We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great service and lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roux at The Landau

Roux at The Landau
1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England (Marylebone)
+44 20 7965 0165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Price range: $55 - $156
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Transit: Underground: Oxford Circus
Description: Father and son Albert and Michel Roux Jr are working together for the first time in 19 years. This new partnership brings Roux’s legendary culinary expertise and creativity to the newly re-named Roux at The Landau, their second West End address. Roux protégé Chris King has been chosen as Chef de Cuisine, with menus reflecting the Roux trademark style of classically-constructed French dishes, blended with today’s tastes for lighter choices.
Welwyn, Herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We very carefully picked the Roux at the Landau for a birthday meal as we didnt want anything too rich in terms of food. We were seated at a perfect table with plenty of space. The food was fantastic - couldnt fault it at all and the service was impecable with a couple of staff having a great sense of humour. All in all a perfect evening and certainly a place we will return to and recommend. It wasnt cheap but then great quality, service and atmosphere to contribute to an enjoyable evening never is!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    173
    73
    23
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu by Michel Roux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise for my birthday at roux at the landau at the Langham . Everything was perfect . We had the set menu with an excellent bottle of red which came to 150 pounds all in with a glass of champagne and coffee . Excellent value for such excellent food and general ambience . Offer only open to end of November so get your skates on !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent in almost all ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked a table on 9th October and sadly I was late in arriving - checked at the desk at the entrance to the restaurant and was told that my friend had not arrived so I paced about in the bar and public areas looking for her - wasting more precious time. Knowing how organised she is I went into the restaurant and there she was - so not a good start by the staff. After that things became a great deal better. The service was faultless - pleasant and efficient. We had booked the £35 deal which included a glass of champagne. I started with the oeuf mollet with a salt cod brandade and squid ink vinaigrette - this was all excellent and with it I enjoyed a glass of sauvignon blanc. For my second course I had confit of duck with a pistachio-yoghurt dressing and this too was first class. With that I could not do without a glass of good red wine. We went without the inclusive dessert for the sake of "bella figura". The bill somehow came to £120 - I guess we had 3 expensive glasses of wine? In any case it was well worth it and the whole experience was delightful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service & quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A £35 per person lunch, for 3 courses including a glass of champagne. 3 choices per course, and very nice choices. Excellent service, very friendly & helpful staff, beautiful ambience. Excellent presentation, and food quality to match. Very impressed. The restaurant was almost full, so they are pitching their prices correctly! Both of us who dined today will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the start to the end it was truly an amazing experience. The dining room was stunning and as I have a restricted diet but the waiting staff could not do enough for me.
My husband and I felt very special. The food was out of this world. I have told everyone what a lovely time we had.
I would love to go back again. But there are lots of other places I would also like to try as well.
It is not something you would do every day as it is a little expensive. But you do get what you pay for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roux at The Landau also viewed

 

Been to Roux at The Landau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roux at The Landau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.