We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh god, don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith to your Saves list
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   28 Hammersmith Broadway | Hammersmith, London W6 7AB, England (Hammersmith / Fulham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh god, don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night, thank god it wasn't longer! My dorm was on the very top floor of the building and there is no lift, so I had to drag my heavy suitcase up the tiny stairs and back down in the morning. There's no kitchen, just a noisy bar, and the bathrooms looked rickety and old. The location is in Hammersmith, which is alright, but quite far out of the centre of London. My bunk was really small and I couldn't sit up without banging my head on the bed above (and I'm quite short!). There were electric plugs on the beds but mine were broken. There are better places to stay. I also found the staff to be extremely rude and unhelpful.

Room Tip: The girls dorms are on the very top floor and there's no lift. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    54
    21
    22
See reviews for
3
7
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

In total I stayed 8 nights at St Christopher's Hammersmith. I chose this hostel because I was spending Christmas with friends who lived just around the corner and this is the closest accommodation (they didn't have a spare room at their place).

I will never be staying here again.

Location: Being directly across the road from Hammersmith station is very handy, although with London public transport it would be easy to get anywhere, really.

Staff: generally uninterested. Both times I checked in I had to wait quite a while for staff to acknowledge and then help me check in/get sorted.

Accessibility: There is no lift in the building and you will need to lug your bag/s up however many flights of stairs is necessary. Anyone with a disability or difficulty with movement should go elsewhere.

The room: My room was a 4 bed mixed dorm on the 3rd floor. The beds have springs poking you in the back and the lights at the beds are woefully inadequate. The floor underneath the beds is ridiculously dusty so don't put any uncovered clothes under there. No lockers or cages in rooms to utilise.

I have since read reviews saying that you actually get more privacy in the huge dorms because you get a curtain around your bed.

The bathrooms: Just terrible. The one closest to my room consisted of a shower room and a toilet room however the layout of the doors to each was ridiculous - it's quite hard to manoeuvre yourself from one to the other. Trying to change your clothes in the toilet area is virtually impossible without some gymnastic training - that space is tiny. The shower was frequently cold, and you have to keep pushing the button every 15 seconds to keep water flowing. The pipes also make such a sound that one of the people in my room actually thought they were industrial drills she could hear through the wall (not kidding!). Bins in the toilet area are only emptied every few days and our toilet paper ran out completely at one stage.

On Saturday nights you will hear the bass from Belushi's DJs until about 2am.

It is clear that the staff here care much more about the people eating and drinking down in Belushi's than in the hostel, as evidenced by their increased attentiveness to Belushi's patrons.

The free breakfast (toast and cereal) is only available until 9am and if you pre-pay for breakfast you will need to tell the staff at reception, otherwise they won't know/remind you when you check in.

To rent a towel you will need to pay £10, £8 of which you get back when returned.

The one redeeming feature of this hostel is that you can use the free wifi in your room and the signal strength is good.

I have now stayed in hostels/backpackers in 6 countries, and this is the worst experience I have had yet. I will not be staying here again and based on this experience it's unlikely I'll stay in any other St Christopher's either.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are clean and the receptionists are friendly and welcoming. It is a hostel, so it's basic of course but the rooms (at least the 6bed rooms upwards - better book in here than in the 4bed room since they're really small) are spacious and there are toilets and showers everywhere on the floor. Since the hostel is located at a busy crossing and over a pub I thought it to be loud but it actually wasn't. Of course with the windows open, you here the traffic (and the english sirens are annoying ;-)) but you can't here the pub or other partying sounds.
The breakfast is fine and is served at the pub where it's really cosy and nice. A good place to hang around even as a single traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and relatively spacious. For a hostel, the showers are wonderful - plenty of hot water and decent pressure. Sometimes you can hear the bar music at all hours so ask for a room on the 3rd floor! Hot breakfast is less than £2 and lots to choose from. The lockers are inconveniently all the way down in the basement - you're better off padlocking your suitcase. Bring your own towel. No lift and narrrow windy stairs - bad for big heavy suitcases, although some of the staff will help you. It's easy to get locked ouy after the bar shuts at 2/3pm but there's a door they didn't tell me about around the right hand side of the building. Completely fine for a week's stay on a budget!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here 2 days on a recent trip to London, and I found it to be at best average. It was in a bad location, but close to all the transport lines. I've stayed in many hostels, and usually have good things to say about them, but for me, the atmosphere stems from the staff, and staying here left a bad taste in my mouth. Upon checking in, the receptionist gave off a hostile attitude, and I heard her moaning to a colleague about the length of time it took me to find my passport (I'd packed in a rush that morning..)
The room's were okay, the beds were comfortable(ish), and the bar was good on the Friday night, with cheapish drinks. But if you're looking for a hostel with a good atmosphere and friendly staff, I'd say stay somewhere else.,..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend and found this hostel very reasonably priced & in a perfect location.

It is situated opposite Hammersmith station (with a direct line to airport & inner london) and Belushi's bar is located downstairs (reasonably priced food & drinks!)

The only negative things about our stay would be the quality of the showers (not complaining as you can't expect too much unless you're staying in a hotel) and that our room keys continuously stopped working.

All in all- if you're looking for something basic while touring London, this is it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in a mixed room for 18 people, maybe that's what cause my visit so bad in this hostel. The room was smelly (what is not St Christopher's fault), but my bed didn't look clean at all. But the worst was the bathroom. For 18 people, is not big enough and it looks like they don't clean at all! The floor was all wet all the time (and the water didn't come from the showers, but from the toilet, so ewww), very smelly, it was pretty disgusting. The breakfast included was very poor also, comparing to other St Christopher's. By 8h30, they didn't put clean cups and plates anymore, and some food wasn't available anymore. The WiFi in the rooms were okay.
On the last day I changed for a room for 8 people (female only), and it was better, but again, the sheets were dirt! It's now worth what you pay. All night until 2am you can hear people cheering on the bar and the hostel is located near a Police Station, so every 5 minutes you hear the buzzling. The hostel don't have lift, so if you carring a heavy luggage, good luck.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a 18 bedroom, unless you're desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith

Address: 28 Hammersmith Broadway | Hammersmith, London W6 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel in Hammersmith London is in the middle of everything cool in this neighbourhood of international brands, transportation links, shopping malls and amazing nights out. This St Christopher's Inn hostel in London is in easy reach of the London Underground, housed within the grand stone walls of a historic and listed building! Our reception is staffed by backpackers - just like you - and they're all full to the brim with up to date London knowledge. Check in for directions, maps, money saving tips and an introduction to the delights of the London Underground! We also provide individual lockers so that your keepsakes are kept safe. Aside from the Europe headquarters of Coca Cola and Disney, the biggest landmark in Hammersmith has to be St Christopher's Inns Hostel and Belushi's bar! There's nearly a hundred years of history behind this hostel - which survived two world wars and a massive renovation to make it the perfect fit for our international guests today. On our doorstep there is not one, not two but three London Underground lines, an over-ground railway station just up the road and one of the most connected bus stations in London - over the road. A few minutes away on foot, you'll find the Hammersmith Apollo, Lyric Square and Lyric Theatre, the Kings Mall, the Riverside Studios - cinema and theatre, Furnival Gardens, a top notch river walk to Chiswick, the London Wetland Centre, Fulham Football Club, and much more! Our Hammersmith hostel is also super close to Kensington Park Gardens, Harrods and Hyde Park - a short bus or tube ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Inn And Belushi`s-Hammersmith
St Christopher`s Inn & Belushi`s-Hammersmith Hotel London
St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's Inn Hammersmith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.