Tip: dont get a room on the front due to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Hi Dean,

Thank you for your very nice review, we are extremly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we definitly hope to see you soon.

good luck in your travels and make sure you come to see us again.

Kind Regards,
Tanuja
Assistant Reception Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    388
    286
    130
    104
See reviews for
50
113
289
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I never ever bother writing reviews unless somewhere was amazing or awful and Clink78 unfortunately falls into the latter. Stayed in a 12 bed female 'deluxe' dorm and there was nothing deluxe about it. Staff are rude and inconsiderate. Rooms stink, mould above bed, no locker, one powerpoint for twelve girls, window didn't open and heater didn't work for five of the seven nights there. Each girl brought it to the attention of staff to no effect, so slept in a freezing cold room in London winter. Three mornings had cold showers in the awful and extremely mouldy bathroom. Matresses are foam, pillows are flat and had a huge gap next to the top bunk bed which I could of fallen off of. Continental breakfast is toast and off orange juice. This hostel is essentially for those who just want to go out all night and don't care about the detail. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Emma,

I have read your review and firstly we would like to apologise for the fact that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. i have brought it to the attention of the Maintenance staff regarding the heating in the room and the gap between the beds.i have also informed our Housekeeping manager about the mould in the room and the smell. i would also like to apologise for the staff memebers that came across rude, i'm sure they didn't intend on making that impression.

I do hope you change your mind about staying with us again. and i hope you enjoy the rest of your future travelling.

Kind Regards,
Tanuja
Assistant Reception Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

For me it's perfect for a short stay in London. Its location is perfect : near the international King'cross station, it's very easy to take tube and travel in the center of London.
For couples you can have a double room (big bed + another small. Beds are confortables) for a good price (especially in this expensive city).
For a trip with many friend it's nice and economic.
The crew is young and dynamic. The place is clean. Shower and toilet not in the room but there are many of them.
Breakfast is correct. Bar on the evening.

Room Tip: You can sleep in "prison cell". Fun but very small room (for two person).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Nice atmosphere and enjoyed the activities in the bar area. Breakfast alright for the price (there were 2 spots with cereal dispensers - find the one with the "nice" cereal). The rooms varied however - some were tiny, some (relatively) spacious, and the same with showers - the 15 second showers drove me insane. The staff were nice and helpful, even printed directions to a bar for me :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear 1Peipe1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

We love receiving such positive response to our staff and the atmosphere we create here at Clink78.

Hope to see you back with us again soon!

Kind regards,

The Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great hostel a stones throw away from Kings Cross with cheap dorm rooms. Huge kitchen and bar downstairs with a DJ. Computer room which was, naturally, the court room and even rooms with original cell doors. This place epitomises "cool"

Although it was good for one night, and the beds were very comfortable, the rooms were quite cramped and I couldn't imagine trying to stay for any extended length of time.

Room Tip: We went for the 10 bed mixed dorm £20 pp/pn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Dear newoln,

Thank you for your detailed review!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for your next visit to London!


Kind regards,

The Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The place is walking distance from KIngs Cross with a live 24 hour reception. I reached around 1 AM and was pleasantly surprised with a warm and efficient welcome and check-in.The hostel too was buzzing with activity. The beds are comfortable and rooms very basic. For the price, it is a good bargain. If they keep a simple map or the area upto king-cross and Russel Square, it would help for the places are quite walkable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClinkE78, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear divs11,

Thanks for your review! It's lovely the hear you received a warm welcome at 1am. Our staff are here 24 hours and are always available to give advice and offer assistance. We do have free maps at the front desk and also in our on-site Travel Shop.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

The Clink78 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The rooms are very cramped and have extra luggage areas. I ended up sleeping with my bag at the tip end of my bed for ease. It has an alright location. Not really too central but is easy to get a bus to kings cross station and wall from there. All in all it was alright. I'm sure there's better, but it was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is an amazing backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience an heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, pod beds, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clink78 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.