We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve. Fine, Clean & Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Southwark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Southwark to your Saves list
Travelodge London Southwark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Years Eve. Fine, Clean & Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked to stay here on New Years Eve 2013/14, at £159 was good value & still available in September 2013 .Close to Southwark underground station. Room 516 was clean with Kingsize bed, TV & coffee making bits. Bathroom was basic & clean with a shower rather than a bath . This was excellent but luck. As a disabled traveller who does not always wish to book adapted room, the information or choice to book a room with a shower rather than a bath would be a real advantage. A bar/restaurant on site (not tried) open 24 hours, food appeared to be of the ping variety but I guess you know that in this kind of place.
Only minus no hairdryer in room, I think you can borrow from reception but you need to know this before you wash your hair. A note in the room would do the trick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    370
    104
    34
    21
See reviews for
294
272
25
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great value travelodge. Stayed here between eves December 2013, fantastic location, 10 minutes walk to Southbank, London Eye and London Aquarium. 2 minutes walk to Southwark tube.Clean and tidy, staff very helpful. Will be staying here again when price is right.

Room Tip: Great location for Southbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This travelodge is a little smaller to others in the Central London area but I felt this was a nice benefit to our stay as it felt a little more personal. The location was excellent and literally a minutes walk to the nearest tube station and a 5-10 minute walk to the southbank area. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was freshly decorated and clean throughout. The bar cafe area was competitively priced for drinks/food and the range was good. There were a few bars/restaurants local to the hotel but unfortunately these were closed for the festive season so I didn't get a chance to check these out. Add convenience of having a local small grocery store underneath the hotel was a great addition to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Excellent location and room.Great value for Money.
It was our second time and is was brillant for visiting Central London.
One tip: Ask for a room opposite the rail track.

Good breakfast and nice staff

Room Tip: room 525 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked this hotel due to the location for New Year's Eve fireworks. We checked in early and our room wasn't available, so we left our bags and told them we would be back when check in opened. When we arrived back 1 hour after check in had opened we were first told there were no rooms ready (even tho check in was 3 and it was 4pm now). Then they quickly said actually it's fine. We got into our room to find only one towel, so we had to go back down to reception this took ages (huge queue, and 2 lifts which are always busy so a long wait). I got given another towel at ease but there were two people behind me who had the same issue. I think not putting enough towels in each room and making the customers go get them is pure laziness. In the room there was no soap, shampoo or anything which I don't think would cost much to put some soap in. Overall good location, rubbish service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Southwark, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Spicebob. Our check in time is from 3pm and we do expect all of our rooms to be readily available for guests arriving to check in at this time, we also expect your room to be set up correctly. Our staff should provide the correct amount of towels in every room so it is regrettable to learn you had to ask for an extra towel on your arrival. As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries however we do provide a vending machine at reception should you need to purchase any extra toiletries. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the hotel management team which will help support any improvements which need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The excellent location really makes this hotel a good choice for central London. It is only a few minutes into the center from Southwark tube station. the room was basic but clean and had most of the amenities that we needed. More sockets would have been useful though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was our first Travelodge experience and a good value for money. We stayed for five nights in room 422, no view, but then again, we didn't come to London to look through a hotel window (except to see if it was raining or not). The room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable and even Steven Fry appeared on the telly. We will probably stay in this hotel on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#140 Family Hotel in London
#262 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Southwark England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Southwark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.