We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Southwark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Southwark to your Saves list
Travelodge London Southwark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

good location stayed here for the brit awards was 1 tube straight to the 02 arena within 10 mins.Also only a few stops to bond street and the shops which is great .Couple of nice pubs within a couple of hundred yards of hotel .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    368
    103
    34
    21
See reviews for
294
270
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice Travelodge. Clean - well maintained and close to the tube and all attractions. Central London 5 minutes by Tube. London Eye and County Hall 1 stop away ( about 2 minutes on the tube). Nice and quiet location. Breakfast - get down early as there are big queues after 9am. Good quality breakfast - and nice choice. 15 minutes to Covent Garden so well placed for the Theatres. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel as we were dining at Union St Cafe and wanted to be nearby. Reviews appeared very positive and we took the Travelodge plunge.

We were not disappointed at all. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Small bathroom but still space to maneuver. Breakfast was ok with a nice selection of food. The only negative was that the dining room is quiet small and tables were close together making moving around with your breakfast quiet difficult. Food was well stocked so no issue there.

Location was great with only a ten min walk to the south bank.

Overall, a great stay and would definitely recommend whilst staying in London.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile


My family and I stayed stayed here for 3 nights from the 16th February. We had a family room and a double room both on the 5th floor. The rooms faced the large office building on Blackfriers Road, and were both peaceful and quiet. The beds in both were very comfortable, however the child's bed in the family room was not so comfortable.

The reception and hotel staff were all excellent, and could not have done enough for us. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning, and we found this to be of a high standard. The rooms are quite basic, but if your expectations are not too high, then they are more than adequate.

Southwark Tube Station is literally a two minute walk from the hotel lobby making it very easy to get around all of London. If you take a right down Blackfriers Road and walk towards the river take a right and walk along the river. Here you will find an array of restaurants and attractions. Check out the Founders Arms for fantastic food, drinks and views of St Paul's and the City.

Southwark is a fantastic part of London, full of life and character. The Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, SouthWark Cathedral, and plenty of coffe shops and caves, are all around the borough, and all on this hotel's doorstep. There is so much to do here.

Just underneath the hotel is a 24 hour convenience store, with a friendly shopkeeper, which sells just about everything.

I would definitely return use this hotel again, and would recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Could not fault this hotel, my wife and I were greeted by very friendly and polite reception staff who immediately made us feel at home.Room on 7th floor was spotless, bed very comfortable, would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was my first Travelodge stay but I wasn't expecting any frills. Location is handy for the tube. Our family room was large but very lacking in storage with a single shelf and hanging rail positioned inconveniently over our daughter's bed. As a result we felt we were living out of our suitcases all weekend. Only 2 electrical sockets in the room also seemed unneccessarily inconvenient. Housekeeping was poor. We had an issue every day and on one occasion the room was completely untouched when we arrived back after a long day away. I do have to commend the extremely comfortable bed - we slept very well every night. Also liked the fact that kids get a bed each rather than sharing a sofa (kids beds not hugely comfortable though). For London it was good value for money but probably wouldn't return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbrugh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A good value modern Travelodge with great transport links, local amenities and the Southbank just on your doorstep. There are no frills but the room is clean, large and modern. It has the essentials of air conditioning and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Southwark England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Southwark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.