We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hostel, nice price value, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added YHA London Central to your Saves list
YHA London Central
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5LP, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 698 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent hostel, nice price value, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

my first uk hostel that i've stayed in, and i've been in other three hostels in london west end area, and definitely this was the best in my opinion. friendly staff, nice comfortable rooms and bathrooms, everything clean, big living room and bar. and also ten minutes walk from oxford street. wanna comeback.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    388
    76
    21
    10
See reviews for
129
22
266
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the youth hostel is very clean. It is in a fantastic location, you can easily walk to Oxford Street and Regents Park and there are about 4 tube stations near by. The self-catering kitchen is fantastic, just like all it's other facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in a 6 berth room during London olympics couldn't fault the stay - clean modern rooms, central easy location, good facilities and staff but most of all great value for Money. Great for groups, families or individuals

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff are sometimes not the best, but they're all good and friendly, just sometimes a bit ditzy. It's the perfect place to stay in London though, if you don't need glamour, but do need to feel safe and secure, clean and get the chance to meet other people of all ages, or not, if you don't want to be sociable.

Room Tip: You get what you're given, as far as I can tell. Once I was in a room without en suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Title says it all...

There were 4 of us friends staying in a 4 bed room..we had our own showe and toilet which was great. Rooms werent huge but beds faced each other so were used like couches..not that we spent much time in there though as the main area had such a great atmosphere with tables, couches, computers etc and board games to use.

There is a well priced bar here with pizzas etc and 5 beers for £10 which was great. Well equipped kitchen area with heaps of fridges and places to store food.

Rooms were pretty hot at night but a fan was provided. Beds were comfy but only 1 pillow.

Staff were great and always keen to help. We went to the Lion King with a special deal provided by the hostel £25 per person and had a great night. Also took up the free walking tour which was the highlight of our stay!

Only really disappointing thing was the wifi didn't reach our room on the 4th floor so could only be used in the common areas which was a pain.

Overall great price, location (walking distance to Oxford St, Great Portland St underground and lots of pubs and restaurants), good atmosphere, no noise at night and good staff. The best hostel I have ever stayed at and highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The YHA Central London was great...once we finally found it. It was hard to find. (even locals didn't know where the street was). We didn't have a room, but they let us sleep on the couch for a bit during the day and store our bags there. The building was new and trendy, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast is expensive and not worth it. The internet is expensive too! Overall, it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I loved my stay at YHA London central, I even extended because it was so good. Very reasonable price, extremely accessible location right near oxford street, soho and everything you could want as a tourist, and the people are extremely friendly. I did the free walking tour which was great fun. I made a heap of friends and my roommates were top notch. Bathroom was okay.. Bring some flip flops or sandals to wear in the shower and a lock for the locker. Recommend for an affordable stay in London in a very decent hostel!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#88 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#188 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#141 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 698 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London
YHA London Central England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA London Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.