We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travelodge stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Southwark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Southwark to your Saves list
Travelodge London Southwark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #279 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“travelodge stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was perfect clean with plenty of room and everything we needed, it was also an excellent price! We came to London on business and basically needed a room for the night it was a lot better than we expected

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    287
    79
    32
    19
See reviews for
240
211
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited London for one night with our two boys and stayed at the Travelodge Southwark. Handy location only 2 minutes walk from the tube - you could leave your cases there which we did and then had a day out in London.

Friendly reception staff, clean and tidy room and a good night's sleep even though we could see the railway tracks. We had breakfast which was fine - overall a good choice for a base in London for the weekend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Even though a budget hotel, the staff don't have to behave cheap. arrived tues 10th sept 1 hour 30 mins early before check in time, asked to pay £10 extra, (hotel policy) fair enough but clearly the room was ready. decided to wait until 2.30pm out of priniciple. approached the desk 2.28pm and was told 'its not time yet' and to wait. Appauling service, cheap and will be ensuring my organisation, which has huge custom do not use again, when your away from home on business, dont need this sort of poor service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Southwark, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review travellerJL b. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels. However we do offer an early check in service which allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. This service costs £10.00 and is subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For a budget hotel we were pleasantly surprised.
Excellent location - a two minute walk from Southwark tube station. A friendly welcome from the staff at check in.The room was spotless and well maintained. We had read reviews about the train noise but this is virtually non existant and we had the room next to the tracks! The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep.
Breakfast was well worth the money. There was a wide choice and the cooked items were piping hot and constantly replaced.
The staff are very helpful and actually smile! They even have a facility to leave luggage at the hotel after check out to be collected later. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very expensive for little services. DO NOT ORDER BREAKFAST - It was literally inedible, and hands down the worst coffee I've ever had.. No toiletries, filthy room, broken shower head, mould in the bathroom. Awful. Even the staff knew it was a sub-par hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Southwark, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear 1SadCustomer, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We do expect our rooms to be clean and fresh. Our staff are also trained to prepare and present food to a high standard in our bar cafes. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently stayed here (two people) and was really pleasantly surprised, especially as am really unfamiliar with London and was totally disillusioned by how expensive hotels in the city are an most seem really average. This hotel was really great. It is basic but we were here to explore so didn't need any 'extras' (there is a bar/cafe if you need that). Our room was big with a comfy big bed, a good sized bathroom. It was really clean. The staff were nice but really run off their feet the whole time as it is a busy hotel. We really enjoyed the location which is close to all the major sites an action but far enough away to be calm (we were there in the mayhem of August). Would recommend this for travelers looking for something reasonably priced, convenient. Would also recommend booking a room that faces the external walls of the building as the others face a light well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, pleasant staff, terrific value. Had a family room for the 4 of us. Very comfortable room and amenities. Only bad experience was loud guests in hall at 2am first night. All in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in London
#130 Family Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Southwark England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Southwark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.