We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and excellent price/quality ratio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spices

Spices
10 Chapel Market | Isligton, London, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
020 7837 7151
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spices is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,934 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Islington / Clerkenwell
Description: What you get at Spices is simple: exceptional food, really great prices and service that is second to none. All of the food is cooked from fresh, so arrival time of the food will increase accordingly but definitely worth the wait! When the food arrives, you are never disappointed.One of the reasons why we're still here today is because our customers love our food. Simply because everything we use is of high quality and freshly made. So you can actually taste the difference in aroma and texture, it will definitely put a spark in your taste buds, just exactly how it should be made.We specialize in high quality Indian/Bangladeshi cuisine placing more emphasis on quality rather than speed, and as we are very passionate about our food. There is also catering for vegetarians We believe if a customer has tasted our food once, we can almost guarantee they'll be back again for more.First Indian Restaurant in Islington for HOME STYLE COOKING try once to believe itTo make your dining experience even more affordable we operate a Bring Your Own Drink policy. You are very welcome to bring your own wine or beer, without being charged corkage. There is also a Special 5 Course Meal Deal £10.95 per person. Excluding soft drinks which we will provide.
NY, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good and excellent price/quality ratio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very much enjoyed our dinner a few weeks ago at Spices. We were visiting from NY, where Indian (Bangladeshi) restaurants are mediocre, at best. Spices was most enjoyable, and the chef/owner charming and professional. Recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    12
    5
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my partner have been to this restaurant on lots of ocassions and every time we have been the food has been fantastic.The manager Ali is so helpful and enthusiastic about helping you pick your food he always says what flavours do you feel like having and will make you something amazing.He also get you to taste what you have ordered as soon as its put on the table and if you dont like it he will change it.We have never wanted to change it.All i can say is please try spices restaurant and you will love and you can take your own drink and there is no charge.Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN / BENGAL FOOD IN LONDON!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to Spices last night as it was close to home and I fancied Indian, WOW such amazingly tasty, fresh and delicious food!

The owner Ali is so knowledgable and will even combine certain dishes on the menu to make you a unique dish suitable to your tastes, he wants to make sure you enjoy every bite and we sure did! All the staff are wonderful, friendly and the place has a lovely welcoming atmosphere.

This place is well worth the visit honestly the best indian /Bengal food in London- Skip Brick Lane THIS is the place!! Our group were blown away with the food and we all said we had not eaten better elsewhere!
The menu is vast and detailed, you could eat here every night of the month and not eat the same thing twice! Its almost impossible to choose from all the delicious dishes on offer, we ordered lots of plates and shared everything between our group and there wasnt one dish that was'nt incredible.

This is a BYOB restaurant and they will keep your drinks in the fridge and serve them to you when you are running low!

We will be back many many times! AMAZING!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Food in friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spices is lovely restaurant on Angel's Chapel Market. Whilst the decor and appearance from the outside may be slightly outdated (authentic?) the food is fantastic.
I have been to the restaurant several times now and don't even know the name of my favourite dish as I just go by recommendation of flavours.

Portion may look small but the food is very filling, particularly as you eat as many poppadoms as starters as I tend to do.

I have recommended the restaurants to many friends of mine and will continue to do so.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

All the food we ordered was great! Very tasty. Service good great location in the center of London's theatre district.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices also viewed

 

Been to Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.